We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Erg Chebbi”
Review of Auberge du Sud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merzouga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Sud
Ranked #4 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Erg Chebbi”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We turned up here on recommendation but without booking and all the rooms were fully booked, so we were offered accommodation in the Berber Camp next door. We were in two minds whether to stay, but we were offered lunch, which helped to make our minds up. The food was good wholesome stuff - fresh and well-presented. The staff were friendly and courteous and we decided to stay there overnight. Having done many desert excursions before, we didn't take advantage of the camels or quad bikes, but if you wanted these kinds of activities, the auberge will arrange it for you. We went on foot into the dunes to watch the sunset and returned in time for dinner - A big party had arrived and the patio was beautifully laid out with tables and a huge buffet. Again the food was great.

I can't comment on the en-suite rooms, but the tented camp was perfectly good. We used the communal showers and toilets, which was an acceptable standard comparable with most European camp-site facilities.

Even though it was very hot during our trip, we had a very comfortable night in the tent and in fact it was much better than many of the hotel rooms we had stayed in.

Breakfast was good - generous buffet spread with a typical range of OJ, coffee and bread with honey, jam etc.

The setting is amazing - Erg Chebbi is always impressive. The auberge is in a ksar style and decorated tastefully. It has a patio and swimming pool looking out over the dunes. The rooms are set within an inner courtyard and there are two communal rooms either side of the entrance hall.

I couldn't fault this auberge . The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us and didn't try to hard-sell any of the add-on activities. I would recommend making a booking though - it is a long drive across the desert piste!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbxprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    120
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
107
184
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is an excellent and well placed kasbah, in the desert boarder proximity,
with nice Morocco style rooms, various and plenty food offer,
excellent swimming pool, good position, good services, atmosphere,
you will feel good and free, good quality and moderate prices.

Room Tip: there are few rooms with special circular pattern nice decorated, it is better to see first what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We love everything about this place ...
Since the staf, the food ... breakfast by the pool and dunes ;) the fabulous mint tea ....
The rooms. The pool with that fantastic view to the dunes ....
Activities. The ride to the oasis, the family nomada, to music.
The tents in the desert. The sunrise and the sunset.
The immensity that invades us and the silence.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripsmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was by far the best experience in my Moroccan trip. I honestly couldn't imagine a better hotel to do a trek from. We arrived in our small hire car (driven very slowly over the off road, but we managed) a couple of hours before sunset. The trek set off around an hour before sunset, and we were treated to the sun setting slowly in the distance, and the orange and blue colours changing to black. The camel trek lasted around an hour and a half, and arrived at a very nice campsite. The camels are uncomfortable after that length of time! Dinner took quite a while, and we ate fairly late so I would advise having a snack before setting off. The food was well cooked and eating outside was very nice.

Some people slept outside under the stars, while we preferred being inside the tents. There are mattresses, which are pretty comfy, and blankets to keep you warm. We expected it to be a lot colder at night and were surprised at the warmth in the desert.

In the morning we woke up to see the sun rise over the dunes, had breakfast and set off back to the Auberge. When we got back we were given a room to shower and change and were allowed to use the pool for as long as we liked. Having a pool before or after the trek was much appreciated.

We didn't stay in the rooms, and as it is in the middle of the desert there is very little to do other than swim and sunbathe or go on a camel trek, so I wouldn't advise staying for more than a night either side of the trek.

Booking the trek by email was very easy, no deposit to pay and was at a very good price considering the quality and level of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here now several times and it feels like coming home, everybody is so welcoming, the view at the dunes is breathtaking, rooms clean and nicely decorated.
We've just been and we are missing it already!
We are foodlovers and the food is excellent : )
Please bring chocolate for Hassan the Camelman!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendynolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My expectations of this auberge, part of a tour, were for something better. It eventuated to be what I would call backpacker style auberge with plants neglected, sick or dying, hoses lying over walkways, dirty carpets, small dingy room with a bed as hard as a rock and a small bedside each (although there was also a dingy sitting room), two tiny windows so we could hardly see what we were doing, basic bathroom with water which ran cold or tepid, and the only working power point was above the sink in the bathroom, so that's where we had to recharge camera batteries etc. We managed to get the air-conditioning working, but it rumbled loudly all night. There was of course no wifi. The compensating factors were a pleasant pool area, very friendly young staff, and good food. The dunes were stunning at sunrise and sunset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussietraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

As you approach the Auberge after an hour's drive across a no-man's land where roads are non-existant, you cannot believe your eyes: a huge real-life sand castle at the edge of the Sahara dunes! It looks like an ancient fortress from the outside, but within the walls are authentically-decorated rooms and courtyards, one with a huge pool. I gasped in awe when I entered our room, just like something from Arabian Nights but with air conditioning and a rustic yet modern bathroom. Outside the hotel are Berbers with camels who will lead you on a ride into the spectacular dunes. There is also a Berber tent camp next door but I would not recommend "roughing it" there. Auberge du Sud is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and an incredible place to spend a night (or two if you just want to unwind). The only down was our unfriendly waiter who brought me orange juice when I ordered red wine (and I speak excellent French) and insisted we had ordered two bottles of water instead of just one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
5.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
522 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
318 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
7.8 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Sud

Property: Auberge du Sud
Address: Dunes d'Erg Chebbi Merzouga | Ras el Erg Chebbi Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sahara welcomes you to the most interesting place to stay while visiting the amazing dunes of Erg Chebbi South East Morocco . Auberge Cafe du Sud makes your journey into the heart of the Moroccan Sahara a truly memorable experience . Our rooms decorated with pure Saharan taste are indeed something to remember after you visit us . Auberge Cafe du Sud is located right on the edge of the biggest sand dunes of the whole northwest part of Africa called “The Dunes of Erg Chebbi”, having all the magic, wonderful and unique energy of the Sahara. Our Hotel has a restaurant with great Moroccan food with all the typical dishes of the region. Our friendly staff invites you to spend time with us and enjoy adventure or relaxation in the Sahara, the most mythic deserto f the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Sud Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing