We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect room, good beds, no noise, so good sleep!”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Next door to the interesting Atlasstudio`s (first visit at 08.30 hrs; half hour visit). It is really not a B&B but a normal but good hotel, good breakfast, perfect rooms but without personal touch of course.
Good value for its money, and practically to arrive late and leave early. From here we visited first the studio`s, take a dive in the pool, than the city castle of ourzazate, ait ben haddou, the nice road to telouet, the T&Tpass, trough Marrakech to arrive at about 22 hrs at Essaouira. And without hurry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way back from an Erg Chebbi desert trek.

The hotel is a bit surreal in that it's the grounds of a deserted desert film studio and has mummies and Egyptian paraphernalia everywhere. I think we stayed at a particularly quiet time - there were 6 other guests at most - so perhaps some of the faded Hollywood glamour and mystique was missing!

Our room was quite large with an ensuite as well as a separate washbasin behind the door. It
was clean and comfortable, but our clothes did reek a bit of mothballs for a few days afterwards. There is a swimming pool for cooling off, with some loungers and chairs dotted around it.

The waiting staff were excellent - very efficient, friendly and they made sure they catered to some allergy-related dietary requirements we had. The food was good and fresh - it was a set menu with no choice - but I think they cooked us some extra dishes from scratch to accommodate us (me) and my allergy.

There are Gladiator pictures everywhere - so if you're a fan, this is probably the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My fiance, my girlfriend and I spent three relaxing days here in the Directors Suite - wonderful one bedroom with huge living room and balcony - comfortable, clean and accommodating staff. Wonderful pool with faux Hollywood feel style. We really enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast was a bit bland but generally good. I would still recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for the Directors Room - 2nd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluenoseBlonde10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Attached to the Atlas Films studios the hotel has a unique atmosphere unlike any other and does it best to show off its cinema history and provide a relaxing contempory mood. Rooms are clean but basic and the quality of your bathroom and number of TV channels can be luck of the draw. At around 3km outside Ouarzazate you will need a car for most journey but it should also be noted that taxi are cheap as chips.

Communal areas are very nice with a lot made of its cinema pedigree with signed photos and movie props in abundance. The restaurant offers a good mix of international favourites from bolognese to burgers alongside traditional Moroccan dishes. Drinks can be a little pricey but the movie themed 'Gladiator' bar makes up for it.

The main appeal comes from being in a hotel in a working film studio and luck find you sharing with cast and crew you can soak up the exiting work of film making.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night en route to the desert. The hotel's facilities were exactly what we were looking for - the hotel was basic but comfortable. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Ouarzazate, right next door to Atlas Studios. Apart from the studio, the hotel is not convenient to the sights or amenities of Ouarzazate and it would be difficult to get around without a car.

We also had a problem with noise on the property - a very large school group was staying on the property on the same night we were there. This group took over the hotel and was making a lot of noise around the pool area very late into the night. Hotel staff were there but didn't do anything about it, even after I complained. Noise really travels in the desert!

However the hotel was just what we were looking for as a comfortable place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gets2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Javier O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
3.1 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#33 of 40 in Ouarzazate
144 reviews
24.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
4 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#15 of 40 in Ouarzazate
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
255 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
138 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Vallee
Hotel La Vallee
#26 of 40 in Ouarzazate
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: KM 5 Route De Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $45 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niché au cœur des fameux studios de cinéma Atlas, aux portes de Ouarzazate, OSCAR HOTEL vous offre un havre de paix et vous prépare en douceur aux sensations extrêmes du désert. Magique, cet hôtel de charme vous accueille dans une ambiance chaleureuse, en une atmosphère qui bascule entre passé et présent et où le cinéma s’invite dans tous les recoins. Vous apprécierez les magnifiques statues immortalisant les visages familiers de l’histoire du cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing