We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking lanscape”
Review of Auberge du Sud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Sud
Ranked #4 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking lanscape”
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Going back to Auberge du Sud is always a great surprise...
This time we were astonished with the swimmingpool and its stunning view over the dunes.
As usual we had a great time, great food, great music under a unique and magical sky.
Warm and hospital people that provides us unforgettable desert experiences.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    120
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
106
182
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

It’s that feeling that we have when you staying in Auberge du Sud. The desert spirit makes the rest. Is a very special place, were you can go to relax, meditation, or simple “staying around” with the berber people.
I had a special and surprise birthday party prepared by the Auberge du Sud staff. And for that, all my thanks, it was a unique moment that I can never thank you enough.
Hopefully, I’m coming back soon to try the amazing swimming pool with view to the dunes!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Wonderful, peaceful and sustainable accomodation in the middle of the desert .

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ccarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA USA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We were on tour with 18 friends, and every one of us had a wonderful time and was sorry to leave Auberge du Sud after 3 nights...the hotel staff is GREAT...friendly, personable, charming...so much warmth toward the hotel guests...they made down time around the hotel interesting ...The hotel is in a fantastic location right at the base of the sand dunes...couldn't have been closer...A real Desert experience...rooms nicely decorated...choice of sleeping in a tent camp or in a hotel room...The hotel building is only a few years old...built in a Kasbah style with rooms centered around an enclosed garden...Beautiful pool with a view of the dunes...Ride camels or hike to see sunrises and sunsets...What a way to start and finish a day!....Professional 4x4 drivers available to explore the area...If you have a choice, ask for Youness....(He can also be booked to travel anywhere else in Morocco...www.sudexpeditions.com)...Food was very good....The whole experience was authentic, and that is what we had hoped for!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToBeTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2008

These guys welcomed us into the sahara like we were their family. After travelling all over Morocco and being harrassed to the point of tears by many of the men, meeting these Berber people turned our trip around. They did everything they could to ensure we were treated with the greatest respect. They became great friends in three short days, and went out of their way to ensure we had an unforgetable experience. They would offer to make us food anytime of day, they sang for us, hung out and drank tea with us. When the Sahara sands ate my camera on our camel trek, Hassan drove into town and had it repaired for me free of charge, while he was in town, he bought our bus tickets for our departure, then woke up 3am the next morning (managed to make us nreakfast that early) to take us to town, where he arranged for another taxi to pick us up to take us to the bus station.

I highly reccomend this company, Mohamed, our guide, was amazing! He spoke more than 5 languages, and told us old Moroccan and Sahara tales and stories by the campfire at night....one of the best experiences of my entire life.

  • Liked — The people, culture, and experience
  • Disliked — Nothing to do with the accomodation, it was sooooooooo hot!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This is a good place to stay, can be recommended. The people who work there are really friendly, especially Hassan, who is ready to advice the guests and answer any questions. The rooms are clean, simple but nice, we stayed in winter, and there is no heating, so it was a bit chilly at night, but still ok, so it should be fine on any other months. They can organise different activities for the guests, from camel rides to 4X4 trips, and are very flexible. The prices include breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was so so, bread, jam and cold pancakes, the dinner pretty good, with the soup, salad, main course which was tagine, and fruit. After dinner, there are musicians performing in the lobby, which is nice, too.

  • Liked — the location, the staff
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

Do not hesitate - book this auberge now if you want to stay in authentic, beautiful Saharian accommodation for a very fair price.

Moha, Hamid and Hassan (three of nine siblings) will make your stay unforgettable. Welcoming, polite and fantastic 4x4 drivers, they'll arrange camel trips and 4x4 rides at the going rate (200 DH for 2 people sharing 1 camel for an hour at sunrise/sunset).

The viande hachee (ground meat) tagine was one of the best meals I've ever had in Morocco, the rooms were simple but elegant and you are literally steps from the sand dunes.

It's very simple - book this hotel immediately.

Finally, some tips if coming by CTM bus from Fez:

- The bus leaves from Fez to Rissani (30 mins grand taxi ride from Auberge du Sud) at 9pm daily and returns from Rissani to Fez at 8pm daily. The Auberge can reserve return tickets for you.

- Tell any people trying to sell you accommodation that you already have a reservation with Auberge du Sud.

- When you arrive at Rissani, don't take any crap (e.g. sit at my brother's restaurant for an hour then I'll take you) or "the auberge is on a dirt track and I can't take you." Sure, many grand taxis won't take you on the dirt track, but many will. Stick to your guns, confirm and triple-confirm your price and you'll be fine. The Auberge will also arrange to pick you up if you wish (although at a premium as they use a much more comfortable 4x4 vehicle).

  • Liked — The friendliness of all of the team
  • Disliked — The occasional sand storms - but that's not exactly their fault!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
5.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
519 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
316 reviews
7.8 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Sud

Property: Auberge du Sud
Address: Dunes d'Erg Chebbi Merzouga | Ras el Erg Chebbi Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sahara welcomes you to the most interesting place to stay while visiting the amazing dunes of Erg Chebbi South East Morocco . Auberge Cafe du Sud makes your journey into the heart of the Moroccan Sahara a truly memorable experience . Our rooms decorated with pure Saharan taste are indeed something to remember after you visit us . Auberge Cafe du Sud is located right on the edge of the biggest sand dunes of the whole northwest part of Africa called “The Dunes of Erg Chebbi”, having all the magic, wonderful and unique energy of the Sahara. Our Hotel has a restaurant with great Moroccan food with all the typical dishes of the region. Our friendly staff invites you to spend time with us and enjoy adventure or relaxation in the Sahara, the most mythic deserto f the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Sud Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing