We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most enchanting place in the desert”
Review of Auberge du Sud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Sud
Ranked #4 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Auberge du Sud gave us a truly memorable experience of the desert, much better than those we heard about from other tourists. The place is beautiful and authentic, with a pool overlooking the desert dunes. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and really give a sense of place. The camel journey and the stay in the berber tents in the middle of the desert was definitely the highlight of our holiday, everything was impeccable and the food cooked in the middle of the desert was delicious! The food at the auberge is also very good and the atmosphere will get you into the berber rhythm and make you forget all worries. Last but not least, the staff is hugely helpful. We had forgotten a souvenir and they had kept it for us, when I contacted them a week later. If you go to the desert, you must go to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Sud
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 587 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great place surrounded by Sahara dunes - a true oasis after a long way to Merzouga. Stunning view from a swimming pool to a desert. Excellent food and service.
We went for a overnight camel ride organised by the hotel which I can recommend. Just do not expect camels to be a comfortable vehicule :) Definitely would stay here again.

Just a small remark - they should pay more attention to the bathroom facilities at swimming pool and next to the dining room. Not always that clean I would expected in such a hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a long (long!) tour, the best thing to do is dive in a pool just in front of a dune. Dive, rest, take a mint tea and do not worry about past, future or anything. This place is great and deserves a visit. Advice: more atentation to rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank vitorcunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very special place right next to the sand dunes of the Sahara. While you where swimming you had the astonishing view. We really enjoyed our stay with our kids of 4 and 6 years old. Charming rooms.The people of the hotel make you feel at home and are very friendly. Nothing is too much. For the kids it was an unforgettable experience. playing in the sanddunes with there swimmingsuit on...
A place to recommend. In the evening we had a great meal under the stars in the desert. It makes you feel a 1001 night experience. Thank you. A place to remember and come back....

fam Derks Kampen / Holland

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klazina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It is a very charming place, where the crew is trying to give you the time of your life. The location is perfect by the sand dunes. They try and succeed to give you a lovely experience.
A very nice swimming pool with a view at the sand dunes. I can recommend this hotel with all my heart.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After a brake from two years we came back to this lovely hotel.It felt like coming home!
We got a warming welcome and felt so good in this charming place where the whole crew is trying to give you the time of your life.
We brought a couple of friends with us and the all unanimous had the same feeling.
The banquet for two nights in the Bedouin tent was copious and delicious. Some of the friends are no meat eaters and they got lovely vegetable dishes.
So nothing but praise for this Auberge du Sud its direction and complete crew!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were fine no special tip.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The place is absolutely amazing, right next to the dunes, beautifully decorated rooms, great service and good food. The pool with dunes views is awesome.

We had only a small issue: the price included a short sunset camel ride, which we did. It was just me, my wife and the camel guy. When we were up on the dunes, the guy pushed us to buy some ridiculously overprice handcrafts, which was upsetting. After we got back, I gave 20 dirhams as a tip to the guy, but, for my surprise, he refused it and demanded 40 dirhams! The ride was already paid, so I needed to pay nothing and he demanded 40 dirhams! It is nice to take pictures next to the camels, but to see the sunset and the beautiful dunes you'd better walk! The camel ride is very uncomfortable anyway...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
5.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
539 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
272 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Sud

Address: Dunes d'Erg Chebbi Merzouga | Ras el Erg Chebbi Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: $24 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sahara welcomes you to the most interesting place to stay while visiting the amazing dunes of Erg Chebbi South East Morocco . Auberge Cafe du Sud makes your journey into the heart of the Moroccan Sahara a truly memorable experience . Our rooms decorated with pure Saharan taste are indeed something to remember after you visit us . Auberge Cafe du Sud is located right on the edge of the biggest sand dunes of the whole northwest part of Africa called “The Dunes of Erg Chebbi”, having all the magic, wonderful and unique energy of the Sahara. Our Hotel has a restaurant with great Moroccan food with all the typical dishes of the region. Our friendly staff invites you to spend time with us and enjoy adventure or relaxation in the Sahara, the most mythic deserto f the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Sud Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing