We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, 100% recomendable”
Review of Auberge La Source

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Source
Certificate of Excellence
Mielec, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, 100% recomendable”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent one night in the hotel and one night in the desert. After having seen many places in you life, spending many nights in different hotels, hostels, camps and other accommodation facilities it is not so easy to by surprised, and nicely more difficult even. But there it happened. Simple, neat, spacious typical local clay house, with comfortable rooms and bathrooms, and great view on a beautiful and breathtaking Erg Chebbi. Lovely food (naturally organic, juicy and tasteful) served by five (or maybe six?) languages speaking service and the unique atmosphere created by the family running Auberge La Source. Being insisted on to feel like at your home you find it really easy to feel so. Its traditional, local hospitability, not only tourism makes you find this place refreshing and disconnecting.
The offer and the day/night attractions can be custom made, you can plan it when your are already there and everything is "no problem".
Tripadvisor recommendation and Excellence Prize fully deserved!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
54
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place is amazing. It is in a small village outside of Merzouga called Hassilabied. It is much closer to the dunes than Merzouga - and from the hotel terrace you can see them.

We were coming from Fes on the night bus to Merzouga (Supratours goes direct to Merzouga) and we arrived 1 & 1/2 hours early. Nevertheless, Omar was waiting at the bus station when we got there, and told us he had been there from 5am!! He took us to the hotel and then gave us a room to sleep in and have a shower, even though we were going into the desert that night. They can organise 1/2/3 night desert excursions which can include camel trekking, meeting with berber families, drumming nights and sand boarding.

We spent 2 nights in the desert which was an amazing experience. Hassan, Zaed and Omar were great hosts, and we really felt like part of their family. We spoke a lot with them, joked, played cards and they really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The price at the hotel includes breakfast and dinner, which are delicious traditional Moroccan meals like Tajines, berber pancakes/omelettes and couscous.

I could a write a lot about how great this place was, but it wouldn't do it justice. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy their desert experience in Morocco!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb1tb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Oct/Nov 2013, and how sad we are to leave! We stayed in the desert for 2 nights and at the hotel for 1 night. The staff were great, picked us up from the bus station at 5am, let us have a room to sleep in for the day as we didn't get any sleep on the night bus, allowed us to use their washing line and a big tub to wash our clothes, all for no extra charge! The meals were so delicious, even out in the desert. The camels came right outside the hotel at about 4pm to take us into the Sahara. Our desert guide, Zaed, was great fun. We played a lot of cards, shared riddles, played drums together and he shared some traditions with us. The desert experience was amazing, it felt surreal to be riding on a camel in the middle of the Sahara, I really can't explain the views of the sunsets/sunrises, the large dunes, the shooting stars. The other brothers were great too, one even organised our next bus to marrakech. We loved this place as well because they weren't money hungry like some of the other places we've been in Morocco...didn't try and force us to buy anything. We could do what we wanted! Overall this experience was great, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Definitely recommend, don't hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polska
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is amazing.
~300 meters next to the desert. There is a terrace, air conditioning, hot water and everything what we needed to have a great stay.
Hassan bring us from the Supratours bus station (around 10 pm) and he take us back to the station after we check out. Also he helped us back the Supratours tickets when we changed our plans (he called to his friend who works in this company).
The price included breakfast and dinner, which are delicious (traditional Moroccan meals like Tajin).

Also we met a great people. With Hassan, Sayid and Omar we felt like with the family. We spoke a lot with them, listen to moroccan music (they played the drums for us), smoke shisha at night.

We could a write a lot about this what we experienced in this place, but you need to be there to see this all things. If you want to take some rest, meet real moroccan people, see some desert, eat great maroccan meals, you need to choose this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_Z_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We don't have enough space and time to say all the great things about this family business. We arrived intending to stay for one night at a hotel we knew nothing about and left three nights later with the sad feeling of leaving family and friends. If time permitted, we would have stayed an extra week. By far the best part of the trip. The hotel has a lovely view of the desert. It is large, clean and just wonderful. The food they served was phenomenal. The brothers did all they could at all times of the day to make us feel at home. We got infinitely times more than what we paid for. We can't recommend enough to join them in Merzouga. No matter how you plan to enjoy the desert, they will make it the best experience

Room Tip: Go sand boarding. Enjoy the company of the brothers. Try to stay more than one night in the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Auberge La Source, a family-run hotel by the dunes near Merzouga. Hassan and his family takes care of the guest first class. Hassan picked us up from the bus in the morning, his brothers played music and entertained the guests with plays and jokes in the evening, their father went with us for the camel trek and overnight in the desert, and we strongly recommend to take the jeep tour with Hassan as it is much more fun than you would expect. The rooms in the hotel are spacious, clean and in bright colours. Our whole stay in Merzouga was an incredible experience, would return any time again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

3brothers works all togheter for you to be please in their auberge... Is not the furniture that bring you to stay there but the way They keep contract with you, amabile and efficient. The meals and breakfast are rich and from tradition...Then Then stay with you and be always disponibile for a tour in the desert or just for a drink (the desert whisky is always disponibiles)
I stayed one day more respect my program cause I felt Being in a family
Economic and just in front OF the desert, you wake up and watch the Sun rising in the desert...the same in the evening...do it!!! You Surely Will enjoi it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
316 reviews
3.0 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
441 reviews
6.1 mi away
Merzouga Dunes Luxury Camps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Source

Property: Auberge La Source
Address: Hassi Labied, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel La Source, located just in front of a Palm Grove and in the middle of the desert of Erg Chebbi in Morocco, welcome les throughout the year, in a place of dreams, where you will find what you are looking for.In the village of Hassi Labied (Merzouga), you can enjoy throughout the day of a landscape that never ceases to amaze. Sitemap, incredibly quiet and very family-friendly, is a suitable place for relaxation and meditation, but for people more active, the hostel offers numerous adventures.The Ougunir brothers reserve them a great welcome.The hostel offers a pleasant lounge in which you can enjoy the delicious traditional dishes (kalia, tagine, couscous, Berber omelette...) At a great price.All rooms are very comfortable and are equipped with shower, hot water and bathroom, in addition being distributed around a typically Eastern courtyard where will take advantage of the cool shade. Since May 2014 we have new rooms,very complete with modern amenities and spacious suite of category.The hostel also has Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge La Source reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing