We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
275
56
12
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
56
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish ownerskoura oasisatlas mountainscharming ownerhonesty barpalm groveone nighthis knowledgesleep qualityprunesinfinity poolauthentic experiencethe entire staffroof terracereceived a warm welcomecold beerlong drive
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 354 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This 700 year old beautifully restored kasbah in Skoura in Vallee du Dades was well worth the extra miles from Ait Benhaddou. We arrived before sunset to enjoy a drink on the West facing terrace just in time to watch the sun set behind palm trees. Our room was on the main floor where lanterns were lit to help us find the key hole. The room was not large but adequate and clean and the bathroom served our purpose even though it was rather in need of upkeep. With the help of the extra portable oven supplied, we even had a pleasantly warm morning "toilette" on this rather cool morning. Dinner was outstanding and breakfast likewise. Make sure you climb all the way to the top terrace. We had a very nice conversation with Juan, the owner and restorer, but no time for a tour of the whole property, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There's nothing quite like staying in beautiful accommodation that was once used as a fortress and is made of just mud and wood. The restoration is gorgeous, and the suite we had was very comfortable. The bed was large, and the slitted windows had a great view of the oasis - though not as good as the one from the roof. They gave us 3 heaters to make sure we would not be chilly in the February night (we were most certainly not). Dinner was delicious, and we felt pampered by the staff building us a fire and checking on us constantly. The owner Juan is very caring, and be sure to talk to the manager Aziz who's family owned the kasbah for generations. Ask them to take you to the shrine behind the kasbah which they maintain, it's very cool to see such history. The back terrace is a great spot for breakfast in the sun before starting your day. Highly recommend stopping here on a trip through the Atlas!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The couple who owned this joint saved our lives when we ended up in Nkob around 9.30 pm and with no hope of making it to Zagora - our original destination. Met them while having dinner at a road-side restaurant in Nkob and after hearing our story, they offered us a room at their fancy, newly renovated Kasbah for half the price.

We were the only guests there that night so had a really nice breakfast and conversation with them the next morning. We also got a fabulous hour long tour of the Kasbah and a bit of its history - which I recommend to everyone staying there.

Thanks again and hope to see you folks sometime again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This labor of love by Juan, the Spanish owner, who completely renovated an 18th Century Kasbah and has opened as an accommodation with a restaurant, cannot be underestimated. The building is beautiful, and there are also outdoor shaded spaces for enjoying the views out over the palmaries, or for taking the meals prepared by the excellent chef. The interior spaces that we saw (just the suites we were shown) are stylish and understated in their design and decor. This could have been a five star destination, but there are a few room details that could definitely be improved. Our suite was spacious and attractive, but the shower fixture was broken, and the supply of water too little, and not hot enough, to really be of much use. These creature comforts could easily be improved, and it would then be much easier to heartily recommend staying here. Still, this is a solid four star accomodation, and if you would like to stay in an authentically restored 18th century Kasbah, visit Ait Ben Moro and have a look!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesLandsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you are looking for a real taste of a Kasbah, stay here.. if looking for regular hotel chain accommodations, please don't.
Totally love the ambience. Went with a group of photographers, although, for couples or solo traveler, this place is awesome as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews