We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favor Riad”
Review of Dar Kamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Kamar
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favor Riad”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My favorite Riad in Morocco, thanks to my taxi driver, I found this beautiful Riad, where I got the warmest welcome and the best service as I was someone special and not just another guest.It is charming and cosy and at the same time modern in a nice way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    35
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
55
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from far away in the desert, that evening of the last day of the year 2012, it was cold out there and we were delighted of finding the right gate of the old city quite easily, then parked the 4x4 and walked our way quickly, through the narrow medina, and felt intrigued and curious, right away, about what we would be about to finding out, that time around.
As soon as we walked into the door of the mansion, we adored the place!
Just as like opening the first page of a beautiful book of "secret escapes" we were delighted of the ambiance, the light, the soft-toned colours, the traveller inspiring set of furnitures, right of the same level as of those one finds in Southern African lodges.
The intimacy of the room has seduced us, and the tajinna meal was of outstanding quality, served in a honeymoon-like fashion.
We concluded the evening sipping tea at the fireplace, after some dancing on the stunning rooftop, under a never ending sky!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed in Dar Kamar for only one night in May, and happend to be the only guest for that night! It is a beautifully decorated hotel, with lovely details, like the sinks carved out of local stone with fossils in it. The place is spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpfull and considerate, finding for me information for my journey onwards and mentioning a restaurant. The stargazing on the rooftop terrace and the bountiful breakfast-table which was proudly and beautifully presented remain unforgotten. If one wants to use the hamam, it might be advisable to notice the staff beforehand, as it is warmed with a wood fire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed in this Riad for the past 2 years in the lead up to the Marathon Des Sables and have found Mohamed very welcoming, the rooms are clean and colourful and the plumbing works, not like other hotels I have to stay at after the event where the water runs out of the door faster than down the drain
The breakfast in the morning on the roof is very relaxing and if you are lucky Mohamed will cook a Berber omelette for you, the main meal in the evening has been better than the best restaurants in town and I have tried a few.
The Riad is in the old Kasbah Taourirt a walled city so expect to walk down the narrow alleys to the front door which is not to far from the main street which adds to the charm of the place, inside the Riad it has many sitting rooms all very well decorated and I have spent hours photographing all the odd decorations which make up the charm of the place, there is a cosy fireplace in one of the lounges which will keep you warm on the cooler nights
should you choose to stay there you will not be disappointed as it is a true Moroccan experience, I will definitely return in future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregorW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I do not know what the other places are like in Ouarzazate, but I liked this place a lot. The decor was really unique, staff (Mohammed) was very welcoming and warm, and if given the choice I would have stayed here more than just one night. The room was good size, though not so large as to be "cold". The shower and cleanliness was very good. The twin room just at the top of the stairs has some step negotiation (steps go up, then down), but other rooms are fine. Renovation has been carried out with care and the hammam looked really nice. As I said, I would have loved to have stayed extra time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a charming riad/hotel. It has been restored but the original building is very old. Mohammed was very nice and accommodating and allowed us to sleep on the ground floor room and also served our breakfast in the lounge so that my mom would not have to go upstairs. The room was small, but the larger one available was up the stairs. The hotel was near the Kasbah, and also across the street was a nice outdoor cafe.
I would recommend this riad for your stay in Ourzazate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trichey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arriving in Ouarzazate by car, we had difficulty finding Dar Kamar. Entirely our fault - we had not obtained directions in advance.

For your reference, the riad is quite central: down the hill from Hotel Mercure and Hotel Ibis, in the old kasbah on the other side of the main road.

Moral of the story: look it up in advance, or telephone the hotel and ask them to beam you in.

When eventually we arrived - what a delight! Hidden away down narrow alleys, this is a former home of a local aristocrat built in the traditional manner. Our room was very comfortable - wooden beams, double bed and en-suite bathroom with shower.

Breakfast on the terrace was one of the highlights for us… coffee, bread, pancakes, a variety of jams including apricot and fig, honey, fresh fruit, boiled eggs - served on the hotel's magnificent terrace which looks out to the mosque and Atlas mountains.

Before we left Ouarzazate the manager, Mohammed, asked where we would be heading, and gave us his tips. He wrote us a four-page list of recommendations, complete with hand-drawn maps. These turned out to be spot-on.

He also took us on a fascinating walking tour of the kasbah. Service beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.2 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Kamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Kamar

Property: Dar Kamar
Address: 45 Kasbah Taourirt, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Kamar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old court house of former Pasha Glaoui, Dar Kamar "The house of the moon",is at present a charming hotel restored in the middle of Taourirt Kasbah in Ouarzazate, on the verge of the Moroccan desert. Our twelve rooms and two suites with air-conditioning, restaurant, Hammam, living-rooms and huge terrace keep the splendor and the art of the sun-dried brick made buildings from the XVll Century.Antiguo Palacio de Justicia del Pacha Glaoui, Dar Kamar "La casa de la luna", es en la actualidad un pequeno hotel con encanto dentro de la Kasba de Taourirt en la ciudad de Ouarzazate, situada en las faldas del Atlas y a las puertas del desierto marroqui. Nuestras doce habitaciones y dos suites climatizadas, restaurante, salones, bano turco y terrazas panoramicas, conservan la majestuosidad de esta antigua edificacion construida en adobe a principios del siglo XVII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Kamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Kamar Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing