We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"beautiful life"”
Review of Merzouga Desert

Merzouga Desert
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.69*
and up
Camel Treks in the Moroccan Desert departing from Merzouga
More Info
$197.40*
and up
Full-Day Merzouga Desert Private Tour from Errachidia
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"beautiful life"”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Dear travelers,
If your want see Arabic-African culture go to Merzouga it`s beautiful place in morocco and cheap place,I`m sure you find your peace there,just be ready for long trip/driver/bus but this adventure of visit morocco,look here some videos from there by my camera .enjoy your trip.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HFfduk_MpU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsCf6s0bCMQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVQ3BZF572w
take care.
peace

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank citizenwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    116
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best bit of desert in Morocco”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want to see the desert, go here and no where else. See the dunes at sunrise if you can, or at sunset.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like living out a postcard image”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

There is no way to describe this place but surreal. The views were just stunning & so unique. I strongly recommend:
a.) star gazing in the dunes at night
b.) camel ride to watch the sunrise or sunset
c.) heading into the oasis between the town & the dunes for some 'chill-time' - we bought a watermelon & sat in the shade of the palm trees to eat it
d.) 4x4 tours around the desert - our Riad (Riad Mamouche) had tours lasting about 5hrs for around €20 per person

And most importantly, I recommend staying there for more than just a few days!! We had only 2 days in Merzouga, and it was definitely not enough time!! There were so many more things we wanted to do, but just didn't get time to do! Also if you stay at a Riad like Mamouche, it's a great place to relax & take some time out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ET_D92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Like no other experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The endless, drifting sand is amazing in its simplicity. I can think of no better place to enjoy a sunrise / sunset.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Small piece of Sahara”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice to visit, gives you a nice desert experience, but making a desert trip with overnight in a nomad camp I don t think is necessary. If you walk 5 minute from merzouga center you in desert. With a fourwheel drive riding in the neu=ighboorhood is superb.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robertcoumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merzouga Desert also viewed

Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Merzouga, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Merzouga Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing