We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; cold out of season;”
Review of Les Tourmalines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Tourmalines
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; cold out of season;”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The small hotel right on the lake outside Ouarzazatte (20 kms) would be lovely in the spring or autumn but during the winter the rooms lack a reliable heating system and the place is COLD after dark. Food is average. Rooms as stated in other reviews, need updating - a wool blanket and quilt and hard foam pillow. Internet is NOT available throughout as advertised. Indeed, slow internet is only available in the "salon." Staff in the bar were not around when we wanted a drink and the whole place though utterly gorgeous in its location and a great touring base, is not a good choice for the colder weather.

Room Tip: Facing the lake with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just arrived from this trip in the south of Morocco. We found the real Morocco!

We especially enjoyed our stay at the Tourmalines. The room was cozy and fine decorated, we also had great sleep as the area is very peaceful. The service and staff very friendly as Driss and Christian helped us to organise our trip in the desert of Mahamid.
We really liked the dinner at the Berber tent with a beautiful view on the lake of Ouarzazat and its sunset.

This place is perfect for a romantic holiday

We wish them good luck and prosperity for 2013!!!

Room Tip: book the room number 1 or the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The accommodation some 20Ks from town - so once there no where to go.
The pool and surrounds are very good.
The view over the lake is wonderful.
The rooms are large and the bathroom small, they are however badly in need of renovating.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful views over lake El Mansour and a refreshing infinity pool. Driss the manager is very friendly and dinner in the Berber tent overlooking the lake is quite pleasant. The rooms are spacious and clean but could use a few upgrades. If they only changed the bed linens to soft, fluffy white sheets and a duvet - the entire room's vibe would be transformed from quaint/basic to boutique luxury in an instant. Same goes for the bathroom towels. Also, they don't provide any toiletries (not even shampoo) so bring your own. This would also be an instantly improving touch!

All in all a pleasant stay for the value though.

Room Tip: If you like wifi, choose a room near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

2nd time we come to this lovely guest house. Glad we did!

I really love this region. Ouarzazate always offers us a warm welcome as Christian, Damienne and Driss (waiter) make a point to do.

Beautiful panorama, good food, we enjoyed our nights, and having a bottle of wine in front of a wonderful sunset behind this infinity-edge swimming pool was a peaceful moment.

My girlfriend and I, we just love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtisRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Christian and Damienne are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble, they are ably assited by Driss their manager, who serves the food and drinks. They arranged a hire car for us, which we recommend in this part of Morocco and essential to reach Les Tourmalines as it is 20 kms from Ouarzazate. Driving doesn't present too much of a problem though we do recommend getting to your destination before dark. We managed to drive ourselves to The Todra Gorge and The Gorge of Dades (both well worth a visit), as well as a trip into Ouarzazate. Christian also managed to rearrange our itinerary for the better, allowing us to stay another day at Les Tourmalines, by cancelling our return drive to Marrakech and train to Casablanca. We were able to fly direct to Casablanca which not only saved time but it was cheaper too. The room was very nicely situated on the ground floor, near the pool and below our hosts apartment. The place lends itself for a totally relaxing holiday - which we needed after the hustle of Marrakech. A basket of fruit is provided on arrival and breakfast is served near the pool with excellent lakeside views. Dinner is served in the tent and the food is of good quality. There is also a good selection of Moroccan wines and the place is licensed. We recommend this venue for complete relaxation with its stunning views.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the ground floor below the patrons' apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is situated 20km from Ourzazate and a simalar distance from Skoura on the complex 'Royal Golf'. The hotel itself is approached by passing many half finished and unoccupied houses/hotels, resembling a ghost town.

The hotel is on the edge of the lake. The grounds of the hotel are mature with lovely fragent hedges grown from rosemary. The scenery is breathtaking and the large, clean infinity pool appears to overflow into the lake.

The room however lacked charm and felt dark as the only natural light was from the windows in the door. The walls were painted lime green with sponge print on the white wardrobe in the same colour. There is a small seating area which is slightly more traditional but does not 'marry' with the bedroom. On arrival there was a small basket of fresh fruit which was most welcomed.

This hotel is very isolated and I would recommend hiring a car, luckily the owner of the hotel, Christain was kind enough to take us into town one morning, bringing us back in the afternoon.

The following afternoon we hired a driver at a cost of 500 Dirhams.

We booked for three nights half board.

Breakfast is served on the small terrace overlooking the lake. It consisted of pancakes, pastries, yougurt and jam all served with fresh orange and coffee...very nice.

Dinner is served at 8pm in the 'Berber' tent. It is a set three course menu of varing quality, which magically appears from a small kitchen under the terrace....I think!

The main member of staff was very friendly and attentive at breakfast and dinner, and helped us organise a driver and a taxi for our departure but during a mornings sunbathing we couldn't find hime and were left with nothing to drink. Luckily one of the Moroccan ladies who normally deals with the cleaning came by and she helped us.

The hotel was very quiet and one evening we were the the only people to eat.

This hotel is perfect if you want to do nothing for a few days, sitting by the pool and taking in the wonderful views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
11.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
247 reviews
37.1 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Dar Kamar
Dar Kamar
#6 of 40 in Ouarzazate
123 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rose Noire
Rose Noire
#10 of 40 in Ouarzazate
236 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
Kasbah Ait Ben Moro
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Tourmalines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Tourmalines

Property: Les Tourmalines
Address: Royal Golf - Boite Postale 375 | Damienne Argueyrolles etChristian Mahé, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ouarzazate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest'House is situated in 20 km of the city of Ouarzazate, in the direction of the magnificent Palm grove of Skoura. We propose 12 standard rooms and 01 suite. A swimming pool of 7m X 15m, in overflooking on the Lake El Mansour, a solarium, a summer bar, a winter bar are at your disposal. Our dining room can welcome 30 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Les Tourmalines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Tourmalines Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing