We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and wonderful”
Review of Irocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irocha
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of our mountain and desert trip, organised through South Sahara Services.

This was a terrific and relaxing stay after our visit to the Sahara. We were the only guests but that added to the peace and calm. The guest house is tucked away up a steep track off the road down from Tizntchika pass. Set out with gardens, terraces, a pool and hamam, its a delightful and beautiful location. Abdullah is a charming host who fired the hamam for us to scrub the desert off ourselves below relaxing by the pool.

The good is good with nice little touches which raise it above the average traditional cuisine. They have a good wine list too. All of which is served with stunning views up the valley from I've of the multiple terraces.

Rooms are comfortable with good bathrooms and comfortable bedsand air conditioning though we didn't need it, due to the quality if the building keeping the room cool by traditional principles.

like most of these out of the way places, there is nowhere to go after dark, but the lounge is stocked with a variety if games and books, though we happily chatted with our host over a glad if wine and the ubiquitous mint tea, which was a delightful end to our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 265 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We decided to stay here only because of it's location, as we were driving to Essaouira the next day. It was a very pleasant experience, more like staying at someone's holiday house with staff than a hotel. I suppose it felt that way as we were the only one's staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed one night at this riad on our way to Marrakesh coming from the desert tour. We liked the rustic design, friendly staff, the wonderful view from the terrace which adds more impressions to the Moroccan experience. Dinner and breakfast were nice, rooms clean, but don't expect good internet connection if you need one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaMirabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This establishment is a half hour drive out of Ouzarrzate on the road to Marrakech. Keep an eye out for the signs in the village of Tisselday. Good setup with reasonable rooms and reasonable meals and attentive service and generally pretty quiet... Although this place seems to attract a lively bunch of friendly guests from all corners of the world. Would return to use as a base to visit the villages in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Irocha is an ideal place to stay when touring the southern Atlas. It is set in a green valley just off one of the passes. However, it is very quiet and peaceful. The views from the terrace are magnificant, particularly in the evening. The facilities are very good, with nice, clean rooms and a good pool. There is plenty of indoor and outdoor sitting around space. The food was very tasty - probably the best we had in hotels.
The real highlight is the staff who were so kind and considerate. They made us feel welcome and special and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on two occasions and both times were treated like friends with great warmth and humour. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room in the annex which was quiet and private without being remote. It also had a gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The location and position of the hotel was good, the staff were friendly enough. However it lacked the warmth of Moroccan hospitality we have since experienced on our trip around the south of morocco.
Partly because we booked through booking.com via the the trip advisor website, it was expensive for what it was. In particular the breakfast of toasted stale bread and coffee or hot chocolate was particularly poor for 5 euros. The food for dinner was good but nearly the exact same thing was served both nights. Again this was expensive at 45 euros for 2 adults, 2 children.
In short, this place did not meet our expectations, however it was good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently spent one night at Irocha during our trip to South Morocco. This place it's 3 hours drive from Marrakech, driving on a beautiful scenic road.
Irocha is in surrounded by the mountains and is a good base for hiking, although we didn't hike (we arrived late in the afternoon and spent only one night) but we know many people did. The staff organizes hiking tours nearby with the possibility to visit old villages in the mountain...we'll keep it for next time.
Very good value for money, with good food at breakfast and dinner. The staff is extremely friendly and I have a very good memory of playing moroccan drums with them in their beautiful terrace, under a starry sky and drinking mint tea. Very nice view of the local hills and mountains.
We had a small room, clean and comfortable bed. Common spaces have real moroccan taste and music was in the air when we were there. There is also a small room for hammam where you can take steam bath and sometimes massage is available (I think you have to book it in advance). Free wifi. It was a memorable stay for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
30.8 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
28.3 mi away
Le Berbere Palace
Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 41 in Ouarzazate
652 reviews
29 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 41 in Ouarzazate
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 41 in Ouarzazate
688 reviews
24.8 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#21 of 41 in Ouarzazate
83 reviews
27.9 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#35 of 41 in Ouarzazate
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irocha

Address: Tisseldei 45250 | village de Tisselday, Ouarzazate 45250, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $31 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irocha 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Maison d'hôtes` is situated in the village of Tisselday on the way from Marrakech to Ouarzazate, at 20 minutes from the Ait Ben Haddou ksar, 40 Minutes from Ouarzazate and 3 hours from Marrakech. It's a beautiful location in an authentic "pisé" village away from the crawded touristic places, a perfect base to discover the real berbere life of the south of Morocco. We have 10 rooms (all with private bathrooms with showers or bath). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Irocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing