We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Riad Nezha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Nezha
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The town of Merzouga is in the middle of nowhere and a fair distance to get to. What awaits you is a lovely riad at the edge of the sand dunes. We spent the first night at the riad and went on the camel trek on the second night.

The hosts are very gracious and take pride in caring for their guests. They can give you helpful information about what to visit as you continue your travels.

On the first night we had a nice relaxing dinner on the terrace.

Our camel excursion was great. Our guides were warm, laid-back, and accommodating. We arrived at sunset, drank tea, ate nuts and chit-chatted around the table while our guides cooked up a delicious tajine. We lucked out by being there when it was a full moon. The tents were cozy and comfortable.

What more can one ask for?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37VAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    77
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
92
158
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this riad as part of our Morocco Expert Tours. They deserved 5 stars. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated, the food was good and the surroundings beautiful. There was a lovely pool. But the best part was their hospitality and generosity. Mohammed was an exellent host. When I couldn't come to a meal, he sent food to my room, one evening they provided a music and dance presentation, involving all who wished to be involved. A lovely desert surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Brahim and all his team ensured we had the best desert experience , adults and kids.
We stayed the first night in the Riah , simple yet beautiful and the kids were delighted to find a great pool.The second night we did the desert tour on camel back and slept in a nomad camp for a true desert experience. Its not to be missed.Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you enter Merzouga and drive true the small unpaved roads you are thinking " where the hell they bring me" but if you come to Riad nezha and you entered the front door everything is okay. nice staff, only the boss seems to be sometimes a bit surly but helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. A superb pool and the food is okay. We did also the desert trip from this hotel and that was really not worth to do. We went trough the desert on a camel, very nice, but when we entered the nomad camping, there was nothing to eat, the tents are very basic (they told us there should be beds, but it were only mattresses. We had to wait till 11 o clock in the evening till we get some food. We heard from other tent camps music and they had some drinks and food. Not helpful was that there was a slight sandstorm. All experiences that can be helpful. The worst was that they woke us up in the morning at 6:50. Ten minutes after (really after) the sunset. The most beautiful thing everybody in our nomad camp missed! The guide from the desert trip react indifferent. Everybody from the organization said it was an experience. For me too, but a bad experience. Back to the hotel. That was really good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertcoumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Riad Nezha for several nights during our trip to Morocco during Spring Break. The highlight of the Trip was our experience in the Sahara Desert. One must visit the desert when visiting Morocco or you are truly missing out on an unbelievably unique opportunity.
The rooms very very clean and comfortable. The staff was great. They really went out of their way to make sure our visit was memorable. The food was delicious, both the evening meals and the breakfast buffets.
The first night we stayed at the hotel and had dinner and rested from our travel coming from Fes. The next day we toured Merzouga and prepared to head overnight into the Sahara Desert. We rode into the desert on Camels and headed to the Erg Chebbi sand dunes. We left directly from the Riaz Nezha, since it is right at the edge of the Sahara Desert, Great Location!!!! We stayed overnight in a Berber tent and then headed back to the Riad Nezha the next morning. We had a delicious breakfast and a shower that felt unbelievable after being in the desert overnight!
From the Rooftop restaurant there is a panoramic view of the Oasis on one side and the desert on the other.
For anyone planning on visiting the Desert, and wants a clean, convenient and comfortable place to stay, the Riad Nezha is the perfect place.

Room Tip: The Rooms in the Towers have a great view overlooking the Oasis and desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embryo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This riad was included as part of our accommodation on our 5 day tour with Moroccan Expert Tours. This is a family business and we were treated as guests in their home. From the welcome we received, to the standard of accommodation, the meals, the magnificent swimming pool and the views from our room it was a very welcome stop in the middle of our tour.

The staff were excellent and you can see the good relationship they have with the owner Brahim who did everything possible to cater for our every need.

The icing on the cake was the overnight camp in the Sahara co-ordinated between MET and Riad NEZHA which involved a two hour camel ride each way with our camel man,Ahmed, who has been doing this for many years and provided the complete Moroccon experience. How he produced the best tagine without a kitchen etc is still a mystery to us.

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful outlooks some overlooking the pool, oasis and the dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very pleasant hotel, with nice rooms, and beautiful swimming pool. We had great breakfast and dinner by the pool. The staff was very nice and helpful. We took the desert tour from the hotel, and it is just a life experience. Our guide Achmed did anything he could to make this experience the best ever! he took us to the best spots to take pictures, he is a great guide, and even made us the best chicken dinner at the camp at night. Getting up at sunrise in the desert with a huge dune behind you that looks like shiny orange is just amazing. I got a picture with the sun rise and the moon just coming down over the dune!
coming back to the hotel to take a shower and enjoy the swimming pool after camping at night was another small pleasure! I highly recommend this hotel and the desert tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tirza_ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nezha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nezha

Property: Riad Nezha
Address: Erg chebbi dune, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merzouga!!Book your stay at the amazing ***Riad Nezha*** is an absorbed heaven in the green of the palms of the Village of Merzouga. A fantastic location, panorama and an environment where relaxation and rest are guaranteed!!!at Riad Nezha we do offer all different excursion around Merzouga!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Nezha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nezha Merzouga
Riad Nezha Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing