We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge of the Sahara!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On the edge of the Sahara!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a fantastic place to visit, everybody has a picture of the Sahara in their imagination and it really exists here!
The hotel is wonderfully atmospheric, completely in tune with its amazing location. The staff make sure that guests get the full Sahara experience, whether through excellent Moroccan food (no apparent choice at dinner), attractively dark and colourful rooms and, of course, the opportunity to head off in to the desert on a camel with Tuareg guides for a night under the stars. Really, the whole place is UNMISSABLE!
This is one of the best places that I have stayed...highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 15 is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin2011186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    136
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
237
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We did not stay in the hotel itself but had booked the camel trek with overnight stay in the desert camp and it was an unforgettable experience. We securely stored our luggage in the hotel and only brought the things we needed for the trek in small backpacks. The camels were very well kept and in great shape. The trek itself was very enjoyable and just before we arrived at the camp we stopped and climbed to the top of the dunes to watch the sunset. It was amazing and we got to take some beautiful pictures. When we arrived in the camp we had a bit of time to kill until dinner which we spent drinking mint tea and getting to know the group. The food was nice and tasty and I was delighted that they also catered for myself and the other vegetarian in the group. After dinner we spent some time sitting around the camp fire chatting to our guides and asking them lots of serious and less serious questions about the camels, Bedouin life and the desert and its animals. We had spotted a lot of different animal prints around the camp earlier that evening and it was very interesting to learn which animals they belonged to. When we finally went to bed it was very chilly (yes the desert gets very cold at night in February even though the days are warm) so we were delighted we had thought of bringing our sleeping bags. However grateful I was for the warmth of my sleeping bag I heard from fellow campers the next morning that they had actually slept well enough under the blankets so don't panic if you can't bring a sleeping bag. We got up very early to catch the sunrise and it was absolutely amazing. Make sure you don't sleep in as watching the sun rise over the dunes and listening to the noise of the camels is definitely a once in a lifetime experience. After that there was more tea before it was time to leave the camp and head back to the hotel where we joined the other hotel guests for a very nice breakfast. If you are not a guest at Kasbah Mohayut the hotel lets you use one of the rooms so you can have a shower and relax for a while before you continue your journey. We stayed in the room for quite a while to shower and charge our mobile phones and nobody hassled us to leave the room at all which was great. The staff and the hotel itself were excellent and should we ever return to Morocco we would certainly stay here again. It was definitely one of my highlights of our trip around Morocco.

Room Tip: We only used the room for a couple of hours after the camel trek so I can't really say anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohamerzouga_Morocco, Owner at Hotel Kasbah Mohayut, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the very descriptive and positive review that you have given on the Kasbah mohayut, it was a pleasure to read it. I am very glad that the staff was both friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the trips they set up for you. I hope that you and your family are doing well, and that you will return to Morocco very soon.
Moha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved everything about the Kasbah Mohayut, from the pool, to the food, to the service. The sand dunes are right behind the hotel and the hotel even let us retain our room while we went on our camel trek, allowing us to shower and pack up upon our return from a night in the dessert. We had a lovely room (number 18 I believe) with two beds, AC, a fridge and its own private rooftop terrace. The only thing to note is that the washroom is through a curved hallway but didnt have a door and the Wifi didn't appear to reach to our room but could be accessed from all the common areas. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCanada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Kasbah Moyahut is just like a oasis in the desert. Near of thr dunes, is a great place to scape from the hot of sahara. The breakfast and dinner was excellent. Moyahut pick us in the bus station and leave us in the station for free and always was very helpful and also scheduled the camel ride during the sunset for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't planned on staying here but were having trouble finding the place we wanted to go to and were approached by a young man on a motorbike touting for business at Kasbah Mohayut. It was very hot (42 degrees) and we were tired so decided to have a look. We were not disappointed. The pool was clean and well utilised by us and the air conditioning a welcome relief from the heat. The Kasbah is right at the edge of the desert, the rooms clean and comfortable. We didn't eat here except for breakfast, which was unremarkable. The staff were friendly enough.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annelenert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, reasonably maintained, spacious rooms (with A/C) decorated with rural taste, friendly and helpful staff (they will arrange any activity you might like).
The dunes are just in front of the hotel you can either enjoy them taking a camel ride or by having a short walk.
There is also a small pool which is a pleasant plus (unless it's extremely windy as it often happens during the summer afternoons).
Breakfast is abundant and the food at dinner is quite good (obviously typical Moroccan).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 50viaggiallanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Right at the desert doors stands one of many sleeping facilities in and around Merzouga. Mohayut is a good pick because it is so close to the first dunes that you can walk right to them from your room to enjoy watching the sun rise at dawn over a sea of sand. A fun experience is also to ride a camel at sun set. Rooms are comfy, but rustic furnished with traditional taste, hot and cold water available, AC, wifi in common areas, a small swimming pool (remember we are in the desert, water is of short supply!). Half board: dinner menu is ok, breakfast ok too. There is a secured parking area where cars and motorcycles can be safely left overnight. The staff is very helpful to arrange a guide and/or a camel ride. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Traditional comfort at the edge of the desert. But if you want experience sleeping under the stars y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
1.1 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasbah Mohayut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Property: Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Address: MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco | MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kasbah Mohayut 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Mohayut welcomes you in a peaceful setting at the foothills of the high dunes of Merzouga. It is the perfect choice to combine relaxation, authenticity and adventure! The Kasbah offers spacious rooms and suites set around the swimming pool . Each room combines typical Moroccan features and modern facilities such as air conditioning.For your comfort, the hotel features a restaurant serving typical Berber specialities and terraces from which to admire the starry sky at night. During your stay, discover the magical atmosphere of the desert: the Kasbah has a bivouac in the desert, two hours away on dromedary's back. The hotel offers many day trip opportunities. Hotel has 20 rooms, and offer for all our guest free WIFI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Mohayut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Mohayut Merzouga
Kasbah Mohayut Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing