We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous welcome”
Review of Auberge Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Africa
Ranked #30 of 84 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Moka came to fetch us, despite the bus being late, and was incredibly warm and welcoming. He arranged food (excellent) despite the late hour. The perfect place to rest our heads at the gateway to the desert.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms are great prices with plenty of toilets and two showers with hot water in the shared bathroom at the end of the hall. The food is a bit expensive, but worth it.
The workers are extremely nice and informative, also played drums with us one day.
We went in the winter which meant it was much quieter around Merzouga. There was a very cozy feel to the hostel with only one small family staying other than me and my boyfriend.
They offer plenty of trips like camel excursions, sand baths, overnight trips, etc.
ALSO wifi :D So you can upload all your awesome Sahara pictures.
I love Auberge Africa!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FGrandillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stat here, honest prices, friendly staff, helpful advice, they even sent someone to buy the tickets for the bus for us, the food was good too and you get very large portions, I can't recommend it enough.

Hot showers, shared bathrooms but with private rooms.

They booked the camel trekking for us and it had the usual price. A place to stay for several weeks when traveling on the cheap! As some of the guys there did!


Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DonCesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Merzouga and the desert. We wrote to many of the accomodations and AA were always quick in writing back and offered great prices.
We arrived during the evening and Mocha was there to meet us. He walked us through the dark back to AA. Note - it can be a little difficult if you have suitcases as opposed to backpacks.
We were the only ones staying there and Mocha brewed us up some coffee and tea.
We had one of the 2 rooms with ensuite and loved the steaming hot showers as it was a bit cold at this time of year.
Mocha organised a camel ride and stay overnight in the desert at a very good price. Our guide spoke basic English and was very amusing and helpful.
AA is very basic and work is still being done on it, it is about a 5-10 min walk to the main street but is right on the sand dunes, a great and relaxing location. I regularly wandered out into the sand dunes to be completely alone (except when a tout still managed to find me at the top of the largest dune hahaha).
The prices are all on their website and they have lower prices for this quieter season. After a couple of days we stopped having the breakfast as although it was generous, fruit etc is so cheap we just bought our only breakfast and bought coffee from Mocha.
Mocha was a wonderful man who constantly dealt with any minor issues we had and told us to just relax and treat the place as home, even allowing us to use the kitchen. He even asked us to keep an eye on the place and wlecome any travelers when he had to step out - appreciated how he trusted us!
It is a very basic set up so good for budget travelers, the rooms are huge. For those with time on their hands I recommend a few days in the desert just laying back and relaxing - its beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was just my best guesthouse in Morocco: the owner is a warm educasted helpful person, and the "village" offer you nice rooms and showers, terraces and common areas to chill. I had also a great breakfast.
The position is just perfect cause is on the boundary of the town merzouga, and so u dont have lights disturbing u to see the stars and enjoy the sunrises and sunsets.
U can get the hostel following the signal from the main square where the "shared taxi" lives u from Erissani (where is the bus station, and other shared taxi, usually old mercedes hosting 6 people).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Federico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

a friend of me & i went to sahara desert of morocco last month after booking our accommodation at Auberge Africa! we took a bus ''SupraTours'' and Youssef ''owner'' was waiting for us at the bus station!
he was very helpfull and nice guy.
We Had an absolutely amazing experience with this property, its located infront of the dunes, few steps from the edge of sand dunes! Cant say more sorry you need to check that yourself !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mustangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel in Merzouga was in my opinion the cheapest in town. It recently opened. I can not say that this is something elegant, but good enough to spend several nights. Bathroom unit is inside the room. There was hot water in the shower. Desert is very near, just in walking distance. We went out in the morning from the hotel and in some minutes reached Erg-Shebbi sand dunes. Breakfast is not quite standard for Morocco. In addition to traditional scones with jam we received Hochland cheese, milk, Moroccan flatbread.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#2 of 23 in Merzouga
476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 84 in Merzouga
272 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 104 in Merzouga
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
2.8 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hassilabied
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Les Roches
Auberge Les Roches
#7 of 23 in Merzouga
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Africa

Address: Route de L'erg Chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: $13 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Africa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Hotel Merzouga is moroccan hotel and camping in Merzouga. Discover Sahara'gates with originality and sincerity and live your journey with emotion.Enjoy Merzouga! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing