We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed blessings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel has the very best spot in Merguza and is incredible value for money. We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it, though there are a few buts: The first night we were the only guests and therefore very inconvienent to have to bother them! The waiters were fine when they were busy but when the only guests everything was an effort! If you are familiar with Fawlty Towers!
This hotel with just a bit of rearrangeing, staff training and attention to detail could be outstanding. Having a hook to hang the shower nozzle on for instance, or hot water coming out of the shower!
The dessert dunes start at the front door. We were not really bothered by street sellars and the overnight camp in na tent was great.
We would/will definately go back as we will be able to get better food next door and yet enjoy the best spot. Go for the rooms facing the dunes.

Room Tip: If you book the tower rooms be sure to get a conformation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am sure that all of our hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Beware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated right on the edge of the sand dune. At the moment you step out the door you are in the sahara desert . It can`t get any better than that.
We drove from Skoura and it took us a bit more than 3 hours fast driving to get to the hotel. There is a sign on the road showing where the hotel is so try not to miss that one. The sign is shortly after the exit for Hassilabied near the Afriqiah petrol station. If you miss it you might end up in Merzouga .
We got a suite kasbah overlooking the desert. It was nice for a day or two . We did not like the bathroom ,it was old and not very clean. The staff was noce and the food was good.
We had a camel trip on the next day for 150Dhr per person and it takes you a bit into the desert. It was not as long as I wanted ,could have been deeper into the desert but you still get a feel of riding a camel through the dunes.
We spent only one day here because we wanted to go back to marrakech on the next day which took us like 9 hours with some stops here and there.
I wish we had on emore day to explore the villages in the area and spend more time in the desert.
Would i stay at this hotel again - yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear customer. I appreciate your comments about our hotel. It makes us feel proud to cater to the needs of our customers in the best way we can. If you are coming back to our resort, do not hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here in July this year only for one night on a shared dessert tour hotel upgrade only 4 other people were staying here & two of them went over night to his desert camp not high season he told me. I cannot understand some of the comments by others I know people have different views but to say the owner was rude and can't speak English is utter rubbish he could speak English better than me & was very polite 1 of the hotel workers even better than him we sat up half the night chatting as I did not want to do desert camp done it before in other countries but I could have stayed here a week. I walked out in the desert at 4AM to watch the sun rise not a sole to been seen. Views of the desert from the hotel are stunning lovely pool not full of sand not when I was there anyway aircon was better than my hotel in Marrakech rooms were nice & had my best dinner here during my stay in Morocco breakfast was also good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone & without doubt stay here again. As for letting someone's tyres down i'm sorry just cannot believe it. Thanks all the staff at the Kanz erremal for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel faces onto the dunes and even had a pool facing them too. Plenty of chill out areas, nice decor, authentic Kasbah style and good sized rooms. It just needs some attention to detail eg. Our room had no soap or shampoo or towels and was cleaned only once in 3 days. I'm guessing this is a management issue??
Pool was freezing but was cleaned daily by the staff and was a great photo opp.
The dinners here were served in the lovely inner courtyard and were tasty and large portions. Breakfast was decent but nothing special- get there early before the flies arrive!!
Be warned- if you don't have a car, it's very difficult to get around Merzouga!!! It's very spread out.
For the price I think it offers great value and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2000scotth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017


Dear Traveler. Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with us. It helps us improve every day and we take into account all the mentioned aspects. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Probably not the place to visit Morocco in July or August but in early April it was amazing. The road across the desert takes a few bumps but on arrival you are resting on the dunes. The pool was cold but the showers had lots of hot water. Our exhausted children slept in tents outside giving the adults a peaceful night. Meals were fine traditional Moroccan fare with a local twist. Helpful staff. Beer only available so if you want wine or something stronger stock up and be prepared to watch stars galore and the Space Station glide slowly across the sky.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the dunes. This also avoids the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmacAmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We (two young Caucasian females) travelled to merzouga prepared to stay for three days (which subsequently reduced to two days).The hotel had come highly recommended. The location is superb, you walk out of the front of the hotel onto the sand dunes and we had an amazing view from our room. However we were very disappointed by the very unfriendly welcome we received and we were treated mostly with disdain throughout our stay. It was difficult to arrange activities but the sunrise camel ride was worth the effort. The food was copious but not tasty. The room was big with lovely views and was comfortable although not luxurious. The pool was green and not inviting.
We are laid back travellers and did not expect a 5 star hotel but we were very disappointed and would not recommend friends or family to stay here, mainly due to the unfriendly atmosphere. However the sand dunes of the Sahara are definitely worth the effort to get to merzouga, spectacular!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yublocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to everyone. On the other hand, I personally supervise them to be fulfilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was a very tradtional,nicely laid out,straight out onto sand,camels and swimming pool :-) The main man tended to all our needs at all time.In fact we think he single handedly run the hotel to a high A1 standard,nothing was to much trouble for him ;-) the hotel was like walking back a 100 years but with all the modern things you need..Yeah just follow the signs out of the last town/village for Merzouga and the Sahara and keep you eyes open for the hotel sign,then turn left off the road and drive into the desert and it's a mile or two in front of you :-))

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the desert and the pool,camel trains out there to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta-Kanz, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear Customer. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am sure that all of our hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Beware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.5 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hassilabied
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 23 in Merzouga
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
1.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 23 in Merzouga
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal

Address: Touz Azi El Bide, Merzouga, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range: $38 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanz Erremal is located at the base of the desert dunes, surrounded by the fascinating landscape of Erg Chebbi, in the southeast of Morocco. It is located 36 kilometres from Rissani, a 7-minute drive from the centre of Merzouga (free shuttle between Merzouga-hotel) and only a stone's throw away of the famous dunes of Erg Chebbi. Kanz Erremal has a haimas camp and also organizes a ridding a camel trip in order to spend a night in the desert. Furthermore, it organizes seven-road trips to explore the spectacular places that the landscape offers. The Hotel has the structure of a typical kasbah: it is made of adobe mud and hay. The rooms have a traditional decoration, typical from the region. They have air conditioning, free wifi access, bathroom and great external views, most of them to the dunes. The pool is located in front of the dunes, so swimmers have the impression to swim in the middle of the desert. The hotel offers a good example of traditional Moroccan cuisine based on natural ingredients: hariras (soups), vegetable tagins, chicken, beef, lamb, varied couscous, raw and cooked salads, skewers, Berber pizza... In short, Kanz Erremal is a place of peace and authenticity and a good site in order to discover the spectacular golden sand of the Sahara dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanz Erremal Merzouga
Kanz Erremal Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing