We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored 18th century masterpiece!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored 18th century masterpiece!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There's nothing quite like staying in beautiful accommodation that was once used as a fortress and is made of just mud and wood. The restoration is gorgeous, and the suite we had was very comfortable. The bed was large, and the slitted windows had a great view of the oasis - though not as good as the one from the roof. They gave us 3 heaters to make sure we would not be chilly in the February night (we were most certainly not). Dinner was delicious, and we felt pampered by the staff building us a fire and checking on us constantly. The owner Juan is very caring, and be sure to talk to the manager Aziz who's family owned the kasbah for generations. Ask them to take you to the shrine behind the kasbah which they maintain, it's very cool to see such history. The back terrace is a great spot for breakfast in the sun before starting your day. Highly recommend stopping here on a trip through the Atlas!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    55
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
68
127
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The couple who owned this joint saved our lives when we ended up in Nkob around 9.30 pm and with no hope of making it to Zagora - our original destination. Met them while having dinner at a road-side restaurant in Nkob and after hearing our story, they offered us a room at their fancy, newly renovated Kasbah for half the price.

We were the only guests there that night so had a really nice breakfast and conversation with them the next morning. We also got a fabulous hour long tour of the Kasbah and a bit of its history - which I recommend to everyone staying there.

Thanks again and hope to see you folks sometime again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This labor of love by Juan, the Spanish owner, who completely renovated an 18th Century Kasbah and has opened as an accommodation with a restaurant, cannot be underestimated. The building is beautiful, and there are also outdoor shaded spaces for enjoying the views out over the palmaries, or for taking the meals prepared by the excellent chef. The interior spaces that we saw (just the suites we were shown) are stylish and understated in their design and decor. This could have been a five star destination, but there are a few room details that could definitely be improved. Our suite was spacious and attractive, but the shower fixture was broken, and the supply of water too little, and not hot enough, to really be of much use. These creature comforts could easily be improved, and it would then be much easier to heartily recommend staying here. Still, this is a solid four star accomodation, and if you would like to stay in an authentically restored 18th century Kasbah, visit Ait Ben Moro and have a look!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesLandsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you are looking for a real taste of a Kasbah, stay here.. if looking for regular hotel chain accommodations, please don't.
Totally love the ambience. Went with a group of photographers, although, for couples or solo traveler, this place is awesome as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Kasbah Ait Ben Moro for one night; the owner of our guesthouse in Fez had stayed there the week before and mentioned it as an option when we told her that we hadn't booked that leg of the trip. Even though we had made a reservation a few days before arrival, when we got to Skoura I decided to look at two other places as well that were top rated in Rough Guide and Lonely Planet. In the end, we decided to stay here.

Since it was July, availability was wide open. The two other places, though beautiful, felt too big and eerie considering we were the only clients. We were also the only people staying at Ait Ben Moro; however, I felt better about it because it was right on the main road (the aspect of the hotel that originally drove me to look at those other two options that were off-road--funny how that works).

As others have mentioned, the building itself is phenomenal; our small window looked out to the palms. We asked to see every room with air conditioning before we made a decision; it worked really well. The room was clean and the bathroom spacious and clean as well.

Dinner was wonderful, sitting on the back porch and looking out at the palm trees--they easily accommodated me as a vegetarian. Although food is included, as with many places you pay for drinks. Breakfast was also served on the back porch and was very good.

Before we left, the then 5 year old son of the man working there took us to see the Kasbah that is on the 50 dirham bill. All in all, I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We really liked this place to stay, it was great to stay in a Kasbah, the terrace at the back is lovely and relaxing - v Mediterranean! Food was really good too.

It gets hot though so if you're travelling in summer be prepared for it, there's no ac.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

How brilliant to find this beautifully restored ancient mud kasbah with all the modern comforts (finally, a good bed) and none of the kitsch that is a plague on Moroccan aesthetics. The Spanish owner has achieved an elegant simplicity complete with an experienced chef who does original takes on the local cuisine, all at excellent value. (Also a relief to be able to order a bottle of wine or beer without offending local sensibilities.) We spent the first morning walking through the back yard to orchards and gardens shared by local villagers to see the famous kasbah on the 50-dirham note, and then drove to Ait Ben Haddou for a look around. Who would stay in Ouarzazate, a modern busy city, when this oasis of calm and culture in Skoura is 30 minutes away? This was a highlight of our trip. It should be number one in the list of places to stay.

I would also recommend the gift shop next door (not affiliated with the hotel but beside it) where we found unique Toureg and Berber crafts we saw nowhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidewaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
21.3 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
635 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
612 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
123 reviews
21.0 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel marmar
Hotel marmar
#11 of 40 in Ouarzazate
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Ait Ben Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Ait Ben Moro

Property: Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Address: Douar Taskoukamte - Skoura, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
#1 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Ait Ben Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Hotel Ouarzazate
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing