We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuinely the worst, most disgusting place I have ever stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Hommes Bleus

Les Hommes Bleus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Hommes Bleus
Ranked #65 of 83 Merzouga B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Genuinely the worst, most disgusting place I have ever stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Let's start with the one positive - location. On the edge of the Erg Chebbi dunes. That is where the positives end.
Negatives: Filth, fleas, dust, appalling service, dark, cold
We arrived at lunch time and were promised a camel trek at 3pm. The staff were lazing around so we didn't get going till after 4.15pm which with at that time of the year only gave us an hour or so before sunset. This in itself was disappointing. What was worse is that the camel trekker dumped us at the first dune, about 5 mins from the auberge and in full view of all of the auberges and the main highway - hardly the Sahara experience we were after! Only after insisting did he reluctantly agree to take us a further 10 mins so that we could at least pretend we were in the remote Sahara. He promptly passed out on the sand and offered no assistance with our attemps to use the sand-board we had hired at a cost of $13 from the owner. We were very disappointed as friends had waxed lyrical about their Sahara camel trekking experiences and we had ten mins on a camel!
Now to the actual stay - our room was absolutely filthy - akin to a low grade hostel in SE Asia or worse. The blankets were caked in dust, there was one light on the other side of the room to the bed and the hot water wasn't working. It was off season, we were the only guests yet not one of the staff had cleaned our room never mind checked it. We were transferred to a room with a trickle of hot water but it was equally filthy. I understand the room is supposed to re-create staying in a kasbah (mud construction) but a few lights and a hoover is not too much to ask. We had a very unpleasant and cold night and woke up with allergic coughs. Dinner was very average - over cooked skewers and an insipid salad all served by the same camel trekker in his lethargic, disinterested manner.
On departure, the owner tried to charge us $20 for the basic salad lunch we ate on arrival. As soon as I challenged the price, he dropped it down to $7 - funny that!
We have no positive memories of our stay and hope the owner reads this review and makes improvements to the auberge otherwise others will face disappointment like ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank king_viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bregenz
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Okay, "Les Hommes Bleus" is in the middle of nowhere, no electricity, not really a lot of water in the shower and I had the impression that we had kind of flews ore something else in the bed.

But the son of the owner, Abdul, and the guy who did service, reception and everything there, Ismail, were really nice. We had a great time.
We had lunch and dinner at Les Hommes Bleue and it was just fantastic. Never thought, that something could be wrong wih the fridge...
The ride into the desert by camel was great and we had a fullmoon night in the desert.

There is no luxury in desert, but thats the way it is. There is no cold beer available. No restaurant with a big choice of meals. No spa. No pool. Someone who is expecting those things to have a perfect holiday should stay in a 5 star hotel somewhere else. It's the desert.... and the desert was great. No noise at all..

Well, we had little trouble with our guide who brought us from Féz to les Hommes Bleus. But all in all we had great fun. And all those things who went wrong are making our stay in Marocco unforgetable.

I would come back - loved the Sahara!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kathrinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
215 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

I am really surprised about the above comment. I stayed in this auberge several times and never had such a bad experience. First of all, most of the auberges near the Erg Chebbi are in the desert, that means "deserted". And that is exactly what I am looking for. I want to be alone, with no city lights to disturb my look on the stars.
And of course, if you don't have your own transport you are stuck until somebody takes you out.
I arrived in Rissani, had a look in the marvellous carpet shop of Maison Tuareg and the blue men proposed me to stay in their auberge. We drove to the desert, had a wonderful night with millions of stars and the men played the tamtam. There were also tourist from Germany and we had the night of the nights.
Next morning Abderahme drove us back and we even had another coffee at the carpet shop. I really can recommend the place.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Eko2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

NO WAY! Owner is a cheater!
When U in Merzouga he tell U that trip on the dessert is cheap (250 dirham per person). He take U to hotel (about 25 km to the dessert), and than he teling U that price is 2500 dirham per person). He screaming on turist, and try to blackmail ...

But we are from Poland and we are strong!!! We pay 250 dirham per person (no more no less for trip by car to hotel, for breakfast, for trip on camels on dessert) and we tell him: "U are [--] cheater"...

Also he will want to sell U ugly painting for lot of money!!!

SO BEWARE!!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pikolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merzouga hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

I have always wanted to visit the Sahrara. I guess it was seeing those adventure movies as a child. I remember leaving the cinema after seeing Laurence of Arabia and thinking, one day I'll visit the desert.

Earlier this month my wife managed to get some bargain flights to Marrakesh online. We had a week free so it was a spur of the moment decision. Marrakesh was like something out of Arabian nights. We flew in at night and below the city lights of the city sparkled. Having dropped off oour bags we headed to the famous square, which has every concenieveable form of human life. Snake charmers, monkeys, vendors selling everything from trinkets to tagines. I was even offer a goat!.

After a few days of explring the medinas of Marrakesh we headed south for the desert. We shared a taxi with another couple. We stopped off at Rissani where we were literaly accosted by a couple of hustlers. Chubby and thuggish and with an air of menace, dressed in leathers. One was called Mohammed the other Tayeb. Though we had booked a hotel in Merzouga these guys talked us believing that they were the reps who had been sent by our hotel. They were very clever and even quoted the name of the manager and location of the hotel. They told us oour taxi would never make it on the tarmac so we had to join them in their 4x4.

We were in the hotel for around 10 minutes before it dawned on us that this was where we were meant to be at all. I asked the receptionist the name of the hotel and he said it was 'Les Homme Bleu". We were in the middle of nowhere, the back of the beyond. Not a taxi or bus came within five miles of the hotel. There was no electricity either, and I could not get a signal on my phone. The nice aspect was that we were on the edge of the desert.

Les Homme Bleu seemed to be run like the wild west. Law and order was broken down, even the owner showed up drunk as a skunk and began to sexually harrass the female guests.

There was no manager, we were asked to write our names in a grubby looking book. We protested that we were in the wrong hotel but were told that it was impossible to find a taxi and that they had plenty of rooms available. Too tired to argue we booked a room.

As night approached the hotel decended into total darkness, we scrambled around for a candle. We were told the generator would come on at 8pm. The thought of having dinner in a htel which did not have electricity to fuel a friedge filled us with horror. I had a peek in the kitchen and the refrigerator did not look very healthy. There was a large bowl of what looked like grease or dripping from yesterday beef. The fridge stank to high heaven.

At around 8.30pm the generator struck up and the owner appeared. He was called Abdul and he was drunk as a skunk. Surprising since we were in a muslim country and alcohol was not sold anywhere. Abdul made a total ass of himself as the night progressed. He talked gibberish and fawened over a couple of single ladies trying to entice one of them back to his room where he claimed to have a bottle of whisky.

The generator cut out at 10pm and we were in pitch darkness once again. At least there was a full moon and the stars were spectacular. The single ladies went out on the terrace to watch the shooting stars with Abdul in hot pursuit, he was staggering by now.

The following morning we were hit upon by Mohammed who tried to persuade us to buy some carpets from Abdul's Alladin's cave of a shop in Rissani called Maison Tuareg. They had already connect some hapless Canadian couple into parting with $500 for two carpets they had no idea they wanted, then had the cheek to charge them for Abdul's taxi home.

Les Homme Bleu is the Fawlty Towers of the Sahrara. I would not recommend it, but it was a surreal experience. Good job we have a sense of humour is all I can say.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank BrooklynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

I wouldn't recommend this place for any reason really but only consider it if you have your own transport in and out. The auberge itself is probably like many others spotted through the dessert. It's quite a spectacular location but we were very aware that we were in a remote location at the mercy of the owners. They knew this and took advantage of it.

The showers in the rooms don't have hot water, you can only get this in the communal showers at certain times of the day. Power is also only switched on for a few hours a day. They will offer half board which you really need to take because you're miles from anywhere and unless you have your own transport you're pretty much stuck there.

These are the men in blue robes that you hear about (the name of the hotel should have alerted us). On leaving we were relieved of all of our cash... a last minute 'oh by the way you have to pay for transport to and from the auberge now' and ended up agreeing to pay a dodgey tour guide a huge amount of money to get us out as we felt very threatened after being abandoned at their carpet shop. The people who turned on us had been very jolly and friendly the previous night (although it did seem a little fake) but this made the experience all the scarier.

The dessert is not for the feint hearted and I would suggest you only go with an organised tour where there is safety in numbers. The bus from Meknes/ Fes runs overnight and arrives while it is still dark. The touts for the various auberges are extremely aggressive and can become abusive. We had booked this place on the advice of a previous hotel (which was great) but the experience really spoiled our trip.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank natgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#12 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bivouac Merzouga Experience
0.0 mi away
Riad Madu
Riad Madu
#1 of 9 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Tamariste
Kasbah Tamariste
#50 of 91 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hommes Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hommes Bleus

Property: Les Hommes Bleus
Address: 740 N31011.750, W04001., Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing