We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Kamar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel marmar(Ouarzazate)(Great Value!)
$32
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Berbere Palace(Ouarzazate)
$193
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oscar Hotel(Ouarzazate)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Fint(Ouarzazate)
$51
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dar Chamaa(Ouarzazate)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irocha(Ouarzazate)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
92
42
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
42
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat terraceone nightroof terracekasbah taourirtluxury hotelhot waterhidden gemon arrivalvalleydarhammamdesertmoroccodinnerluggageatlaslounge
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 147 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed overnight in the Dar Kamar, based on a 'Lonely Planet' recommendation. It is tucked away in the old medina away from the noise and tackiness of the main road and is a beautifully restored old house with lovely rooms. The terrace and its view over the valley and the back of the Glaoui kasbah are outstanding but best of all was the welcome given by the manager, Mohammed, who could not have been more helpful or discreetly attentive.

We would have rated the Dar Kamar well into the 'excellent' category, were it not for a dinner meal which, while adequate and taken in a lovely setting, was unimaginative and very expensive for Morocco.

Another slight drawback was the fact that the surrounding medina survives on tourism and the consequent hastle from assorted shopkeepers and would-be guides.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

nice ryad located at the kasbah of taourirte in ouarzazate,old house restored by a spanish couple.calm and all traditional.nice terrace overlooking the south face of the kasbah, and the north slope of the anti atlas, nice berber staff.

Room Tip: no window to the alleys recommended.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taguleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

beautiful rooms, amazing location, nothing bad in experiencing Dar Kamar.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hotel is amazing: perfect location (inside the medina), wonderful building and rooms. On the roof there is a big beautiful terrace: a place to eat or relax with a view on the medina and the whole valley up to the El-Mansour Eddahbi reservoir.
Staff is extremely nice and helpful and the dinner was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matteo e Michel... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour of Morocco and we arrived at Dar Kamar on Christmas Eve and spent one night there.

Every room is decorated differently as the photos show and our twin room was no exception; it was a nice size with comfortable beds and the complimentary water and peanuts are the small touches that make this hotel great. The ensuite was a good size - I did have to run the water for a while to get hot water, but it was fine after that. The hotel is an old courthouse, but has that riad feel to it (it's in amongst some of the smaller streets and looks plain from the outside) but is away from the noise of the main road.

Foodwise we didn't have dinner in the hotel itself, but instead walked into the town. We had breakfast up on the terrace on Christmas morning, which was amazing with the sun coming up and the freshly prepared and well selected food.

It's impossible to stay here without mentioning Mohammed, who must be the hardest working man in Morocco and for whom nothing is too much trouble - he also speaks excellent English, French and Spanish.

Overall for me, this was the best hotel I stayed in during my Moroccan tour and I wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else to stay were I to return to Ouarzazate in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews