We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills No Problem”
Review of Hotel Riad Amlal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riad Amlal
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On an unexpected visit to Ouarzazete recently, a friend suggested I stay at another friends’ hotel. I did a quick check on the internet for Hotel Amlal and found the reviews to be rather unfavourable but decided to make up my own mind.

Yes, the hotel is a little dated, the decor also. The bedrooms and attached bathrooms basic; but really everything is quite adequate if you are looking for somewhere cheap and reasonably central to the local shops, eateries, even a couple of bars/clubs.

My visit was in June so the temperatures hovered around the 40 degrees but the rooms have air-conditioning so there was no problem sleeping. The mosque is one street away, but I did not hear any of the prayer calls. I also had plenty of hot water, not that I required it at this time of the year. Many of the rooms have balconies. Across the street are several cafes which serve good coffee, pastries and breakfast,. There are several banks with cash machines also in the next street.

Although there were others staying in the hotel, I was the only one to eat in. Dinner and breakfast were included in the price of the room and both were tasty with ample to eat. For dinner I had a Moroccan salad, chicken tagine with prunes & figs, followed by home-made yoghurt and orange with cinnamon. At breakfast there was fresh baguette with confiture or olive oil, melwi, orange juice and coffee; meals can be eaten inside or at the outdoor terrace.

The hotel is probably used more by Moroccans than tourists so parking adjacent to the hotel is a bonus. To stay a couple of nights for 300dirhams all inclusive with super friendly and helpful staff is just fine. Free wifi with fast connection is available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay at the hotel.
We are currently redoing all the rooms to put in place all the recommendations of our dear customers and to meet the expectations of our future customers
The new rooms will be available from August 2017: king size bed, modern bathroom and more spacious than before, new decor.
Welcome everybody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel Amlal



This is a faded, poorly run hotel. The rooms are not very comfortable, and the mattresses on the beds are old. Booking.com stated that the rooms have air conditioning and a television, but they have neither. We were there for three nights and no one ever came into the room to make up the bed, empty the wastebasket, or change the towels. We even had to ask for toilet paper. Even though, for the first night, we were the only guests, we had an email from Booking.com stating that the hotel had notified them that we were a “No show”, and would be charging us for the first night. Definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouros66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay at the hotel.
We are currently redoing all the rooms to put in place all the recommendations of our dear customers and to meet the expectations of our future customers
The new rooms will be available from August 2017: king size bed, modern bathroom and more spacious than before, new decor.
Welcome everybody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Frommers describes Hotel Amlal well. The rooms are old and basic but the customer service could very well make it to be an overall pleasurable stay. Hot water is spotty, breakfast is good, aircon/heater works, and there's parking! Make sure to look at your room before agreeing, and as always in Morocco, double confirm everything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerenikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_amlal, Gérant at Hotel Riad Amlal, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay at the hotel.
We are currently redoing all the rooms to put in place all the recommendations of our dear customers and to meet the expectations of our future customers
The new rooms will be available from August 2017: king size bed, modern bathroom and more spacious than before, new decor.
Welcome everybody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Want five star facilities? Go and pay five star prices. On the other hand, if you want a good value budget hotel this is it. £28 got us a clean double room with ensuite shower and a tasty evening meal and breakfast. Admittedly the decor could do with a touch up but it was
comfortable. Friendly staff and parking outside the door.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_amlal, Gérant at Hotel Riad Amlal, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay at the hotel.
We are currently redoing all the rooms to put in place all the recommendations of our dear customers and to meet the expectations of our future customers
The new rooms will be available from August 2017: king size bed, modern bathroom and more spacious than before, new decor.
Welcome everybody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Amlal is a clean nice budget hotel, they also serve a nice breakfast and an incredibly good dinner. recommended !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigiox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_amlal, Gérant at Hotel Riad Amlal, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you
welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Hotel Amlal in Ouarzazate is clean and cheap. They offer all kind of rooms (2, 3, 4 beds) and the employés very kind and speaking different languages - even a few words Dutch!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeuwebekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_amlal, Gérant at Hotel Riad Amlal, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you
Welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed 1 night passing through Ouarzazate. It's definitely no-frills, but for 25 EUR a night was clean and had air con. Shower was rubbish but warm. You can park outside and it's about 5 mins walk to the main square, though more like 20 mins walk to the kasbah which is on the other side of town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_amlal, Gérant at Hotel Riad Amlal, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your stay at the hotel.
We are currently redoing all the rooms to put in place all the recommendations of our dear customers and to meet the expectations of our future customers
The new rooms will be available from August 2017: king size bed, modern bathroom and more spacious than before, new decor.
Welcome everybody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.1 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 41 in Ouarzazate
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#35 of 41 in Ouarzazate
148 reviews
6.9 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#8 of 41 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 41 in Ouarzazate
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Berbere Palace
Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 41 in Ouarzazate
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riad Amlal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riad Amlal

Address: Rue du Marche No 24 - 25 Centre Ville, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $36 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Riad Amlal 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riad Amlal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing