We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Kasbah Tamariste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kasbah Tamariste
Ranked #72 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very good location (better than Merzouga, close to camels and dunes), value for money, nice rooms, ideal to start individual or organised trip to desert, good outdoor breakfest with dunes viev, very helpful owner. My best staying in Morroco, great adventure on desert.
Highly reccomended !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cavalcanti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best experience we had in Morocco was with Auberge camping Tamariste. The staff went to great lengths to make sure we could gain insight into Berber life. The rooms were very comfortable, the food was delicious (with the biggest serving sizes!). The staff organised a one day tour of the area which we thoroughly enjoyed. We wish we had have met the owner Laxen earlier as he would have made a perfect tour guide for a longer trip around the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juice551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the hostel for one night, the bedroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. During the day Laxen (hostel owner) took us for a 4x4 tour of the desert. This tour was probably the best experience I had in Morocco, at a very cheap price. It was also at our own pace and more relaxing than the other tours I had done.
The location of the hostel was also amazing which allowed for many short walks to the sand dunes.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurtsalvestrobooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the hostel for one night as we were traveling to fes (wished we stayed longer). Auberge tamariste is located right on the edge of the Sahara desert. Literally a few minutes walk to the transition of the sand dunes, which is not possible from merzouga.

We were greeted by the owner laxen, a Berber who was raised in the region. He is the most trustworthy person you will meet in morocco. He will never push you to buy anything you don't want, and will allow you to do as you wish. The hostel was really nice. Fast wifi, hot water and cosy communal area. Meals were affordable/delicious and servings were very generous.

Laxen also showed us the local supermarket where his friend allowed us to buy fresh produce at local prices. We were also given a late checkout as we had a 7pm night bus to catch.

The hostel can also arrange 4x4 tours (run by laxen) and gave us insight to local Berber familes, Sudanese community (black village), fossilised lake (ammonite), lunch in the dunes all at your own pace and more. Laxen gave us honest prices and did not try to charge us tourist prices.

Make sure you try the Berber pizza or hire a quad or dune buggy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moil60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Tamariste for 5 nights over New Years and had a perfect stay. Hassan and his family are perfect hosts and made us feel extremely welcome during our stay. The location is unbelievable. You are literally in the foothills of the dunes and it gives you a sense of independence because you can walk into the Sahara without a guide everytime.

The communal room and the bedroom were very comfortable and clean. We felt completely at home there and the food they provide is outstanding! There was a nice atmosphere as there were couples, families and travellers so it was a really nice mix. The price is brilliant and it definitely represents the best deal in Merzouga.

The hostel were really helpful with taxis which removed the stress of getting to and from the bus station in Rissani.

Most importantly was the quality of the trip into the desert. The trip was to a small and private tent about an hour camel trek from the hostel. The guide prepared a wonderful tagine for us in the dunes while the sun set and then made a fire for us to relax outside and watch the stars.

On the final day we had to wait until 6pm for our taxi but Hassan gave us free use of a room so that we weren't stuck waiting in the bus station.

Overall a perfect stay, I recommend it to everyone. Thanks Tamariste from Luke and Rebecca

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hostel is suited in Hassi La Bied a small traditional town near Merzouga. From there you can walk up the dunes by yourself. Its best to go from here, because you get to a point where you see nothing than dunes around you witch is awesome and pretty much impossible if you go from Merzouga. The hostel is pretty new and the style traditional. Our (double room including bathroom) was cosy and the mattrasses good. In the lobby/restaurant you get free Wi-Fi. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is simple but fresh and good. For the price you have to pay its very good value. But the best at Auberge Tamarist is the owner Lahcen. He is the most friendly person and the perfect host. He grew up in the region and knows everything about it. He also offers tours witch I can recommend, you learn a lot and it is nice to hang out with him. And another good thing is, he would never push you, like he would say: "As you like..."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Laxen is a young guy running a family business. He is knowledgeable about the area and the whole of Morocco. He can organise trips into the dunes for any amount of time you like.

His sister lives next door to the Auberge and she makes the most wonderful home-cooked Moroccan food. The rooms are simple and clean with en-suite bathrooms and are great value. In the main building there is high speed Internet.

Laxen has created a great local business here and is a lovely guy. He speaks English, French, Spanish, Arabic and Berber.

He will gladly show you the gardens which are fed by an underground source from the dunes and where they grow much of the fresh vegetables etc in the cooking.

The place is so relaxing it is hard to leave. It is in Hassi-la-Bied, which is just before Mergouza coming from Rissani.

A WORD OF WARNING: When you get off the bus in Rissani (probably at about 7am) there are a lot of quite aggressive guys trying to hustle business for tours. Book ahead with Laxen and take his number. DO NOT listen to these guys if they tell you that Hassi-la-Bied is too far away, or costs Dh200 to get there - it's rubbish. Strongly tell them to leave you alone. Walk two blocks to 'Farmacie Central' in Rissani. There will be taxi grande waiting there (beige Merecedes) They will wait till they have enough passengers to go to Merzouga, and it will cost you Dh15 or Dh20. They will drop you in Hassi la Bied and you can walk to Tamariste.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calumpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.5 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 111 in Merzouga
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 85 in Merzouga
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hassilabied
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
3.5 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#6 of 23 in Merzouga
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tamariste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamariste

Address: Hassilabied Merzouga | Village Hassi La bied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range: $16 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Tamariste s a heaven of peace in the heart of the Sahara desert. This wonderful, relaxing auberge is ideally located in the village of Hassi Labied, right next the famous Erg Chebbi sand dunes. The Seggaoui family welcomes you to our authentic and traditional guesthouse. We are just a few hundred meters from the village center, and a few meters from sand dunes. decorated in traditional Berber style. Common areas, services and activities We have free transport to and from the bus station. Breakfast is included in the price, and we have a restaurant, where lunch and dinner can be ordered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Tamariste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing