We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, little else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, little else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel really has two parts: one as a 3-star hotel close to the main road and a 4-star riad further away. We stayed at the riad.

The room was huge - living room, bedroom, two toilets, separate bathroom, but slightly rundown and not entirely clean. The rest of the hotel has the charm of a package holiday resort. Dinner and breakfast were O.K. There was free WLAN in the reception, but not in the room.

The location is very close to Kasbah Taourit, but there is little else of interest in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    56
    23
    26
See reviews for
20
54
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was one of the most depressing hotels I've ever been to. The location, Art Deco architecture and garden should make it a lovely place to stay as a stage ing post for the desert. Sadly, the large rooms are dirty and very strangely decorated. Bathroom facilities ranged from bad to farcical, as the showers didn't work, bidet pipes not attached and the tiles were crumbling from the walls. You need your own soap, as that provided was not enough to wash your hands. Certainly, no mini shampoos etc here.
Tho the food was good, it was delivered with no style or pleasure. Totally rushed service.
This is ripe for a remodel/takeover.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMM-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ouarzazate hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hellerup
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed two nights at Riad Salam. This hotel offers a very good price/quality ratio (60 € a night). The room was very large, actually two separate rooms with TV's in both. A little old fashioned and bit dark, but lots of space and clean. There were air conditions in both rooms. The breakfast is good and served in front of the restaurant at the pool side. Nice pool and garden. Helpfull staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360degreetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

I liked this hotel. It had quite a lot of character, and a slightly French atmosphere. The rooms were large and well-furnished, with separate WC and separate bathroom. The room did have some traffic noise.

The pool was pleasant, and there was free wifi in the poolside area and lobby. The restaurant offered a buffet meal which was perfectly adequate, and it was possible to eat outside, in a pleasant courtyard. The hotel served alcohol.

Overall, my one night stay was a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

Of the 6 hotels/riads we have stayed in during our trip to Morocco, this one is the most forgetable. From my observation, there are two parts to this place i.e. 1. hotel/motel 2. riad style rooms. We stayed at the first.

In Asia, it would fit the star rating of 2 stars.

The rooms are basic and clean. Nice clean hot shower. No design, decor whatever. Plain practical. The impression I got was that the cleaning lady took some drapes from her home and decorated the place.

The breakfast was average. The pool is average. The location is so so, depending on where you want to go. It is around the corner from the Kasbah but if you want to go to the night market etc, it is at least 20 minutes walk away.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank pige_paa_ferie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

Ouarzazate is the home of the movie industry in Morocco and we were told that some internationally known movie stars stayed at this hotel in the recent past. We were traveling with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) and were given an enormous 2 room, 2 and1/2 bath suite for our one night stay. The rooms were arranged around a courtyard with lots of vegetation. The reception area was large and contained a small gift shop as well as a sitting area.

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. The dining room served a buffet dinner with a large selection of salads, main dishes and desserts. Breakfast was substantial as well.

  • Liked — Extremely large suite
  • Disliked — Wasn't in an area where you could walk around off the grounds
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

My experience of staying at the Riad Salam could not have been more different to the previous reviewer's. Of course, we were lucky: my friend and I turned up unannounced at the hotel late afternoon, having checked out two other options in Ouarzazate, neither of which we deemed suitable. Without any prompting on our part, we were immediately offered a reduction of 50% on one of their suites, which made it very affordable (normally it would have cost 1,400 Moroccan Dirhams per night, exclusive of taxes and breakfast - around 83 pounds sterling per night). The suite was superb and had a lovely terrace overlooking the pool area. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and we found the location of the hotel excellent. The only disappointment was the breakfast, which was in my view below par for a hotel in this price bracket: there was a very limited range of items on offer. We had one evening meal only at the hotel (in what I would describe as the coffee shop) and it was OK, but not especially exciting. There is, however, another restaurant in the hotel, which may be more sophisticated, though we didn't check it out. On the basis of our experience, I would most certainly recommend the Riad Salam.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.2 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#37 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#13 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ouarzazate Le Tichka
Hotel Ouarzazate Le Tichka
#27 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#22 of 40 in Ouarzazate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad

Property: Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad
Address: Mohamed V Ave | BP 251, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco (Formerly Riad Salam)
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ouarzazate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ouarzazate Le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Salam Ouarzazate
Riad Salam Hotel Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing