We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beautiful beautiful.”
Review of Les Tourmalines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Tourmalines
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel guesthouse on the beautiful lake at ouarzazate. After having a few days of illness it was an amazing place to recover and spend some time just lolling around the pool area looking at the magnificent lake. My favourite moment was sitting watching the sun set on my first afternoon there. My girlfriend was ill and missed the special moment when a large herd of goats came over the hill with three nomadic women leading them. It was amazing to see. Total silence other than the noise of the goats trotting over the rocks and their bleats. It was a very special moment.

The hotel manager is wonderful and helpful. Was very quick to get me some ice when I wanted to cool some water down. I enjoyed a delicious dinner with some local Meknes wine in the nomadic tent on the premises.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Our room was clean, and extremely comfortable. The terrace was gorgeous and the pool area and breakfast area has breathtaking views. I would like to say that one day I might have the pleasure of staying here again.

Our guide Rachid was right, we were very lucky to stay in the best hotel on the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damienne A, Propriétaire at Les Tourmalines, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Christian and I just looked at your message on TripAdvisor.
We thank a lot for your compliments ! We are very glad that you were happy at "Les Tourmalines" !
Also, all the team thank you for your visit.
Best regards,

Damienne ARGUEYROLLES et Christian MAHE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently spent 10 days travelling around Morocco with a private driver (Iber Tours), and as part of our package stayed at Les Tourmalines for 2 nights. As we had had a very busy time seeing so many interesting places we were very happy to just stay put and relax at this beautiful place overlooking the lake. It was very hot while we were there so we made great use of the pool which is in an idyllic spot looking over the lake. It gives the impression it's all joined together.

The rooms are very comfortable and the food was very good. We enjoyed eating in the Berber Tent and breakfasts in the morning in the outdoor setting were more than adequate. Freshly squeezed orange juice, home made yogurt and toast, bread rolls, jams etc and tea or coffee.
Driss, the waiter was always around should we need anything and he looked after us extremely well.

There is also a very nice area upstairs for guests which comprises a large sitting area and bar with lots of books to read and games to play.

Thank you owners for such a wonderful stay

Room Tip: We had one of the downstairs rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damienne A, Propriétaire at Les Tourmalines, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Robin, Christian and myself thank you of your kind comment. It's true that after a trip "a little enlivened" through Morocco, it's pleasant to come to rest in a quiet place. Indeed, June is the beginning of the big heat in Ouarzazate ! And we can assure you that the temperature keeps increasing !!! We give Driss your compliments. And we wish you a happy continuation in Sydney. Sincerely yours,
Damienne ARGUEYROLLES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The large infinite pool overlooking the lovely lake are this hotels main feature.

It is quiet, and slightly inaccessible - a hire car is needed if you plan to go out an about.
Or you could just relax by the pool....

Service was quick, friendly and flexible - there were no stipulations on mealtimes as others suggested (although we were the only guests).

They knew it was our honeymoon (not sure how!) and were kind enough to give us both gifts.

I see someone else suggested changing the linen to plain white to update the boutique feel of the hotel - I agree, the current bedding is a little dated.

All in all, a lovely place to relax for a few days and read a book!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damienne A, Propriétaire at Les Tourmalines, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Duncan, we thank you for your opinion. You appreciated your stay in "Tourmalines". You also appreciated two small presents which we offered you, to your wife and yourself. How did we learn that you were in honeymoon ? Simply, your english travel agency indicated it to us. And we are used to offering a present when a happy event must be celebrated at home !!! Birthday of a person, a Wedding Birthday, or Honeymoon!!! We repeat you all our congratulations for your marriage! Damienne and Christian, owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped at tourmalines with a group en route to the desert. Very lovely place, nice view over the lake. Service was good, we liked the food and breakfast too. There were fruits in the room and they greeted us with mint tea. Rooms were pretty large and comfortable with a little patio outside. The only thing that would be nice is if they had shampoo and shower gel in the room, since you have to supply yours.

Room Tip: ask for a room ground floor to have the little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damienne A, Propriétaire at Les Tourmalines, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Chère Anectine,
Nous vous remercions pour votre avis sur notre établissement.
Vous avez passé 02 jours aux "Tourmalines", et ce séjour vous a enchanté ; nous ne pouvons que nous réjouir ! Quant à votre remarque sur le produit/shampooing, nous allons étudier la question... promis ! Bonne continuation dans votre beau pays qu'est le Canada !
Damienne ARGUEYROLLES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on the last week end of March at the Tourmalines with a beautiful view in front of the lake. This place is very nice, good service, good traditional food and recommendations from Driss, the waiter, as he speaks English. The owners are always here to help too. Rooms were comfortable with a lovely decoration.
Unfortunately, some other hosts were very rude with the staff at the time of our stay and acted like real colonists. It was very shocking. I would have evicted them from the premises if it had been me.
Anyway, good luck to the team and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titi446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a trip back from the desert to Marrakech. We arrived in the evening after a long drive and it was impossible to find without assistance from another hotel (even with GPS). The room was average, the beds were uncomfortable and the wait-staff were exceptionally rude, inflexible and unfriendly. The food was average at best. Morning coffee was not available without taking a full breakfast at a pre-specified time due to a minimal kitchen and surly, unpleasant staff. AVOID THIS HOTEL!! It is poor value for money. The management is more concerned about keeping the staff happy than the guests. Just stay on the road to Ouarzazate proper.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloballyMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damienne A, Propriétaire at Les Tourmalines, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013
Google Translation

Madame,
Le Maroc est un pays situé en Afrique du Nord ; et, apparemment, vous vous êtes trompée... L'Afrique Noire se situe beaucoup plus au sud ! Votre comportement épidermique à l'encontre de notre personnel nous a laissés perplexes. Vous devriez vous reposer, non pas dans une maison d'hôtes comme "Les Tourmalines", mais plutôt dans un établissement spécialisé.
Notre personnel est avec nous depuis plus de 10 ans, et bénéficie de toute notre confiance.
Meilleurs soins
Damienne ARGUEYROLLES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The small hotel right on the lake outside Ouarzazatte (20 kms) would be lovely in the spring or autumn but during the winter the rooms lack a reliable heating system and the place is COLD after dark. Food is average. Rooms as stated in other reviews, need updating - a wool blanket and quilt and hard foam pillow. Internet is NOT available throughout as advertised. Indeed, slow internet is only available in the "salon." Staff in the bar were not around when we wanted a drink and the whole place though utterly gorgeous in its location and a great touring base, is not a good choice for the colder weather.

Room Tip: Facing the lake with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
11.2 mi away
Le Berbere Palace
Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 41 in Ouarzazate
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 41 in Ouarzazate
255 reviews
16.2 mi away
Auberge La Terrasse des Delices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 41 in Ouarzazate
139 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 41 in Ouarzazate
688 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Perle Du Sud
La Perle Du Sud
#35 of 41 in Ouarzazate
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Tourmalines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Tourmalines

Address: Royal Golf - Boite Postale 375 | Damienne Argueyrolles etChristian Mahé, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $123 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest'House is situated in 20 km of the city of Ouarzazate, in the direction of the magnificent Palm grove of Skoura. We propose 12 standard rooms and 01 suite. A swimming pool of 7m X 15m, in overflooking on the Lake El Mansour, a solarium, a summer bar, a winter bar are at your disposal. Our dining room can welcome 30 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Les Tourmalines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Tourmalines Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing