We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camel Trek Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Camel Trek Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

As if our amazing camel trek experience wasn't enough, the hotel was also perfect! They gave us a room to leave our things in while we spent the night in the desert and shower in the following morning. There was a beautiful pool to cool off in and the food was great. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ameckhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    130
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
236
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reignier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

For the third time I spent a week in this Kasbah Mohayut because I find it very very good !!! Everyone is friendly, there is no problem of communication because you can always find someone who speaks your language (german, italian, spanish ...). The rooms are well arranged, the breakfast is royal and the meals excellent ! The whole decoration of the Kasbah is beautifull and it is a real pleasure for the eyes,like the sight to the dunes because the Kasbah is at their foot. Well, I am sure that I will be back again in this place because I know that I will ever find the same quality !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did not actually stay in the hotel but took the overnight camel (or more accurately, dromedary) trek from there. I was a bit leery about the camel trek but it was great fun and I highly recommend it. We arrived a few hours before the trek which began a bit before dusk. We were given a hotel room to store our luggage in overnight and were able to use the pool, which is nice on a hot day in the desert. The room seemed fine and the pool was nice. It is about a 45 minute camel ride to the camp and not only was it fun to ride the camels, but I was amazed by the sand dunes as this was the first time I had been in the desert. The camp was nicely equipped. Our tent had a large comfortable bed. The tagine prepared for dinner was surprisingly good considering we were in the middle of the desert. Also, there is "running" water and a flush toilet.

We happened to be there on a full moon and it was lovely to explore the dunes by moonlight.

We returned to the hotel the next morning, were given breakfast, and were able to shower in our room before setting off. As often happens, our time in Morocco was limited but I felt that the overnight camel trek in Merzouga was enough time to experience a "taste" of the desert. The drive there and away was beautiful and quite the experience in itself.

I was a bit nervous about the somewhat strange sounding directions the hotel gave us but it was very easy to find. I had read some old information about the roads and was a little nervous about driving there in a small car, but there is a nice highway to Merzouga and the gravel road to the Hotel Kasbah was easily traversed by car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAabG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 3 days at the Kasbah Mohayut in September 2012.
Everything was amazing from the hotel, food, rooms, camel trek into the desert (1 night in their camp in the dunes), and of course the service. Everyone went out of their way to make our experience a memorable one. They have their own camels and arrange tours to their own desert camp, which was so fun and out of the ordinary. The dunes are truly magical.
Would recommend to anyone whose looking for an authentic Moroccan experience, one that you'll remember for years to come. Would return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned here for a second visit this year and it was still very good. The location overlooking the dunes is great, particularly for eating the sumptious breakfast on the roof terrace. The staff were, as ever, very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent room which was very spacious and with a huge bathroom and great shower.
We wanted a 4x4 trip into the desert and arranged this ourselves by talking with people in the village - which worked out cheaper than through the hotel.
The driver we hired is called Hmad Oaali - mobile 0666 039 172 and you can just ask for him anywhere in the village as he lives there with his family. He has a white Landrover which is great for actually going into the dunes and you can negotiate a price with him for exactly where yolu want to go,etc. He does not speak much English but managed very well with my schoolgirl French! We can thoroughly recommend him - we enjoyed the best 5 hours we've ever had in the desert and Hmad took us to some new locations where few tourists go. He is a charming man and, as we are keen on photography, found some great shots for us and gave us lots of useful information about the places we visited.

Room Tip: Check the room you are offered before committing yourselves to it as each one is individually fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Room was clean and well appointed, and the hotel itself has very nice grounds/pool. Taking a hearty breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the dunes and oasis was very peaceful and really made us feel like we were getting the full Saharan experience! The Mohayut crew organized a one-night camel trek for us out into the dunes, which was well worth the time and money. It included a camel ride out to a prepared "Berber camp", complete with a tajine dinner, snowboarding down the sand dunes, and tents with real beds and mattresses. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhensarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacko, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My son and I have spent 3 days in the Merzouga Dunes at the Kasbah Kohayt, and we loved it.
They happily made a birthday cake with candles for my son's bday on the 24 December. The rooms are nice and spacious and everything is made for us to enjoy our stay.
The food was delicious and their roast chicken is unforgettable!
The camel ride was great too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
1.1 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#8 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasbah Mohayut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Property: Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Address: MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco | MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kasbah Mohayut 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Mohayut welcomes you in a peaceful setting at the foothills of the high dunes of Merzouga. It is the perfect choice to combine relaxation, authenticity and adventure! The Kasbah offers spacious rooms and suites set around the swimming pool . Each room combines typical Moroccan features and modern facilities such as air conditioning.For your comfort, the hotel features a restaurant serving typical Berber specialities and terraces from which to admire the starry sky at night. During your stay, discover the magical atmosphere of the desert: the Kasbah has a bivouac in the desert, two hours away on dromedary's back. The hotel offers many day trip opportunities. Hotel has 20 rooms, and offer for all our guest free WIFI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Mohayut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Mohayut Merzouga
Kasbah Mohayut Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing