We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort hotel with a few imperfections”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, the views spectacular, and the location peaceful. Staff is generally nice and helpful. Drawbacks? Far from Ouarzazate (and google maps sends you 15 kilometers into town--just go to the royal golf exit 15 km on the road to kelaat megouna/tinghir--and then it is over 2 kilometers along a winding road with fairly clear but not extremely well marked turns and entrances), the pool is small, but ok, and watch out for the black biting ants in the grass who will really enjoy munching on your legs. Ouch. Breakfast is good, jams are great, but would have expected tastier food from a (french?-owned hotel. Oh and DO NOT order takeout pizza at night--it was truly one of the worst pizzas I have ever had and I have probably eaten thousands over the decades.

Room Tip: lakeview, upper floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear B L

First, we wanted to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
We are pleased to see that your stay was a true moment of happiness malgrès few imperfections.
Regarding the situation of the Sultana Royal Golf, Our hotel is located 15 km from the city of Ouarzazate is 15 minutes by car. This allows you as you well said, enjoy an exceptional view of the lake of Ouarzazate and a calm unusual than other hotels can offer to their customers, it is difficult to have view and the city at the same time.
Be aware that if you do not have a car we can order a taxi to Ouarzazate. It is important to remember that the attractions of the region are not in the city but outside as the palm of Ouarzazate, the Gorges du Dades Gorges Togdhar.
Regarding ants, you are in a green park with lots of water which atirre ants and can get on your legs if you lie down on the grass during the months of May and June.
For your pizza, we sincerely apologize for this bad experience, we are renowned for having one of the best restaurant in the region, without exception, and our entire board. It is possible, as in any restaurant to a failure in the kitchen. You would have had to return this dish was not up to our facility or let me know directly. As you can see, we are going to meet all our customers to find out if their stay is our reputation.

Meric for the constructive feedback that is shared with the entire staff of the Sultana Royal Golf.

Hoping to receive you soon for a future stay.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you're looking for a quite and charming place, but the most spectacular view, the nicest rooms, the greatest food and the warmest welcome : this is it! About 15 minutes drive from Ouarzazate centre, close to a beautiful lake, this was just the best place to relax and enjoy the nature! (our stay was end april 2013)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank de_wereld_is_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is literally off the beaten track, you can just see it from the main road but you have to wind your way through a some what derelict area to reach the main gates.
Inside the grounds the complex is made up of apartment blocks spread around the gardens, housing 4 units in each and a main central admin blockwhich includes the check in area and the bar and restaurant/breakfast area.
The site is on a plateau with large garden and pool and over looks a large lake, but if you turn around you see only grey waste land/desert. There are several other hotels and domestic buildings close by and several others that appear to be derelict and only half built.
The breakfast was lovely with local bread,eggs, fruit etc. Dinner in the dining roo is very french and has a large range,the steak was very nice, deserts were also good.
Staff were very attentive and spoke good english.
Our rooms were clean and quite big with a modern bathroom,toiletand bidet.
The 'Golf Course' is interesting, don't bother to pack your clubs.
Overall we had a god time and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The view from the appartment block roof early in the morning is amazing
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Wilsden,



Members of the Sultana Royal Golf thank you for your review on our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you like our rooms and our restaurant was voted Best Restaurant Morocco 2013.

The new restaurant's menu will arrive in a few weeks with a new proposal of starters, main courses and desserts Morocco.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mmm a real Curate's Egg! - Firstly it is 20 Kilometers out of Ouarzazate on the Skoura road . It is in a rather bizarre half built gated community overlooking the lake and seems to consist of several different "blocks" with various rooms in each and a central reception/restaurant block. It is very much a new build and really rather odd in layout and decor.

Our room was capacious and clean with a reasonable bathroom which contained a magnificent fossil washbasin which was very poorly fitted and oddly a plastic semi round bath! The room was pretty satisfactory put there were some niggles . 1. the roomsafe was locked , not that it mattered because it wasnt bolted down so you could have walked out with it under your arm! 2.There was no telephone to reception which is quite a walk so when the water stopped working I had to ring the reception on my mobile ( Morocco - England - Morocco - very expensive) . In fairness the water was soon repaired - thank goodness!

Restaurant - Didnt eat there at supper as menu very "gastro- European" - did the 40K round trip back to town . Also dining room very modern "film set" type place - but had breakfast there which was fine - but with no fresh Hobz (bread) almost unheard of in Morocco even in the most far-flung places.

The staff were all very pleasant and kind , the place was clean but sadly this hotel was not to my taste

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Horacebull,

Thank you for your comment, although your night in our hotel've not completely satisfied.
We are sorry that the hotel was not to your liking, I recall very well with your wife and yourself.
You called our hotel half an hour before to see if we had cash and visit the hotel.
We were offered a suite on the first floor, but seeing that you have a disability your right hip we have offered a room on the ground floor for not having to walk up. I actually only got confirmation of your wife who told me that everything was perfect for you and you want to stay the night in our hotel knowing that you were tired of your travel.
As I have said, we have no phone because we do not have a hotel with 50 rooms and the reception is 15 meters walk from your room. Actually you have to call us 20 seconds or 30 seconds from your mobile phone and we have this problem of water in less than 5 minutes to an electrical problem. But we take note of your recommendation to install a telephone in our suites.
Regarding the safe actually is not fixed to the ground but it is 15 kg. I also note and we will make the necessary fixings.
As you pointed out we really are to your attention, and I am here even several times during your stay to make sure everything alright even cut your water and you did not express your displeasure.
However, thank you for your constructive comments that will help us to improve our quality of services for our future customers.
As you perceive as I recall all my clients to spend the best possible stay in the Sultana Royal Golf.
However hoping you again in our hotel and be up to your expectations.

All staff should Sultana also thank you for your positive points about our service and hospitality

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is really a dream place. The rooms are great, the food was fantastic and the whole place is having a special finishing touch. The perfect place to relax at the swimming pool with a fantastic view on the lake after a long trip in Morocco at democratically prices. Unfortunately we only staid for a short period, but all our friends are still talking about it and we are surely going back. Many thanks again to Veronique and her son who are running this beautiful hotel with their staff on a very professional way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Stefan,

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience and satisfaction of your stay on tripadvisor.
It was a real pleasure to have you received in our hotel with all your friends.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and the services of our restaurant.

The Sultana Royal Golf team hopes to see you again soon in our hotel.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great resort. It's only drawback is the distance of Ouarzazote. But, if you are here for more than a couple days, you can do Ouarzazote and Ait Bin Haddou and still enjoy the Sultana grounds. The owner, Veronique (I think), is very attentive and makes sure that everything is great. The rooms are huge and very well appointed--even a bottle of cold water in the frig. You have to go out at night, around 1030 when they shut off the outside lights and see the starts. I have never seen such a display!!! I sat outside for about 30 minutes. With no ights in the area, it is pretty spectacular. The restaurant is nice. Breakfast was crepes with some other breads. Not great, but filling. Always fruit too, along with a fruit basket in your room upon arrival. Somebody could have done a better job of planning the car parking--especially if you have heavy cases. Ouarzazote seems to be a very clean city and somewhat organized. The movie tour is fair, but interesting nonetheless.

Room Tip: Each room is a different color but they seem to be the same layout.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Propriétaire at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Morgini,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience on tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you appreciate the quality of your stay at Sultana Royal Golf.
We have taken into account your recommendations for our parking, be aware that improvement is planned soon.
Hoping to see you soon in our hotel.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a pretty hotel in beautiful surroundings. However, our room (the blue one) was a little pokey, and it had plumbing issues, so that there was a constant rotting smell that was reduced only when we put the air conditioning on high.

The food menu is way too French. I came to Morocco to eat Moroccan food, so was very frustrated by their menu (bear in mind that there is nowhere else to go to eat once you're there). Oh and if you're a vegetarian forget about it.

The owner was a jovial old French guy who was friendly, dressed like the son of Johnny Halliday and Captain Birdseye and unfortunately smoked like a chimney, and we did find that his cigarette smoke wafted over to our table at dinner. It's a shame that he has tried to make his Moroccan dream as frustratingly French as possible.

It's an OK hotel, but once you've stayed in real luxury in Morocco with less catering to the French tourist, you come away from this place slightly disappointed.

Oh and the hotel is far from everything, which is great but also quite a pain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelondonlounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcoron, Gérant at Hotel Sultana Royal Golf, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear customer,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your experience.
However, we find it hard to answer some inconsistencies that you have written.
Regarding our rooms, they all measure an area of ​​50 m² in size with two queen beds and a Moroccan lounge. The bathroom also has a corner bath.
For the owner of the establishment, he does not smoke, I think you were talking about a hotel guest and he does not dress like johnny halliday.

However for the actual food we have many European dishes à la carte but you could also eat tagines.
We enhance our menu with flavors EUROPEAN because our knowledge of our restaurant is French, and many restaurants bottom Moroccan dishes.
If you are vegetarians, we meat-free dishes like tomato carpaccio, salads, fish etc. ...

If you want to eat only Maroccain we could arrange a taxi for you to bring you in another restaurant, we could do it without any problem, we are a four star hotels with true customization needs of our clients.

However, we hope you receive during your next stay in Morocco.
I invite you to inform me of your arrival and we will ensure that your opinion is that of all our other customers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
10.9 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#2 of 40 in Ouarzazate
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Tourmalines
Les Tourmalines
#8 of 40 in Ouarzazate
116 reviews
14.0 mi away
Oscar Hotel
Oscar Hotel
#20 of 40 in Ouarzazate
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Dar Chamaa
Dar Chamaa
#1 of 40 in Ouarzazate
651 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
Ibis Moussafir Ouarzazate
#15 of 40 in Ouarzazate
568 reviews
36.8 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#5 of 40 in Ouarzazate
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultana Royal Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultana Royal Golf

Address: Royal Golf | BP 448, Ouarzazate 45000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Ouarzazate
Price Range: $134 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultana Royal Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sultana Royal Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing