We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A truly humbling experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez les Habitants
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly humbling experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My family and boyfriend had stayed with Ahmed and his family a month earlier and shared that it would be a truly humbling experience, but I didn't realize just how at home I would feel. Ahmed's a wise and caring individual with a beautiful family that will make you feel like special guests rather than tourists. My boyfriend and I cannot wait to visit them all again and feel the magic we felt laying under a blanket of stars in the Sahara!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
62
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

To be in the desert in the hands of an experienced and caring person as Ahmed, is a blessing. Very welcoming family atmosphere, warm acceptance, beautiful house, a place that I would love to go back to, and stay longer than just a night. Ahmed is always responding fast to emails and phone calls, very accessible, helpful and conscientious. The fact that he has provided the GPS coordinates of his place on his web page, made it easy for us to find him (because when you ask locally for directions many people will try to send you to another place to steal the business). The night at the desert was a fantastic experience and Ahmed made sure all our needs are met with excellent food, plenty of water and a sweet camp atmosphere. The attention we received was truly memorable in addition to the time we had to explore the dunes at sunset and sunrise. Thank you to your family and everyone caring for the camels!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margarita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

After much research we chose Quiet Merzouga and Chez les Habitants for our much anticipated visit to the desert. This was the perfect choice for us. Ahmed and his family are the warmest most welcoming hosts possible. We felt as if we were invited family guests, not paying tourists. Our rooms were spotless, showers hot & the atmosphere...perfect! We enjoyed spending our time with all the members of his family, sharing meals together and some great conversations. For an authentic experience you will not forget, do not hesitate to book with Ahmed. Hugs to all and much happiness. Thanks from our family to yours!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

From the first email contact I had with Ahmed, he was warm and welcoming which was exactly how he greeted us from the bus. His family were also very caring and ensured that we were well fed and had plenty of water for our camel trek. Our Sahara Desert experience was everything that we imagined. Huge dunes of golden sand, Berber pizza, friendly hospitality and a host who wanted us to have the best time possible. Thanks Ahmed...we'll never forget these couple of days and never forget you. Best wishes to you and all the family. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ahmed's family home is a authentic Berber house that was clean, comfortable and cool during the...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LPDave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a perfect stay in Ahmed house. The place is perfect, you feel like at home. You can walk to the dunes from the house. Ahmed helped us with everything, always carring about us. He gave us his heart during all the stay. We had the great opportunity to share time with Ahmed family (delicious tajine) and we will never forget conversations with Ahmed: he is such a good person. For sure, the most authentic place to stay in Merzouga. We will be back. Thank you Ahmed & family!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank r8freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I had a dream to go to the Sahara desert from my younger years. And at last I made it. Everything was more than expected.

Ahmed listens to what his guests really want to do in the desert and makes a plan.

Breathtaking scenery of the great Erg chebbi dunes, camel ride and trekking to the border town, wonderful nights in the tent in the dunes, sound of wind, silence, stars, sometimes sandstorms...
Every moment was priceless.

But best of all, the days in Chez les Habitants with Ahmed and his family. I can never thank you enough. I'll be back. I always hope you all are happy.

And also thank you very very much to whom I met in Chez les Habitants and tent in the dunes. Wonderful berber people and travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank masa_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

女一人旅で利用しました。以前宿泊された方の話を聞いてはいたのですが、やはり砂漠で一人は不安でした。しかし本当に居心地が良くて、前日夜入り、Said君とマンツーマンの2泊3日の砂漠ツアー(アルジェリアとの国境付近まで行きました)、翌日追加でホテルに1泊滞在しました。

ラクダ、ベルベルピザ、星空の下のテント...イメージしてた砂漠体験がそのまま現実となりました。メルズーガ発着バスの送迎、熱いシャワー、綺麗な部屋は申し分ありません。でもそれ以上にAhmed氏のホスピタリティに心動かされました!!ホテル滞在の際には家族と一緒に食事をしたので、ベルベル人家族を直に知ることができました。優しくてとても楽しい家族です。

夜に出歩くとメルズーガの街の明かりが煌々としているのが見えますが、このティハリエ村は直ぐ隣村にも関わらず夜は静まり返っています。遥々遠くまで来るのですから、喧騒から離れて是非砂漠を独り占めして下さい!また来ます!

I was organized 2 nights 3 days trekking in the desert and I stayed 2 nights at the hotel. I am a woman traveling alone, so I was a little worry about staying in the desert. But everything was sooooo great!! Camel riding, Berber dishes, sleeping in the tent under the stars.. These are what I expected in advance. Picking me up at the bus stop in Merzouga, hot shower, clean room are nice. But more, I was impressed in Ahmed's hospitality! I ate dishes with his family, so I could feel the natural Berber life. They are very kind, funny and amazing!!
In the night, I saw brilliant light of Merzouga. But at Tiharien here, it's very quiet and dark. Don't be hurry in your trip and feel your slow emotion with them!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fumi1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#12 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bivouac Merzouga Experience
0.3 mi away
Guest House Merzouga
Guest House Merzouga
#3 of 83 in Merzouga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Property: Chez les Habitants
Address: 63 Tiharien 4km Road Taouz boite | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 4 rooms can accommodate 10 persons, somes have private toilet and shower,somes have shared ,Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden, you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing