We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience in morocco that I will never forget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada
Ranked #45 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Truckee, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing experience in morocco that I will never forget”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I enjoyed a great stay here, and Hassan and the staff were very kind and helpful in making sure we all had a very good time exploring the Erg Chebbi dunes of the Moroccan Sahara. In the afternoon we swam in the beautiful pool to cool off from the heat of the desert, and looked at all the beatiful views. We waited for the night to go into the desert on the very friendly camels so we wouldn't be to hot. When we got to the camp that was surrounded by all the very tall dunes we went out and ran around in the dunes enjoying our time. In the camp we drank tea and listened to wonderful music late into the night. The staff prepared a delicious meal for us, and we very much enjoyed it. After we took a walk into the dunes at night to take in the breathtaking vistas of the Moroccan Sahara at night. We ended up sleeping in a near by dunes with blankets, and it was one of the best experiences of my life. In the morning we got up to see the beatiful sunrise and then rode our camels back where we had a great breakfast waiting for us. If anyone is thinking of coming to visit the Erg Chebbi dunes in the Moroccan Sahara I highly recommend you do it here. You will have a great time, and the staff will treat you with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hblinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
27
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were sooo warm welcomed by all the staff! Food was great, swimming pool a welcome relief in the Sahara heat. Staff were very helpful and laid back. Trip into the desert with an overnight stay under the stars very memorable with happy camels. Till we meet again inshallah!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We make a reservation over their website and it stated 30€ per person with sleeping in bedouin tents in Sahara. We endes up paying 50€ per person.

We arrived in Rissani at 7am and were transfered to hotel with a car (hotel is in a desert and no local transport is available so you are depended on the staff).
Upon arrival we were bombarded with additinal offers - all overrated and expensive.

Rooms are small and stuffy (at least room 11 was) and bathroom is average.

Lounge and reception is average as well and not attractive at all (we walked to other hotel and were really really lovely).

The biggest turn off was the pool (and this is the reason why i'm giving this hotel an average score). The water in pool was dirty and full of sand and straws. We wanted to take a swim but after seeing the water we were turned off. I understand it is the desert and its not easy to maintain the pool.

The staff is friendly. But lack manners and professional attitude.

The camel ride took 1 hour to the sand dunes and sleeping in the desert was nice, but basic and in my opinion expensive.

Food in hotel is also expensive and average and water is available at price of 10dirhams per bottle.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dba_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My friend and I did an overnight trip in the desert with Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada. It was a really great time! The staff were all very kind and hospitable and the time spent in the desert was amazing (and not tacky as I have heard similar style trips with other companies go). We were driven out in a jeep from Rissani to the kasbah (hotel) and got a great preliminary view of the pink dunes of Erg Chebbi. After a 30 min camel ride out we got settled at our camp and had a delicious tagine dinner. We then hung out by a fire under the stars while our guides and fellow tourists from Morocco sang and played the drums. We were only a group of about 12 so it was quite intimate (also unlike other companies which sometimes take out much larger groups). We also got to know our guides a little bit which was awesome. Overall the experience was an excellent one and it was amazing to be out in the Sahara for the night! I highly recommend this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great location, helpful staff. Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel during our trip in maroc. We did not have greater hospitality than in this hotel. Hassan (head of the staff) has a brother, which is called Mohammed and organizes trips from Fez which can be really great. We did a 4 day tour (Fez - Merzouga - Ouarzazate (also option to go to marrakech from there) and had a great time. Also the cameltrip + sleeping in desert was a great experience. Would really recommend this trip to have a great and safe trip for a reasonable price! You really experience the culture and way of living of people living in sahara. We even had private drumlessons + nice evening around the fire in the sahara. The hotel has full sight on the erg chebbi dunes and sunrise can be seen really good at the rooftop. The dunes are just 5 minutes walk and the hotel even has material as skis and sandboards to use

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurjen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

BAD - it's expensive for Morocco. Yeah, in US dollars it's maybe $40-50 a night, but for Morocco you can easily find a place around $10 a night. We stayed one night and didn't even use the bedroom since we took the camel trip overnight. Effectively, we spent $50 to sleep in a tent in a country where $50 is a lot of money.
GOOD - the dinner tagine was really good and the beds in the tents had enough warm blankets to make up for the cold outside. The bed in the hostel was also very nice with a cute canopy and a private bathroom.
BAD - the camels are very uncomfortable. The packs (?) on their backs are very low, so you can feel the hump. My boyfriend and I were sore for days. Can't say if it's like this for all camel rides.
GOOD - the men who led the camel trip were very nice. They sat up playing music, drinking, and talking with us and even sang me happy birthday.
BAD - really bad breakfast that is 30-40 dirhams (like 10 times the price it should be) if it's not included in your camel package. You get one breakfast included, so if you arrive in the morning of the previous day, prepare to pay.
ALSO, the driver to the hotel charged us 25 dirhams, but the driver back did not. We talked to other travelers who did not pay to be taken to the hostel. 25 dirhams isn't bad for a private taxi with that distance, but if you're not supposed to pay it, don't pay it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGrandillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I spent two nights at Lahmada, one in the hotel and one in a berber camp among Sahara dunes thanks to a tour organised by the hotel.
The stay was extremely relaxing, the staff is super nice and welcoming - special thanks to Mohammad and Abdul, great guides in the desert tour and pleasant company at the hotel.
A world corner I'm glad I have visited.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
523 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
2.6 mi away
La Vallee des Dunes
La Vallee des Dunes
#22 of 82 in Merzouga
72 reviews
3.0 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#5 of 82 in Merzouga
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada

Property: Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada
Address: Douar lahmada,Erg chebbi, Merzouga, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
kasbah bivouac lahmada is a charming traditional kasbah located between the arms of the sand dunes erg-echebbi, double rooms with private bathroom, nice panoramic views and facilities .camel trek ,excursion 4*4.kasbah bivouac lahmada had a good location in most attractif area in morocco,located between the golden sand dunes ,the green oasis and the black desert .beautiful panoramic view ;sunset,sunrise,oasis of palm tree and high dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing