We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Les Pyramides
Ranked #42 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Wonderful and cheap. The owner personally picked me up at the bus stop (a welcome surprise as Merzouga is a bit spread out). Breakfast was large and filling (good for when you're trying to save a few bucks). The rooms were clean and very large, and the showers were hot. The bed was great (a little firm, but I like that). Overall a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_01001010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
17
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roermond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

March, 2012, Holland

Last februari we went for the fourth time to Merzouga and we stayed, also for the fourth time, in Auberge Les Pyramides, a cosy Inn situated on the edge of the Erg Chebbi desert. We like to come there because we really feel at home right from the start! The staff is very nice and take care of us very well and Ali, the owner of the auberge, is a nice and gentle guy who is very interrested in his guests and makes now and then a chat with everyone. The food is delicious and since recently there is a cook, (Chef de Cuisine) Mohammed, who makes the tastiest dishes for us! And Omar's coffee is the best coffee ever! The rooms are neatly and clean and some have a shower and toilet. During our stay we also go to the oasis, each on a camel, for two or three nights and we can leave our luggage in the auberge, very nice!
In the daytime you can chill and relax on the terras of the auberge, surrounded by trees, sand dunes and camels. And at the end of the day you can walk in a minute into the dunes, right into the sahara to enjoy the beautiful colors of the setting sun. So romantic! The atmosphere feels like you're in a fairy tale, a real relief after the cold en grey winter in Holland! It is a nice place to always return to when you're tired of the rain at home, and in merzouga it almost never rains, and the sun is shining always!
At night it's dinner time and sometimes there's music with the drums and singing and dancing! Very nice! It depends on how many people there are present at the time, sometimes a few, sometimes more . Last time there were a lot of french people, some dutch families, german motorbikers and even a spanish filmcrew! And our last night we had a great party with two Italien couples who brought their home made cookies and wine and shared it with us. It was a very nice last evening!
So you meet very different kinds of people there and that's so special.
We hope that we will return soon to our beloved hostel with all the nice people and, not to forget, the nice cat, our little friend tamasjoet, the housecat of les Pyramides!
Greetz and love,
Brenda, Lonnie and Paulina

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and friend in January. We booked through Expedia because of the good reviews, but this hotel was even better than we could have hoped for.

The staff was great (especially Ali), the rooms were nice, clean and most importantly, warm. We had stayed in a bunch of hotels for similar prices, but they were all cold with no heating. Auberge Les Pyramides had nice controllable built in heaters in each room, it was fantastic.

We opted to eat dinner (and our breakfasts) in the hotel and it was a great choice. The food was terrific.

As I mentioned above, the staff was great and they went over the options for day or night trips into the Sahara. We opted for the full day and overnight option. They let us keep our bags in the hotel and we were even able to shower upon our return (which was very much appreciated after 24 hours in the desert).

When we were checking out they even let us pay in Euros and gave me the best exchange rate I got in the country. It made life a lot easier than spending the last of my dirham.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, not just for the rooms, but for the staff and the trips they can arrange for you and great prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Anyone who goes to Morocco and just visits Marrakesh and Casablanca is missing out on much of what makes up the soul of the country -- the Berbers and the desert they call home. And Les Pyramides is definitely the place to get "up close and personal" with the camels and the sand, especially at a cost that won't break the bank.

Les Pyramides is basic, but really it's as it should be, since a stay here must also absolutely include an over-night out in the desert itself.

Ali, Omar and the crew are wonderful hosts, but what I haven't seen mentioned by other writers here is just how good their cooking is. Definitely go for the kefta tajine, which is delicious, and far different to what we got anywhere else in the country. And you'll be amazed at what they're able to conjure up for your meal out in the desert. Omar's chicken tajine and couscous on the sand was the best we had on our whole trip!

While you're there, also take the opportunity to visit Hamad Mahjoubi and his mates at Dar Gnawa Khamlia for a taste of Gnaouan music - a historical link with what much later became the blues. Ali can set all that up for you, no problem. But make sure you slip the village elders a bit of cash, as well as buying one of their CDs. These days musicians (and their families) have a hard life no matter where they call home.

We visited Morocco the first time back in the '70's, but this trip to the desert was the best thing we've ever done in the country. If only we'd come all those years ago!

Room Tip: Pick the camel at the end of the train. You'll get better pictures of your friends that way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fannington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESERTEXPIRIANCE, Propriétaire at Auberge Les Pyramides, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Auberge les Pyramides in Merzouga, south-eastern Morocco. This inn is an ideal stop for guests travelling Africa, where they can discover the magnificent ergs such as Erg Chebbi and the sublime Saharan landscapes.

During a holiday in Morocco, guests staying at the inn can enjoy various activities including trekking, excursions, and wellness treatments. Nearby, guests will also find Erfoud (50 km) and Rissani (37 km). 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graz
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I was traveling alone as a woman without any experience, but to hand over to berber-people means, that they take care for you, you are protected and you will never get lost! tell them your wishes, and sure, they will come reality. in this house you feel like it is your second home. as it is not too big, it has a kind family athmosphere. it is possible to make a trip to the oasis- an unforgettable experience!!! it is worth to take time there to learn more about the cultural heritage of the berber and the values of the society. I was there for 11 days, and I will be back, soon. there is much more to learn, to taste and to research. and most of all: the desert is a very decent, kind and wise teacher.
thanks to all the beautiful people there, tanmirt

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monjo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multiple
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This was a breath of fresh air after a few unpleasant experiences in Morocco. Ali, the owner, is very kind and outgoing. The hotel is at the foot of the dunes. Despite this, it is spotless, with brand new modern bathrooms, hot water, and a very pleasant decor. The hotel's reasonnable price includes breakfast and dinner, both very good! We were planning on staying in Merzouga one day but stayed 3 because of how happy we were at Les pyramides. If you want to relax and enjoy the serene comfort and beauty of the dunes, this is the place to go. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you go there, say hello to Ali, the owner, and to Said, the camel guide, who is a very warm and kind person.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I really appreciated my stay in this hotel in November. The staff is very kind and it seems to be in a family. The service and food is always excellent and the view from the hotel to the dunes is really remarkable. I hope to come back soon and if you want to have a great stay in the desert you'll find in this comfortable hotel the right place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erika_vota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
3.9 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Riad Aicha
Riad Aicha
#5 of 82 in Merzouga
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Africa
Auberge Africa
#31 of 82 in Merzouga
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Vallee des Dunes
La Vallee des Dunes
#22 of 82 in Merzouga
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Les Pyramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Les Pyramides

Property: Auberge Les Pyramides
Address: Ali Karaoui Ksar, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Les Pyramides 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Pyramides Hotel offers guest house accommodation in Merzouga. There are a number of local attractions including Dayet Srji and Erg Chebbi.This 3-star Merzouga guesthouse offers gift shops/newsstands. If you want low-key dining options, you will be pleased to find barbecue grills and 24-hour room service.Multilingual staff are available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and can provide tour/ticket assistance. Guests staying at this guesthouse on a business trip can hold meetings as there is a meeting/conference room as well as translation services and a 24-hour business center. You can also benefit from an Internet point and event catering. A safe is available at reception. Other amenities include a train station pick-up service, free parking, dry cleaning/laundry services, air conditioning in public areas, currency exchange, an elevator (lift) and concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge Les Pyramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing