We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
278
56
12
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
56
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish owner skoura oasis atlas mountains charming owner honesty bar palm grove one night his knowledge sleep quality prunes infinity pool authentic experience the entire staff roof terrace received a warm welcome cold beer long drive
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 357 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you are looking for a real taste of a Kasbah, stay here.. if looking for regular hotel chain accommodations, please don't.
Totally love the ambience. Went with a group of photographers, although, for couples or solo traveler, this place is awesome as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Kasbah Ait Ben Moro for one night; the owner of our guesthouse in Fez had stayed there the week before and mentioned it as an option when we told her that we hadn't booked that leg of the trip. Even though we had made a reservation a few days before arrival, when we got to Skoura I decided to look at two other places as well that were top rated in Rough Guide and Lonely Planet. In the end, we decided to stay here.

Since it was July, availability was wide open. The two other places, though beautiful, felt too big and eerie considering we were the only clients. We were also the only people staying at Ait Ben Moro; however, I felt better about it because it was right on the main road (the aspect of the hotel that originally drove me to look at those other two options that were off-road--funny how that works).

As others have mentioned, the building itself is phenomenal; our small window looked out to the palms. We asked to see every room with air conditioning before we made a decision; it worked really well. The room was clean and the bathroom spacious and clean as well.

Dinner was wonderful, sitting on the back porch and looking out at the palm trees--they easily accommodated me as a vegetarian. Although food is included, as with many places you pay for drinks. Breakfast was also served on the back porch and was very good.

Before we left, the then 5 year old son of the man working there took us to see the Kasbah that is on the 50 dirham bill. All in all, I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We really liked this place to stay, it was great to stay in a Kasbah, the terrace at the back is lovely and relaxing - v Mediterranean! Food was really good too.

It gets hot though so if you're travelling in summer be prepared for it, there's no ac.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

How brilliant to find this beautifully restored ancient mud kasbah with all the modern comforts (finally, a good bed) and none of the kitsch that is a plague on Moroccan aesthetics. The Spanish owner has achieved an elegant simplicity complete with an experienced chef who does original takes on the local cuisine, all at excellent value. (Also a relief to be able to order a bottle of wine or beer without offending local sensibilities.) We spent the first morning walking through the back yard to orchards and gardens shared by local villagers to see the famous kasbah on the 50-dirham note, and then drove to Ait Ben Haddou for a look around. Who would stay in Ouarzazate, a modern busy city, when this oasis of calm and culture in Skoura is 30 minutes away? This was a highlight of our trip. It should be number one in the list of places to stay.

I would also recommend the gift shop next door (not affiliated with the hotel but beside it) where we found unique Toureg and Berber crafts we saw nowhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidewaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Kasbah Ait Ben Moro was a great experience. It gave us a chance to live comfortably - even luxuriously - in one of the remarkable sand castles of the Dades Valley on the edge of the Sahara. These fortresses built of blocks of pounded sandy earth and plastered with mud and straw mortar are fragile relics of a violent time during the 17th and 18th centuries. Many have fallen into ruin, and their building techniques and traditions continue on into the present, blurring the lines between past and present. Kasbah Ait Ben Moro is a real art-historical pearl, dating from the 18th century and beautifully and respectfully restored. The charming Spanish owner explained how it was done and showed us the "before" pictures. It was all very satisfying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herrmanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews