We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Chamaa”
Review of Dar Chamaa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Chamaa
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 12 days in Morocco and moved around a lot as we wanted to see the southern end of the country. Dar Chamaa was one of the very best riads that we visited. It was clean, the staff was eager to help, the food was good, the atmosphere was inviting, the rooms were a nice size and we just loved it. We really wished we had more time there as it was so nice. It was definitely a good choice for us.

Room Tip: We didn't actually choose a room. I think all of their rooms are probably good rooms. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 683 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Dar Chamaa is a stunning riad, our room faced out over the pool and the palmerie. It is, however, a bit out if the way, but we were half board so it didn't matter. Breakfast had a large choice, dinner was a fixed menu of 3 courses and was very nice, although there was only 1 choice so I'm not sure what you would do if you were vegetarian. My friend didn't like beef and they did agree to make lamb for her instead. The courtyard and pool area were lovely, and provided a welcome rest stop during our desert tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

You are likely to get worried on the way to the hotel due to the "landscape" and surroundings :) Don't! The location isn't great, that's a fact, it's away from everything, BUT the hotel is just awesome to spend the night! The building is charming and though it's quite recent it still looks like an old Morocco kasbah. The rooms are spacious and clean, with A/C. Restaurant is good, the food was tasty and breakfast had a nice variety to choose from. Swimming pool area and the day beds surrounding it are just great, nice place to end your evening having a drink and chatting. The staff is 5 stars!! Everyone was extremely friendly and fun to hang around with, fluent in several languages and making you feel among friends all the time! There's a small deli across the street where you can get water supply for the trip, one of the cheapest places we found for water. Great hotel, i wouldn't hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: Bedroom with view over the swimming pool area if possible. Other views aren't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The building is exquisite, elegant and romantic. Very posh, but everyone there was so cool, made us feel so relaxed and at home. They took care of my husband and I as though we were old friends. From advising us on our road trip, to hooking up the rental car and maps, giving us a charger for our camera (life saver!), and late nigh talking-story over tea. I really dream about returning! Know this is an easy cab ride out of town, but very accessible while completely peaceful. Super high recommendation!

Room Tip: Staff will offer the best room avaliable, dont even worry about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay . It is very clean and the whole staff is super friendly . They performed a birthday drum party with cake for my wifes birthday along with complimentary flowers and fruit basket in our room for her.The food was great and room super nice over looking the pool and a sunset too .Excellent shower good hot water and big towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBIRDMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Set behind high walls, the front door leads into a small reception before opening up into an indoor courtyard and leading to a small terrace, swimming pool and gardens. Off the courtyard are two sitting rooms and a dining room. The rooms on the first and second floor are on the outside, giving views of the surrounding area. Our room was at the front, overlooking the street and residential area and from the side window spectacular views over Ouarzazarte. The whole place is beautifully decorated and co-ordinated, and well designed with excellent materials and fixtures. The food was good, too, and the staff friendly and helpful. A splendid place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Sept 13 with a friend, as part of our tour package across the Sahara and Atlas. Totally impressed with the ambience and interior design. Very nice outdoor space. The staff were all profressional, friendly and polite. Nice rooms - clean modern Moroccon decor as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasotha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
651 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
265 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
10.8 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#9 of 40 in Ouarzazate
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Chamaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Chamaa

Address: Tajdar B-P 701, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $79 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Chamaa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah-Riad Hotel placed in an environment favored inside Ouarzazate's palm grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Chamaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing