We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our holiday!”
Review of Dar el Khamlia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar el Khamlia
Ranked #43 of 82 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best part of our holiday!”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Me and my husband have stayed in Khamlia for 3 nights and for me was it the best part of our holiday in Morocco. The email communication to arrange the stay was easy and we have got answered all my silly questions about Khamlia and Morocco in general. We have spent 1 night at Dhar el Khamlia, 1 night in the dunes organized by the Dhar el Khamlia and 1 night at a tent, not far away from Dhar el Khamlia (arranged by Brahim as Dhar el Khamlia was fully booked and we wanted to spend one more night there). First of all, the food Brahim has cooked for us was excellent! The best Harira we have ever had!!!!!!!!!! Brahim and his family are very friendly, giving you your space but available to help or chat whatever and whenever you need. I believe they are mind reader:-)The rooms and bath are simple but with hot water all the time and everything was very clean and comfy. The camel trip we have done on 24/12 was a great fun and we could have not been looked after any better. We have had a lovely weather in the dunes and have seen a lot a lot a lot of stars before the moon rise and have been, on our request, woken up to see the sun rise in the morning. Just beautiful!!! The color of the sand is red and it is amazing to sit on the top of a dune. The camp was small, so no crowded by people. This 4 days were for me the best holiday I have ever had. If you are looking for a lovely, quiet place where to relax, go for a walk, read a book, make a camel trip to the dunes, go to Khamlia. A big thank you to Brahim and his family and also to Michaela for the friendly emails. Shukran!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I highly recommend staying at Dar El Khamlia! You will receive a very warm welcome and wonderful hospitality. Brahim went out of his way to make us feel comfortable, even coming to the bus stop very early in the morning to meet us. Our bus from Fes was over an hour early but Brahim was there to pick us up. I was truly impressed.

Khamlia is a little off the beaten track, but a great place for people who want to get away for a little while and enjoy peace and quiet and get a glimpse of village life in this part of the world.

The room was very basic but comfortable and very clean. The meals were fantastic and everyone was very kind and friendly. The camel trek we booked was a wonderful experience, and we really enjoyed our night in the desert. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rei-chan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I lost myself in the beauty and luster of the small village of Khamlia, a quaint town at the foothills of the Sahara desert. Dar el Khamlia provided delicious food, wonderful company, and an unforgettable experience for me and my companions. Michaela and Brahim run a beautiful little guest house. It was clean and the carpets were fuzzy and the beds comfortable. They picked us up in Fez and drove us all the way to Khamlia and then took us to Marrakech (this is no small task, mind you). Our excursion to the south went smoothly because of their assistance. Thank you again, and sorry for the lateness of this review! Highly, highly, highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eharfenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2010

cheap and clean guest house near the Sahara desert, the greatest experience in my Marocco trip...a friendly and familiar place in wich I found wonderful people!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal82194718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Seldom we had such an authentic and warm welcome. Abrahim, Addi and their family were most kind. The house is basic, but enough comfort. The food was excellent in quality and quantity. We enjoyed a cameltrip, saw the unique sunset and made a adventurous 4x4 trip in the desert. A very nice way to experience the way the people live at the edge of the dessert. We family with 4 children -16, 15, 13 and 11)- strongly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McTenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Dar el Khamlia is a fanatstic way to spend the night in the desert. The communications were great from start to finish. Brahim and Michaela made a special effort to accommodate my diet as a coeliac and both the dinner in the desert and breakfast the next morning were lovely. In fact the tagine for dinner was the best one we had in Morocco!

The 2 and a half hour camel trek to the tents was definitely a experience and not entirely pain free but definitely worthwhile to sleep in a Bedouin tent and see the sunrise the next morning. Sunrise is just indescribable.

Khamlia was a little difficult to find but no more so than anywhere else in Morocco! It was a perfect way to spend an evening in the Sahara desert and definitely a worthwhile trip. I'd wholeheartedly reccommend Dar el Khamlia for a desert trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is not a hotel, this is their house! Very basic but it was all we expected ,friendly, great food and perfect for a desert stay.
They organised the camel ride and we felt part of the family. Clean place, running water and helpful. Would highly recommend

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.0 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 82 in Merzouga
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Tamariste
Kasbah Tamariste
#53 of 97 in Merzouga
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Khamlia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Khamlia

Property: Dar el Khamlia
Address: Ksar Khamlia, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar el Khamlia 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar el Khamlia is a private guesthouse in Khamlia 7km from Merzouga, Erg Chebbi. It is a perfect place for those who don't want many tourists around. It is perfect also for those who are tired of hotels and want to be near the local people. The rooms are nice and clean with bathroom. Bed and Breakfast or Half board. Nice view over the desert and village. Dar el Khamlia can also arrange different tours:- camel trek with overnight into sand dunes. You will sleep in Beduin tent, watch sunrise/sunset- half or one day excursion by 4x4 behind sand dunes, to lake with flamingos, mineral mine, fossils, old painting in the rock, genuine market in Rissani and other- listen to Gnawa music, just in villageWe speak English, French, and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Dar el Khamlia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing