We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of history restored to its glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

One night, our last in Morocco, and along the road of 1000 kasbahs, what best but to find oneself actually lodging on one? We saw so many of them in ruins, which make for astounding landscapes and places to walk through, and were thankful for the recommendation from the previous place to send us there. We shared the place only with Juan, who took on the project of bringing this monumental building back to its former state using traditional methods (as opposed to many built using modern concrete). The result is brilliant, imposing and fragile at the same time, especially when you know they can brought back to dust and rubble through natural weathering. We stayed in the Dades suite, where our fireplace was lit for the evening, with a cosy bedroom fitted with heating/aircon unit. We enjoyed some wine and our dinner with Juan, who joined us in one of the cosy lounges. We faced a rather cold wind in the morning to get to the roof top and bask in the astounding view of the palm grove, with the snow-capped Atlas mountains in the background, before heading back to the restaurant for a hearty breakfast... Aziz, with his wife and younger boy, readily gave us additional insight about the place and country in general, all with a smile. Bottom line: a great experience, adding to all the memories of our trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a long day traveling from Merzouga, we found our oasis at the Ait Ben Moro in Skoura. The rooms (the Dades Suite) are simply but tastefully decorated, the kasbah itself has been beautifully restored, the views are magnificent and the staff is friendly and helpful. The dinner near the fireplace in the cozy dining room was excellent, from start to finish, and we had an interesting chat with the owner, a very friendly man from Cadiz, Spain, who stopped at our table to greet us. Three of us were traveling together and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, just disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ait Ben Moro is a step back in time, an austere but lovely place run by very kind people who bend over backwards to make sure guests are comfortable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble; we were served a delicious dinner in front of a roaring fire, and returned to our room (the Dades Suite mentioned by other reviewers,) to find the staff had lit a fire for us there, too. The next morning, we were struck by the integrity of the restoration of this ancient building, and by the beauty of its gardens and views over the Skouras Palmerie. Definitely a highlight of our Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There is no way to describe the atmosphere at Kasbah Ait Ben Moro. Others have commented on the wonderful restoration of this spectacular castle, but I just wanted to add that it really is an amazing experience to stay here. Not only is it beautiful, but the staff (especially Aziz!!) are extremely kind, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. And the food is delicious. I loved my one night there that I returned a few days later with my mother, who agreed that it's an incredible place to stay. Don't forget to catch the sunset and sunrise on the rooftop terrace overlooking the palmeraie and the High Atlas!

Room Tip: My first night I was upgraded to a suite on the topmost floor but one -- I think it was the Dades ro...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank traveler08504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautifully restored Kasbah in great surrounding. Nice rooms, beautiful garden and common areas (especially the lounges with fireplace where you can have dinner). Very helpful staff, reasonable prices = excellent value for money !
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ait ben Moro, unlike other hotels in Morocco, was restored so that travellers enjoy a comfortable stay even throughout winter.We were delighted that the airconditioning was working properly, we had hot water and that the suite we chose had a living room with a fire place-where they actually lighted a fire for us.
dinner and breakfast were excellent as was the approach of the staff: very friendly and warm and very interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible. The owner himself showed great interest in our comfort state.
highly reccomendable! go for the dades suite while you're at it!

Room Tip: dades suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreea2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It's really easy to criticise Ben Moro for not being the perfect hotel, but that's missing the point. How often do you get the opportunity to stay in a castle? There are dozens of auberges and hotels in Morocco that call themselves kasbahs - but Ben Moro really is.

That alone makes it worth a stay. The architecture is fascinating. The cooking is solid, alcohol is normally available and cheap, and it's impeccably clean. Disadvantages? The thick mud walls of the fortress block phone signal, the windows are small, there are steps and stairs everywhere, and hot water and AC can sometimes be erratic. It also doesn't have a pool, and wifi is only available around reception. Value is about average.

Best rooms are the three suites overlooking the first courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Willenbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
21.4 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
651 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
683 reviews
21 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
26.6 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Ait Ben Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Ait Ben Moro

Address: Douar Taskoukamte - Skoura, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
#1 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $82 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasbah Ait Ben Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Hotel Ouarzazate
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing