We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exotic home on the edge of the dessert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Merzouga
Ranked #3 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An exotic home on the edge of the dessert”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Guest House Merzouga is in an absolutely gorgeous location - we couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the rolling, golden dunes from the roof top terrace which are only 5 minutes walk away. The house is beautifully decorated and has a lovely swimming pool to help you cool off. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel instantly welcome and part of the family. Ali, Hassan and their staff are very caring and looked after our every need and desire including a camel safari and night under the stars in a Berber tent (don't miss this amazing experience). The food was excellent - really fresh, fragrant and very generous portions. Thank you all for a wonderful stay - we wish we were back with you now. Kate & Dan x

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katestevensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    57
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
178
293
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

A delightful place with a pool and comfortable, well furnished rooms and excellent food. The stay was made even better by the delightful personality of our out-going and genial host, Hassan, and his family. Lively conversation, music and dancing to Moroccan drums after dinner, a 10 minute walk through the oasis to the dunes--who could ask for more in exotic desert adventures? Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StevePalmDesertCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Guest House Merzouga. If there is one person in all of Morocco that understands hospitality, it is the owner, Ali. He is kind, friendly, and warm and has a staff full of like-minded people. They are very helpful and attentive, but they are not pushy. Ali can offer suggestions for things to do, but he doesn't try to pressure you to do anything. Pictures don't fully describe this place. It is truly an oasis in the desert where you can truly relax and enjoy yourself. Ali is passionate about making the guest house comfortable and beautiful. Our room was gorgeous and so cozy. And the food... delicious! They have the best pancakes we had in all of Morocco. Dinner was a real treat, too. Ali arranged a camel trek for us which is sure to be an experience we will always fondly remember. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I wish I were there right now. :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lah0394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Me and my friends came to this really cool hotel in a recommendation of Kim (few reviews below..), who we've met on the road while traveling in Morocco. The rooms are really absolutely all good, and the food truly amazing. Elected the best breakfast of the whole 10 day trip. They also organized us a night in the desert which was more than perfect. The hosts are incredibly nice people, well educated, sympathetic and helpful. The sort of people that if I lived nearby I would come around for a visit and a tea..
go for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

very friendly personnel, good service and good staff. best dinners we had in Marocco were served here. good rooms with luxurious space, airconditioning. breakfast with home-made bread, including fried eggs. beautiful location 5 km away from Merzouga in a small village. The family run hotel was absolutely worht going to, the best we have seen in Marocco during our (relatively short) stay. We intend to come back for a longer period of time, taking our children with us to let them enjoy the surroundings of the Erg Chebbi and the wonderfull hospitality of mr Ali and his family. the hotel is build with ancient local tehniques, time consuming but very nice work. The excursion we had, organised by the hotel family, was very nice and informative. No mass tourism but individual attention to your own wishes. We absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I normaly don t write in the internet forum but this time it s worth to recomend this wonderful place. The owner and staff incredible friendly and helpful. We did a camel safari organized with him, and everything was perfect. Point apart was the food, was awesome. In resume: these 2 days here were one of the highlight of Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaboncete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a great hotel, we were treated like personal guests in a family home, but with the freedom and luxury of a decent hotel.
The owner and staff Ali, Said and Hassan, were in hand to help or chat whenever we wished. We had a night in the desert which was fun and included a camel ride. The hotel's encampment is in a quiet area. We had a cookery lesson with the cook. We were shown around the village and got a real sense of the highs and lows of Berber life in the desert and the recent settlement in Merzouga. A highlight of our trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Battledor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#5 of 82 in Merzouga
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Merzouga

Property: Guest House Merzouga
Address: | Bp 24, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tout au milieu du désert au pied des dunes d'or d'Erg Chebbi se trouve une auberge pas comme les autres,la maison d'hôte de la famille SEGGAOUI.Ici, vous aurez toutes les chances de découvrir l'hospitalité berbère authentique, dans un climat familial chaleureux.Ali et sa famille vous accueillent à Merzouga, site grandiose du Désert Marocain, au pied des dunes de l'Erg Chebbi, de véritables sculpture mouvantes en forme de draperies, qui culminent à 150 mètres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House Merzouga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing