We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience of the village life.”
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez les Habitants
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

To really experience the desert and its people i would highly recommend to stay in a village and the chez Les habitants was the perfect accommodation. Its authenticity and charm provided a relaxing and comfortable stay in Tiharien. Ahmed has great knowledge of the incredible desert landscape and life and is very accommodating to make your stay that extra bit wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gennas404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

My original plan was to stay only a few days at chez les habitantes and do a quick trip to the dunes. but I loved everything an ended up staying for almost a week! Ahmed and his family are great hosts, really making you feel like you're part of their family. The food was great, room was big and clean and you can use the kitchen at all times. Ahmed is a wonderful guide, with lots of knowledge and stories, and he wil show you real village life, away from all the busy and tourist packed cities. Enjoy the peace and tranquility and the millions stars you get to see at night, I know that i can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for an authentic Bedouin, but comfortable stay, go to Chez les Habitantes. I was here with my boyfriend and we enjoyed both the stay guest house and the tour in desert a lot. The guest house is newly renovated and Ahmed is a great tourist guide. I think with him you experience the real desert life!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our best stay experience filled with a difference, a warm family welcome , walk in the village with the local berbers, climbing the dunes to watch the sunset and Dinner under the stars with one of the best veg tangine and harira soup we had on the entire trip in morocco. The Guesthouse is well maintained with traditional moroccon feel.Thanks to the family to give us such a memorable day in desert.Simply superb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Chez les habitantes was a great place to stay in desert of Marocco. I spent there with my son a few days and enjoyed of very friendly and nice atmosphere. We both highly recommend the guesthouse! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 79marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

last time we visited merzouga we met ahmed . really a very nice and open mind person, he show us soo many interesting things about the desert ,we learned from him a big history and cluture about the desert ...if anybody want to visit merzouga "chez les habitantes " is the deriction

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachid1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We (me and my boyfriend) stayed in Merzouga for two nights and it was incredible time. I can´t wait to return! Dont bother looking at any of the other accommodation options in Mezouga. My boyfriend and I spent hours with our friends, learning about Moroccan history and Bedouin culture. We eating delicious home cooked meals, food was brilliant at all times! :) We met wonderful family (beatiful Aicha!!!) and we are confident that we can recommend the place!!!

Ann and Jacob

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anna akulska a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
562 reviews
4.9 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 111 in Merzouga
42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 85 in Merzouga
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
0.7 mi away
Caravanserai Luxury Desert Camps
5 mi away
Guest House Merzouga
Guest House Merzouga
#3 of 85 in Merzouga
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Address: 4km After Merzouga Centre Into the South Road Taouz N13,Ksar Tiharien Boite 63 | 31°04'02.4n 4°00'59.6w, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range: $29 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 4 rooms can accommodate 10 persons, with private toilet and shower,with air condition ,Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden, dryer hair ,you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing