We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, traditional, welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigmi el Janoub

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tigmi el Janoub
Ranked #40 of 60 Ouarzazate B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, traditional, welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

After a long drive from Marrakech, we arrived at Tigmi el Janoub and felt right at home. The friendly manager gave us a choice of rooms upon arrival - all of which were lovely. We enjoyed a hearty home cooked Moroccan diinner, and our delicious breakfast the next day was served on a roof terrace, overlooking some stunning Moroccan scenery. Location wise, it was handy for visiting the amazing Ait Benhaddou. We could have easily stayed on longer at this gorgeous place, one night didn't seem like quite enough.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateinLondon_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We were met with great hospitality and friendliness. The house is beautiful, all from the terrace with great views of the surroundings, to the patio where you can have your dinner. All nicely decorated in moroccan style.The food was very good, and you felt at home right away. Farid, the guy taken care of the place was super friendly and showed us around his village, which we appreciated very much.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdf189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

This place is truly fabulous and I would urge you to go and stay there. Beautifully decorated with lots of areas to sit. Large comfortable rooms. Only stayed 2 nights but really wish had stayed longer. The person looking after this hotel, Farid, was exceptional in showing us around the 2 villages near the hotel. We also went off on a very long walk (maybe 15 miles round trip) by ourselves going in the direction of Telouet. Incredible array of villages and friendly local people. No hassle at all. The food was not gourmet but just fine. The temperature of the shower was a bit hard to adjust. Otherwise can't think of anything negative to say. The highlight of our trip to morocco and one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I have been meaning to write a review of tigmi el janoub for almost a year now. Myself and my boyfriend stayed there for only one night in Feb 2009, whilst on a 4 day excursion from Marrakech. It was without a doubt one of the coolest, most beautiful and unique places I have ever had the pleasure to stay in.
The owner (from France but who has lived for many years in Morocco) was most hospitable. He was exceptionally friendly and courteous. Despite the fact that he didn't speak much english, and we didn't speak much french, we did not need for anything during our short stay.
The food deserves a mention here....it was fab... most notably the fantastic orange cake that I still dream about from time to time!!!
I would absolutely recommend this accommodation to anyone thinking of taking a trip from Ouarzazate!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinnyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

This cosy guesthouse near Ouarzazate is the perfect retreat after a few days spent in the desert. It is very nicely decorated in typical Moroccon style, and has great views of the valley. The owner, Philippe, has a great sense of hospitality. He is full of good advice on things to do in the surroundings. Last but not least, the dinner served in the guesthouse -- a home-made couscous-- was one of the best we had in Morocco!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro_from_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at this homely guest house during an overnight tour through the Atlas Mountains and we had the most enjoyable time ever! We were made to feel so welcome and we felt very comfortable and at home. We were treated to a lovely vegetarian meal in the courtyard, probably one of the best we had during our time in Morocco. Phillipe was a wonderful host and we enjoyed his company as we talked into the evening, although tiredness from traveling inevitably moved me to bed. Our room had everything you would need and was decorated perfectly with traditional Moroccan furnishings(as was the whole house), including a beautiful hand decorated wash basin and tadelakt shower in the bathroom, all of which Phillip has tastefully created himself. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning before departing, which included fig jam (yummy) on the terrace looking out over the village and mountains. A perfect end to a perfect stay.

  • Liked — Philipe the host
  • Disliked — Only staying for 1 night!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouarzazate hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
Hotel Le Berbere Palace
#3 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Imini
Kasbah Imini
#28 of 60 in Ouarzazate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
Hotel Sultana Royal Golf
#7 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Ait Abou Restaurant Auberge
0.0 mi away
Hotel marmar
Hotel marmar
#11 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maroc Galacx
Maroc Galacx
#18 of 60 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigmi el Janoub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigmi el Janoub

Property: Tigmi el Janoub
Address: Ouaoumssent | Ait Zineb, Ouarzazate 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ouarzazate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ouarzazate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigmi el Janoub 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House in Pisee, overhanging an always green valley, we offer hospitality with comfort and good kitchen to you. With our 8 rooms equipped with bathrooms, hot and cold water, you will rest and be happy to take the beautiful strolls. And to visit the universally known site of Has Benhaddou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tigmi el Janoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing