We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Berber Humanity.”
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez les Habitants
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was great experience at Chez les Habitants with Ahmed Amraoui family. I stayed 3 nights with them. The Shower room is large and comfortable. The clean room and sahara tent room are plenty. Their Berber Tajine and Couscuos, Pizza, Breakfast and mint tea were so delicious. Their hospitality is really great!!!

Ahmed Amraoui(He is wearing blue turban and blue clothing.)is very great guy. His father Hassan has clear eyes. His mother Fatima is understanding mom. His grand father is very strong man. His sisters and brothers are very kindly. Anyway, Thank you so much the great experience in Merzouga.

You must book on your schedule with this great B&B and their desert tour!!! :)))

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank daisuke__a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

The people are nice, warm and welcoming. The food is amazing, probably the best breakfast and the best tajin I had in Morocco! Ahmed and his family are wonderfull hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Berna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Chez les Habitants was a lovely home after trekking through the desert with Ahmed. Washing away the sand in the clean showers felt great, and afterwards we sat down in a tent filled with cushions to eat some lovely Berber pizza and look at some photos we had made. The tent even had WiFi so some of us could check the results of their examinations.

When Ahmed saw we had a flat tire before leaving, he got in the car with us to bring us to a mechanic who could fix it up for us. When he noticed afterwards that we still had a bit of time left, he even took us to a neighbouring village to watch the beautiful music played by descendants of nomads from Mali. He truly went out of his way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible for us, and his family did the same.

We have already planned to return to Ahmed some day.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
7  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chez les Habitants is a special place where you can explore the desert and Amazihr village life in a true way. Also, it is a place where you can explore nature at it highest. For me, the Amraoui family offers me my second home: after three visits I still can't wait to go back. Ahmed Amraoui is a passionated person and guide, eager to share is knowledge and experience with every traveller. The desert is his home and he knows a lot about the history and treasures of his environment.

In the guest house, his wonderful family welcomes you like you are a member of their own and makes your stay a once in a lifetime experience. If you want to have a special experience in Merzouga's Erg Chebbi desert, don't hasitade and contact Ahmed Amraoui!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Being for the second time with Ahmed and his family, we felt like part of the family. Walking through the desert, eating lovely berber pizza at Youssef and everywhere you come, you feel very welcome!
Thank you Ahmed, Fatima, Hassan, Aisha and Zahra! See you next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My experience with Ahmed, his family, and Chez les Habitants was completely unique and the highlight of my stay in Morocco. I left Merzouga feeling that I had truly experienced Merzouga and desert life. For anyone seeking a hand-on, native cultural experience, this is it! Yes, I will come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank givethistosusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

For starters it's not located in Merzouga but a smaller nearby village Tiharien which has, in my opinion, a more genuine feel to it. You don't see any tourists here. You get to know the family, the father who's always smiling, the mother who makes the best Berber pizza en his little brother Mohammed. After 24 hours in the desert you can take a great shower here and relax afterwards in a beautiful tent in the courtyard. I will definitely return Insha'Allah.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mathiasrosseel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
562 reviews
4.9 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 111 in Merzouga
42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 85 in Merzouga
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
0.7 mi away
Caravanserai Luxury Desert Camps
5 mi away
Guest House Merzouga
Guest House Merzouga
#3 of 85 in Merzouga
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Address: 4km After Merzouga Centre Into the South Road Taouz N13,Ksar Tiharien Boite 63 | 31°04'02.4n 4°00'59.6w, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range: $29 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 4 rooms can accommodate 10 persons, with private toilet and shower,with air condition ,Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden, dryer hair ,you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing