We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give them six stars if I could!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Merzouga
Ranked #3 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merzouga, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would give them six stars if I could!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I spent eight days with the Seggaoui family, and it was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The brothers: Ali, Lahcen, and Omar went above and beyond all of our expectations. We booked our trip with them in advance to spend Five days with them based out of Merzouga, and three days across the Atlas en route to Marrakech. I really can't emphasize how perfectly they arranged every aspect of our trip.
First off, the basics: The riad is beautiful, and situated in a very quiet section of Hassi Labied (just outside of Merzouga proper.) The rooms were clean and spacious, the common areas were perfect for relaxing, the pool is awesome, and the restaurant and food top notch. Ibrahim who runs the dining area was a true charmer, and provided excellent service for our entire stay.
Second, we arranged a number of outings through them: the almost mandatory camel trek to spend the night in Erg Chebbi, 4x4 expeditions into the black desert and the neighboring towns of Rissani and Erfoud, and transit across the Atlas to see the Todra and Dades gorges, Ouarzazate, Skoura, and finally to be dropped off in Marrakech for the next leg of our trip.
After some tea and a few brief conversations they immediately honed in our interest: the history and geology of the desert, fossils, ruins, and everything we could see and do between Merzouga and Marrakech. They completely tailored all of our outings based around our interests and arranged more outings once we arrived. Ali had a very laid back approach to the additional trips letting us decide as the day went on how much we wanted to do. They were exceptional at choosing our guides to be the most helpful and informative for each outing.
En route to Marrakech we stayed in two hotels that they partner with: Chez Vieille Charrues in Dades, and Chez Talout in Skoura, and both were very nice. All in all, every aspect of our stay with the Seggaouis was Five stars. We would recommend them hands down to anyone interested in staying in Merzouga.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    57
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
178
293
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel.The hotel is beautiful, even better than the pictures. The food is good, and the waiters are nice and funny. Very relax atmosphere.
We booked one thing, and changed our mind at last moment to a cheaper option, and they were very nice, and did not charge us for the change.
They washed our staff, and did not charge us for that either. (But they did lost 3 individual socks)
I would love to stay there again for a whole week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaffa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Ali's guesthouse for one night and spent the second night in the desert, at a Berber tent. Our communication with him before our arrival was excellent and upon our arrival, Ali and his brother made us feel at home. We got to choose our room and ended up staying in a room at the terrace, which was beautiful and had a great view. The staff took our dietary requirements seriously and served us amazing food on the first night and next day before our departure with the camels. Our second night was lovely, in the family's tent in the desert. We had an overall fantastic experience and would definitely recommend Guest House Merzouga.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had planned to stay three nights in total with two in the hotel and one in the Berber tent. Emailed asking about the bathroom facilities and cost of the camel trek/tent excursion. Staff member became very rude and obnoxious. Fortunately I was able to cancel our booking and book elsewhere. Our first negative experience in Morocco.

I'm not sure how this place received so many positive ratings if the reviews are legitimate. I would think that asking a simple question if a bathroom is available is quite reasonable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

In the last dozen years or so, guesthouses in Merzouga (offering desert excursions) apparently have exploded. I was a bit confounded over all the alternatives and not sure I'd made the right choice. But my fears proved groundless. Lahassan, the second eldest of the Seggaoui brothers, is a charismatic and charming host. Our room was large, clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated, and the public spaces were even more impressive. The desert excursion was just what we wanted. And the meals (two breakfasts (included) and one dinner (not)) at the guesthouse were very good. Tired of driving, we opted not to take the 4x4 half-day tour, but we did enjoy the 2-hour walking tour with younger brother Omar. It takes some effort to get to Merzouga (we drove), but the hospitality and exquisite beauty of the dunes repaid that amply.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I really can't say enough about how great this place was. First, there is great wifi (was able to FaceTime to the US without a problem). Second, the dinner was the best food we had in Morocco. Third, the hotel really went above and beyond in so many ways, offering the following to us at no charge: early check in because we drove all night from marrakesh, breakfast when we arrived insanely early, laundry (!), a birthday cake and song, live entertainment with dinner, and use of our room even after check out so that we could shower after a tour before leaving for fez. They helped us reserve transport to fez, organized fabulous tours (highly recommend the day camel tour and the 4x4 tour to the black desert), and even gave us a free ride to the bus station. Best of all, the place is owned and run by a local family, who participates in authentic Berber performances for hotel guests after dinner and are full of a wealth of nformation about the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emarienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent two nights with Maison Merzouga recently and cannot recommend it highly enough. Host Ali and his family go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and at home in their lovely guesthouse. The meals were excellent, including dinner tagines of course, but also unusual and delicious entrees. The rooms are spacious with good bath facilities. Wi-fi is excellent and available in all the very comfortable public areas, and there are plenty of outlets to charge up your electronics. We took the 4-hour 4x4 tour around the perimeter of the Erg Chebbi sand dunes with Omar, one of Ali's brothers, and were very impressed by the depth and breadth of his knowledge of local geology and wildlife, as well as his fluency in English (a definite plus for those of us challenged by French).

Regarding a night in the desert, the ultimate Moroccan experience: We had originally tried to arrange an overnight desert camp through a large tour group, but has failed due to email miscommunications. Instead, we asked Ali, and the local arrangements he made were very professional. In fact, the camel trek and overnight at the family's private desert camp, deep in the heart of Erg Chebbi, was a real highlight of our month in Morocco. It was great fun and very well organized, AND we were lucky enough to be the only ones at camp this particular night. However, even if you're not that lucky, the camp is small in size and your group will be the only ones there, which is not the case with some of the tour groups. Our camel guide Omar (a different Omar) was very patient with our bumbling French and he spoke English quite well enough to explain sights along the way and generally made the trip enjoyable. Plus, he cooked a great tagine from scratch. So, don't hesitate to drive yourself to Merzouga and arrange your desert trek through Ali, and bypass the organized tours and group transport from Marrakech or Ouarzazate.

Finally, the entire experience was great value for the price, both the guesthouse stay and the outdoor excursions as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tekadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Property: Guest House Merzouga
Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing