We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a trip from Marrakech to the desert, and almost wished we had more flexibility so we could just stay here longer and drink in the atmosphere - indeed, the other family staying at the same time said that was exactly what they were planning to do. By the time you get here from either direction, you will already have seen lots of ruined kasbahs along the side of the road, and as you pull in this one looks almost too new, too perfect, a little like the concrete wannabes being built in various places. But once you get inside, the authenticity of the renovation/rebuild becomes clear, and you really appreciate the construction of these things.

The rooms are not luxurious, but clean and perfectly serviceable, with balconies facing into the inner courtyard and small windows outwards giving a view of the surrounding palmeraie (which is well worth going for a walk in, though make sure to get your bearings first). As the hotel was reasonably empty and we had requested a twin room (which they don't have), they very generously upgraded us to two individual rooms, both of which were good.

The dinner was generally good, with a nice tagine, although in some ways it was possibly a little over-westernised (being offered beer and wine but told there is no orange juice or mint tea available feels kind of strange after other nights in Morocco), but that's a minor complaint. Generally speaking, this is an excellent place to stay if you are travelling along this road, either for a brief rest or a longer respite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skittledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Awesome job transforming a traditional Kashbah into a lovely hotel.
The terrace with the swimming pool is simply amazing considering the location. The dinner was superb too.

The rooms are nice, specially the ones on top the towers with a very charming fire place.

The attention we received was superb and the dinner was delicious.

Out only mistake was not staying another night.

Room Tip: The rooms no the towers are increíble
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow, this place is great. Our rooms the food and service were all very good. This place was probably the most unique hotel I have ever stayed in.
The view from the roof terrace over looking the Palm grove and high Atlas mountains in the distance is amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a genuine wattle and daub castle. Both myself and my wife loved it, although our daughter was taken aback by the dust from the desert. If you are looking for modern luxury, then this is not the hotel for you, but if you want somewhere that oozes charm and Morrocan character, it ticks all the boxes. The mostly male staff were fantastically friendly and helpful - they helped make the stay. Food was excellent, although the menu is take it or leave it. The pool was closed for renovation during our stay, but we would not have had time to use it. Sunset over the Sahara, viewed from the Palmerie with the Casbah as a backdrop is a sight that will stay with me. We shall go back as this is on the next tour route and I cannot imagine anywhere better for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmeddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I really enjoyed spending a night in the Kasbah Ait Ben Moro. It was very relaxing and the atmosphere very friendly. I have never experienced anything like it, it felt as if I was in one of the stories from "One Thousand and One Nights". The food and the wine was very tasty.
The owner is very nice and so are all the people working there. I will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skrivemaskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After the long drive from either Marrakech or Merzouga this is a truly welcome restbite.

A beautifully restored Kasbah with spectacular views over a Palmerie. The rooms are traditional but elegant and very comfortable. The service from the very start is excellent and very warm and the food is just right. A real taste of Berber cuisine.

Of all the hotels, auberges in the area, you will find it hard pushed to stay in any better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaMarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

One night, our last in Morocco, and along the road of 1000 kasbahs, what best but to find oneself actually lodging on one? We saw so many of them in ruins, which make for astounding landscapes and places to walk through, and were thankful for the recommendation from the previous place to send us there. We shared the place only with Juan, who took on the project of bringing this monumental building back to its former state using traditional methods (as opposed to many built using modern concrete). The result is brilliant, imposing and fragile at the same time, especially when you know they can brought back to dust and rubble through natural weathering. We stayed in the Dades suite, where our fireplace was lit for the evening, with a cosy bedroom fitted with heating/aircon unit. We enjoyed some wine and our dinner with Juan, who joined us in one of the cosy lounges. We faced a rather cold wind in the morning to get to the roof top and bask in the astounding view of the palm grove, with the snow-capped Atlas mountains in the background, before heading back to the restaurant for a hearty breakfast... Aziz, with his wife and younger boy, readily gave us additional insight about the place and country in general, all with a smile. Bottom line: a great experience, adding to all the memories of our trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
21.4 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
639 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
678 reviews
21 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
251 reviews
10.5 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Ait Ben Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Ait Ben Moro

Address: Douar Taskoukamte - Skoura, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $43 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasbah Ait Ben Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Hotel Ouarzazate
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing