We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option!”
Review of Hotel Riad Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riad Ali
Ranked #12 of 83 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is my third time at this riad- and it never disappoints. So I thought it was about time to let the world know about it. The first time I came in contact with Riad Ali Totmarroc was last year in September 2012, me and my friend had decided to spend two weeks in Morrocco. However, as it all was decided on a whim, nothing had been planned in advance. Nevertheless, I knew I wanted to go to the desert and experience the authentic atmosphere of being in the middle of nowhere. Be careful what you wish for. We arrived in Risanni at 3 am with the bus. Indeed, it was in the middle of nowhere- and we had to somehow find our way to Merzouga- our destination. After about half hour of wondering about the city centre we bump in to a group of locals who manage to find us a taxi. The only problem was that we didn't have a hotel booked. Luckily I had brought with me the Bible of travels- The Lonely Planet. Only problem was that at every riad we approached was closed and there was none there. Desperate as we were I decided to enter one of the riads, only to get hold of a phone to call other riads in the area (the taxi driver had run out of credit on his mobile). After a few tries, to somewhat three near by riads, a sleep drunken voice answers in arabic. It was Ali. He gave directions to the taxi driver who later drove us to the centre of Merzouga where one of Ali's staff would pick us up. Now, you can imagine how over tired we were- it was 5 am by now. Once me and my friend approached the riad we were so over tired that we barely understood where to sign the visa documents. But not to despair- there was Fouad. The reception manager (who we later found out had woken up at 5 am only to see us to the room). Fouad instantly brought us to peace by assuring that everything could be sorted out in the morning- that we should just be focusing on getting some sleep for now. Not to worry, we will fix it in the morning he said. For instance, we had not withdrawn any money to pay for the room at Risanni or the camel trek the morning after and there were no ATM's in Merzouga. All in all, all went well. We were exceptionally well taken care of and the food is superb. You really get value for what you pay for at Riad Ali Totmarroc. I have come there ever since and as I said- it never disappoints. The staff is great and offers you more than just their time and service, they offer you friendship. That is if you are uo for it. I strongly recommend visiting this riad if you are in the area. I am convinced that you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbredenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Saad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank fkcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Amal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinemeryam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank denisa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Adorei o quarto ao lado da piscina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juliano_Rio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
3.5 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.8 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#3 of 23 in Merzouga
377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
285 reviews
0 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 23 in Merzouga
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riad Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riad Ali

Address: Merzouga 52202, Morocco (Formerly Riad Ali Totmarroc)
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad Ali Totmarroc. Riad Ali Totmarroc is located at the foot of the great golden dunes of Erg Chebbi, near Merzouga village and the palm groves. Riad Ali Totmarroc offer you the possibility of a dream like stay, and welcomes you with an elegant and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riad Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing