We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
275
56
12
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
56
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish ownerskoura oasisatlas mountainscharming ownerhonesty barpalm groveone nighthis knowledgesleep qualityprunesinfinity poolauthentic experiencethe entire staffroof terracereceived a warm welcomecold beerlong drive
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 354 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It's really easy to criticise Ben Moro for not being the perfect hotel, but that's missing the point. How often do you get the opportunity to stay in a castle? There are dozens of auberges and hotels in Morocco that call themselves kasbahs - but Ben Moro really is.

That alone makes it worth a stay. The architecture is fascinating. The cooking is solid, alcohol is normally available and cheap, and it's impeccably clean. Disadvantages? The thick mud walls of the fortress block phone signal, the windows are small, there are steps and stairs everywhere, and hot water and AC can sometimes be erratic. It also doesn't have a pool, and wifi is only available around reception. Value is about average.

Best rooms are the three suites overlooking the first courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Willenbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It's not everyday you get to stay in a giant sandcastle on the edge of a massive desert oasis.

Although it's been around for ages, the family who runs Kasbah Ait Ben Moro has never actually owned it. Moroccan property law is a complicated affair, with the selling of deeds requiring all living members of a family to acquiesce to be legally binding. As a result, many establishments are leased by those who run them, although it's ownership in practice. Needless to say, I spent a bit too much time chatting with and about the owners and their Kasbah!

The food, service and atmosphere are all wonderful. If you're staying in the rear of the Kasbah on the upper levels, you'll have magnificent views of the Skoura Oasis. Sunrise in particular was stunning.

Free wireless Internet is available, although it wasn't quite strong enough to reach the upper levels. From the main lobby, restaurant and outside areas though you should have no trouble accessing it.

Room Tip: The highest rooms in the rear of the Kasbah offer the best views of the Skoura Oasis.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nschneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This an original kasbah which has been restored by the owner using local materials. As a result the small dark rooms, steep winding stairs and stone floors initially take some getting used to. However you quickly come to enjoy the fantastic views from the tower, the laid back attitude of the staff and the experience of staying in such an historic place. There was no choice for dinner but it was prepared by a local chef and quite basic.
The Kasbah provided an excellent local guide who took us on a four hour walk through the palmier (oasis) and showed us the many ruined kasbahs, and we were able to watch a local potter working in his own home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want a taste of real Morocco instead of the faceless hotels then this is what you should be looking for. The kasbah is wonderfully atmospheric. It is not luxurious but then you are not paying luxury prices. We stayed here for just one night - we have stayed here before on a previous visit en route to the Todra Gorge and Valley of the roses. The rooms are quite basic but clean and very traditional. Bathroom perfectly adequate. We had air conditioning which was welcome. The staff are lovely and friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They will provide you with a hairdryer if you need one or anything else you need. We were the only 4 guests in the place so they asked us what time we would like dinner and what time we would like to eat. Dinner was the most wonderful chicken tagine with a starter and fresh melon for dessert accompanied by home made bread. They also serve beer and red and wine. We arrived in time to have a cold beer sitting on the terrace watching the sunset through the palm trees - wonderful. Later we saw the most amazing starry sky due to little light pollution. In the morning we got up to watch the sunrise and walked around the palmery in the lovely early morning silence. Breakfast was a very simple affair of bread and jam with tea or coffee. Really fresh. All in all I would recommend this place as it is a lovely experience and excellent value for money. We could not believe how little we were charged for dinner, bed, breakfast, wine and beer. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night between Erg Chebbi and Demnate. The building is interesting, but the rooms are not comfortable, the food was mediocre (skimpy dinner and a cold breakfast) and the staff seemingly uninterested in the guests. We did enjoy the view from the roof and the walk to the Sufi shrine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank star557799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews