We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, comfort and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location, comfort and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned here for a second visit this year and it was still very good. The location overlooking the dunes is great, particularly for eating the sumptious breakfast on the roof terrace. The staff were, as ever, very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent room which was very spacious and with a huge bathroom and great shower.
We wanted a 4x4 trip into the desert and arranged this ourselves by talking with people in the village - which worked out cheaper than through the hotel.
The driver we hired is called Hmad Oaali - mobile 0666 039 172 and you can just ask for him anywhere in the village as he lives there with his family. He has a white Landrover which is great for actually going into the dunes and you can negotiate a price with him for exactly where yolu want to go,etc. He does not speak much English but managed very well with my schoolgirl French! We can thoroughly recommend him - we enjoyed the best 5 hours we've ever had in the desert and Hmad took us to some new locations where few tourists go. He is a charming man and, as we are keen on photography, found some great shots for us and gave us lots of useful information about the places we visited.

Room Tip: Check the room you are offered before committing yourselves to it as each one is individually fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    118
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
88
213
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Room was clean and well appointed, and the hotel itself has very nice grounds/pool. Taking a hearty breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the dunes and oasis was very peaceful and really made us feel like we were getting the full Saharan experience! The Mohayut crew organized a one-night camel trek for us out into the dunes, which was well worth the time and money. It included a camel ride out to a prepared "Berber camp", complete with a tajine dinner, snowboarding down the sand dunes, and tents with real beds and mattresses. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhensarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacko, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My son and I have spent 3 days in the Merzouga Dunes at the Kasbah Kohayt, and we loved it.
They happily made a birthday cake with candles for my son's bday on the 24 December. The rooms are nice and spacious and everything is made for us to enjoy our stay.
The food was delicious and their roast chicken is unforgettable!
The camel ride was great too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I just loved this hotel,I could have stayed longer if we had more time.The hotel is well located and the staff is great ,I loved the food ,The night that we spent in the tent was great .I'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joba1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by all features of this hotel.The staff were very helpful,from start to end.The food and service in the restaurant was top notch and the wine list was quite good.The waiter "Yidir" was very open to making a few small changes to the menu.As a vegetarian.I find this extremely helpful.
We definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Kasbah style hotel with beautiful courtyard and a roof with a view to the dunes.
They serve Breakfast Buffet with a lot of food (many kind of jam, Cereals, fruits...) but the bread is not so good.
In the room there was electric kettle and small refrigerator. there was no wi-fi connection in the room only in the lounge.
It is also recommended to take mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Even though you have the option of coming back to the kasbah to spend the night instead of sleeping in a Berber tent (or out under the stars) in the Sahara... don't do it! The kasbah is charming and the staff are plenty helpful and friendly (I left a t-shirt in the desert tent and they fetched it back for me without a grumble as I was departing).

The property is a bit old but comfortable enough for a dip in the pool, a nap, a shower, and a change as you prepare to go into the desert and to freshen up as you come back for breakfast in the morning and prepare to head back to civilization. The real highlight is the trek into the desert on camel back. The guide we had was superb! He didn't speak much English or French, and I speak so-so French but we had a great time exchanging facts about ourselves, hiking up the dunes in the moonlight, sipping mint tea under the stars, and just enjoying the stillness of the desert.

For those of you worried about "camping" - fear not. There is a fully functional flush toilet and sink with running water at the camp. You'll be more than fine :) The food is tasty, there are no scary animals in the desert, and it's beautiful to sleep under the stars. Just ask your guide to bring the beds out of the tents.

On our trek back in the morning, our guide stopped often to point out animal tracks and he even managed to catch a beautifully colored sand fish (lizard). I had so much fun!

Last tip though: I wouldn't spend more than 1 night out in the desert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
3.8 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nasser Palace
Nasser Palace
#1 of 4 in Hassilabied
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kasbah Mohayut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kasbah Mohayut

Property: Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Address: MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco | MERZOUGA , Province errachidia sud maroccco, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kasbah Mohayut 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Mohayut welcomes you in a peaceful setting at the foothills of the high dunes of Merzouga. It is the perfect choice to combine relaxation, authenticity and adventure! The Kasbah offers spacious rooms and suites set around the swimming pool . Each room combines typical Moroccan features and modern facilities such as air conditioning.For your comfort, the hotel features a restaurant serving typical Berber specialities and terraces from which to admire the starry sky at night. During your stay, discover the magical atmosphere of the desert: the Kasbah has a bivouac in the desert, two hours away on dromedary's back. The hotel offers many day trip opportunities. Hotel has 20 rooms, and offer for all our guest free WIFI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kasbah Mohayut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Mohayut Merzouga
Kasbah Mohayut Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing