We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Sahara”
Review of Riad Nezha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Nezha
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Sahara”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second time staying here and it was the same experience as before, a welcome oasis in the middle of nowhere. Brahim the owner takes a lot of pride in his hotel and it shows. The place was very clean something you notice right away, everything showed a high level of care. The food was very good, the shower was wonderful (not always the case), the views peaceful and relaxing. Next time we will stay here longer even though it means a 45 minute drive into and back from Erfoud to do our business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    77
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
92
158
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My time at Riad Nezha was definitely one of my favorites during the two weeks I was in Morocco! The hospitality and helpfulness that the staff, especially the owner, provided was incredible. The place is beautiful and my favorite hotel out of all the ones I stayed in. The camel ride was amazing and the guides that led us out to the desert were so fun and taught us Berber songs and dances at night. It was a memorable experience and I recommend this hotel to anyone going out to Merzouga!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful view of desert. Planned an awesome camel trip in and out of the Sahara, and took us on a great driving tour of the nearby area. The owner is very good at caring for his guests. Someone in our group suffered an injury while we were there, and he drove her over to the nurse on the nurse's day off so that she could get the attention she needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had a great experience visiting this riad in the Sahara desert. When we arrived tired after a long bus ride, Brahim, the owner, gave us rooms to change in and was very accommodating of our group. At sunset, we donned our turbans and headed into the desert on camels. Once we arrived in the desert camp, we enjoyed looking up at the spectacular stars while dinner was prepared. My friend and I chose to sleep inside a tent where we were provided with a blanket, sheet sleeping bag, and pillow. We headed back to the riad the next morning on the camels, enjoying a delicious breakfast when we got there. Later, Brahim took us on a 4x4 trip around the Merzouga area which included a visit to hear local musicians. The riad itself is well-appointed and beautiful with a lovely pool area and great local food. I highly recommend Riad Nezha, and suggest you ask Brahim to plan your custom trip for you so all you have to do is show up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The most hospitable owner of accommodation in Morocco! Brahim could not do enough to make our stay really special. Lovely food, clean big rooms, fabulous pool area situated on the edge of the Sahara. Let Brahim arrange an overnight camel ride for you. Everything is hassle free and you get an amazing breakfast the following morning and a shower! The camel ride was really special. I never thought that i could sleep under the stars. Amazing value. For me there is nowhere else in the dessert that anyone else should stay. BOOK RIAD NEZHA today!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night but also used it as our base for a trip into the desert.

On our arrival we were welcomed by the Riads owner, Brahim, who instantly made us feel at home. We had just spent the day travelling and were very tired but upon arrival we were instantly revived by the warm welcome and a customary cup of berber tea. Brahim showed us around the Riad and told us that it wasn't just a hotel but our home away from home. (if we needed a drink in the night etc. we were told to just go into the kitchen and help ourselves).

Our room was large and very clean, despite the large sand storm earlier in the day - sand has a tendency to get everywhere. Our room had a view of the dunes, AC and Free WiFi. The shower was hot but (as expected in the desert) wasn't a power shower but totally adequate for us both. The sink was very impressive as it was cut out of a large piece of smooth stone full of fossils.

That night we were lucky enough to attend a local wedding with our guide and when we arrived back (quite late) we had an amazing (vegetarian) feast waiting for us. Even though Brahim was eager to attend the wedding, that we had just arrived back from, he stayed and chatted to us after dinner for an hour or so. It was really interesting finding out about his life and the desert culture as well as the history of the Riad (that he built himself).

The following day we woke early to see the sun rise over the dunes from the roof terrace followed by a large breakfast. We then headed off to explore the local souk in Rissani and then had time to walk around the small town/ village of Merzouga. We had lunch at the Riad and then spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool.

That evening we met our Camel Man Hmad and ventured into the desert for the night. This was one of the highlights of our trip. After a camel trek into the dunes we saw an amazing sunset and had a veggie tagine and a bottle of wine. We spent the evening talking to Hmad (one of the nicest people we've ever met) before spending the night under the stars - there were tents available but we chose a mattress outside.

The next morning we woke up early and spend an hour or so watching the sunrise before heading back (1hr 30) to the Riad. After a shower etc. we had another great breakfast served by Brahim before saying our goodbyes and continuing on our journey.

I would totally recommend Riad Nezha as your base in Merzouga and will stay there again if we ever make it back :)

I feel the need to comment on another review I've read that complained about the time taken to prepare meals and the poor service.
Firstly it's worth remembering that you're not staying in a all inclusive 5 star resort with hundreds of staff. This is a family run business in the middle of the desert with freshly prepared meals.
Secondly, If you know anything about cooking and want good freshly prepared tagine, you'll know that the tagine is a slow cooker and takes time to cook.
My advice is to order your meal in advance or request something that take less time to cook.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veggietraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel with incredible hospitality from the owner. Fantastic meals, clean rooms, and a perfect pool and view, you will not forget your stay here. I was staying here on a study abroad trip, and this hotel was my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapsteadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#16 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Portes du Desert
Les Portes du Desert
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nezha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nezha

Property: Riad Nezha
Address: Erg chebbi dune, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merzouga!!Book your stay at the amazing ***Riad Nezha*** is an absorbed heaven in the green of the palms of the Village of Merzouga. A fantastic location, panorama and an environment where relaxation and rest are guaranteed!!!at Riad Nezha we do offer all different excursion around Merzouga!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Nezha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nezha Merzouga
Riad Nezha Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing