We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco-friendly, great food, stellar staff”
Review of Auberge Ksar Sania

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Ksar Sania
Ranked #27 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly, great food, stellar staff”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The location couldn't be better: outside of the over developed core of Merzouga and Hassilabad but so close to the giant dunes we could walk to them from our room and still near to an asphalted road to head out further afield. The staff (Francoise and an incredibly friendly and knowledgeable young man named Zuhair) can organize excursions into the desert, but there was no pressure at all to do so (we didn't go into the dunes, other than a brief walk). The food was exceptional, as was the wine on offer. The staff couldn't have been more gracious, attentive or accommodating (especially given our limited French and Arabic). The whole property is beautifully constructed and decorated, and put together in a manner more sensitive to the environment than most other accommodations in the area. We give Ksar Sania our absolute highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ksar Sania at Merzouga to take a trip on camels into the desert. It was the perfect starting point. Great to have the pool and meals outside. Francoise is fabulous. She created the Riad on her own - amazing.

Francoise will organize and excursion into the desert for you. Raschid the camel guide has a degree in English literature and is very interesting.

The Riad is right on the desert - you walk bend the hotel and the camels are waiting for you. The outside is lovely, the rooms are fine and you can also stay in tents.

It really is the last outpost before the desert, far from busy civilization. So Beware - they don't take visa (Internet is too weak) and there are no bank machines in Merzouga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Every detail in this French run eco-friendly lodge added to the serene trance of the Sahara desert. Instantly we fell in love with the place and added a third night to our itinerary. The huts are gorgeous with a view of the Sahara from your window. Stone tiled bathroom and shower. Arched courtyard. Delicious food. I highly recommend the berber omelet. We organized a night in a tent in the desert through Ksar Sania (1 1/2 hours on camel to an oasis in the desert) it was magical. After we returned from the desert, we were offered use of the showers free of charge. It was just what we needed.

There is a pool and a fantastic playlist adding to the ambiance playing softly in the background.

Staff was fantastic. Always with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay in Merzouga and Ksar Sania. We found the food excellent and the staff very happy and friendly. The rooms were nice but the bathrooms could use more ventilation. It was great to be so close to the dunes.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window in the bathroom, our was not and the drains were smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were on 2 weeks tour and we stayed one night in ksar Sania.
the owner is very arrogant.She did not have any respect to her employers .she cried in front of us and we dislike that very much.
The room was not clean ,the towles were very brown ...Try another hotel as there many in Merzouga.

Helpful?
1 Thank mahim89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Didn't stay but wished we had. Lunch was excellent - berber omelette with a wonderful salad. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly, including Francoise the owner and her staff. Despite flood damage to the property some years ago, it has been lovingly restored, with accommodation options for everyone's budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This beautiful place is close to Merzouga, but just the right distance away to give you some rest next to the dunes. I ended up here by accident, and Mustapha and the rest of the friendly staff gave me a very warm welcome. As a solotraveller I were invited to eat and hang out with the staff. All the information you need about the area you can get here, and there is plenty of contacts if you want to arrange trips. You can adjust to the temperature by the pool or walk straight into the dunes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.5 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bivouac Radoin Sahara Expeditions
4.0 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#6 of 82 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Ksar Sania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Ksar Sania

Property: Auberge Ksar Sania
Address: BP4, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge Merzouga - MOROCCOIn a small oasis at the foot of the big dune of Merzouga, which rises 150 meters above the valley of Ziz, and on the ancient Tuareg caravan's way linking Sijilmassa to Timbuktu, Hotel Ksar Sania awaits you for of the Saharan adventure.In the charm of an inn built in a neo-traditional architecture, straw and mud to blend into the natural scenery of the desert site, Francoise welcome you in a beautiful place where comfortis not opposed to the charm a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing