We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad Nezha in Merzouga Morocco”
Review of Riad Nezha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Nezha
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

At Riad Nezha we enjoyed the excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient location. On our wonderful tour of Morocco with WWW.AroundMorocco.com we were fortunate to spend 3 lovely evenings in Merzouga and visiting the desert. It was always a joy to return to this lovely riad and spend time enjoying the beauty of it. Manager, Mohammed went out of his way to make our stay special. One night he accompanied us to a local wedding and we enjoyed watching the people, listening to the festive music, and even dancing. He was always smiling and fun to be with. We did our great camel trek into the desert for the night and upon our return in the morning he happily greeted us with a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherwadingriverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 450 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a lovey stay in a lovely hotel, manager was very kind man and couldn't have been more helpful. We were travelling with my sister and he put her up in a seperate room for no extra charge when we were sharing, when we can back form the desert he had moved all our luggage back into a room for us to clean up before leaving, We are most grateful. lovely building and location too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

unexpected luxury for me and my husband. we'd booked this last minute, through a somewhat dodgy character in fes and as we walked early morning through the empty streets of merzouga (something like out of an old american western) we adjusted our expectations downward from what we had seen on the website. but when it came into view, we were ecstatic. all the previous reviews are correct. it is beautiful. the staff are beautiful, kind, helpful, friendly, funny, vibrant. the architecture is lovely, the walls covered in the sand/straw render we see all over the place and which is so appropriate for the area. it is so very well done. and the breakfast was a breakfast - rare for morocco (especially at the price range we experienced) - with good crepes (freshly made), a jug of fresh squeezed orange juice, two different types of delicious local honey, bread, eggs, etc. and our lodgings were spectacular at any price point, not least compared to what we had recieved for a similar price in Fes, Marrakech and Essaouira. We had our own little castle separate from the main building, luxurious, well designed bathroom, clean everything, beautiful windows, comfortable bed (shame my husband was slightly allergic to the beautiful camel hair blanket), ample space, simply but elegantly furnished. I can go on and on about it. This is the one place in Morocco I will recommend over and over. I loved everything about the experience, especially the fact that it was just warm enough to have a swim in the pool and sit on the terrace getting sun. The layout of the place is such that you feel like you are alone there with your mate when you want - which I adored. And I cant' stress enough how nice the staff were. That big smile welcoming us from an overnight 9 hour bus from Fes plus all the nice details really made our stay.

there's not much to do in merzouga, but we were very close to it (separated by a lovely walk through a small oasis/farm) and we were charmed by how kind and chilled out everyone was.

We had one sore spot (which is the reason I was tempted to give this beautiful place 4/5) - we took a camel trip to the desert for which we paid an additional EUR40 each (all inclusive). Although we discovered we had paid a bit more than others, we were okay with this as the riad was so nice. The sore spot was that the guide was pretty unfriendly and spoke neither good english nor good french (nor any of the other languages we spoke) and at the camp we were offered fanta and coca-cola with no indication that it would cost extra - we assumed was part of the meal for which we had paid in advance. Instead, one of the young men at the camp tried to get us to pay an extra 40dh for this, which we refused. My husband and I come from poorer/rougher countries than Morocco so we weren't intimidated at all by the guy, who tried his best. But we are aware that some people might be, so watch out for this. It ruined our night a bit as it left a bad feeling at the camp and between us and our guide the next morning as he tried to get us to pay it when we arrived back at the hotel. Again we refused and he left in an even fouler mood than he had arrived (not a big difference as he wasn't a very friendly person to begin with). it was the only bad thing about our stay and it was erased immediately when the guys of the hotel appeared with their smiles and told us to go get showered for breakfast.

the owner kindly took us to the station (we were in a hurry).

Room Tip: if you are lucky, get one of the rooms above the outdoor shower and bathroom by the pool. you will f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just got back from a two week trip to Morocco. We stayed at Riad Nezha and loved it! It is very well kept. My husband is not a big Moroccan food person but really enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners at this riad. They were very helpful and the owner of the riad spent some time with us telling us an interesting story of how this riad came about. Yes, we loved Mohammed as well. He was very helpful setting up our computer when we had a problem. He has a wonderful sense of humor and was warm and welcoming. What a great place to be after a camel ride. It is definitely a great place to stay if you are in Merzouga.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a great stay in December 2011 and early January 2012 at Nezha and can only echo the sentiments of many others who’ve enjoyed their stay at this Riad. Riad Nezha was simply the best. My husband and I just loved it, as did another couple in our family who travelled around Morocco with us. The riad is gorgeous to look at and built with attention to detail and maintained with pride by an owner and staff who really care about their guests and want them to feel welcome.

You really do feel like an honoured guest here. There were so many things to be impressed by. The general atmosphere was very relaxed; you immediately felt welcomed and at home. The staff at Nezha were polite and friendly, but very professional and one in particular quite amusing.

The riad is charming and very clean with spacious comfortable rooms. Our family stayed in the 2nd floor rooms overlooking the swimming pool; just fantastic. We felt as if we had our own private ‘towers’. We were there in December and didn’t swim, but we’ll go back in a different season and I’m sure we’ll use the pool. It looked so inviting and clean.

The food was fresh and plentiful served by the amusing Mohamed; he and the owner Brahim are charm personified. They deserve all the praise travellers lavish on them. They quietly, respectfully, and professionally look after you as only Moroccans can. We felt as if were staying with friends in a country house for a weekend. We stayed for 2 nights and they generously held our luggage while we were in the desert for a 3rd night, which was New Year’s Eve.

Our camel trek out to the desert camp in the Erg Chebbi Dunes left from Riad Nezha. Nine of us went on the trek with our wonderful camel drivers out to the Berber tent camp. Our family group of 4 adults were joined by 2 other families who were all charming people and were, like us, doing tours with Lahcen Boujouija’s tour company Around Morocco Tours.

We had a beautiful night in the desert, entertained by Gnouan musicians by an open fire and enjoyed a wonderful feast; as always in Morocco, more food than you can possibly eat. The night sky in Morocco is amazing in the desert; the stars are so bright; they are mesmerising; a really cool way to spend New Year’s Eve. After a spectacular sunrise over the dunes we headed back to the riad for breakfast. The dining room at Nezha is great but we really loved the roof-top terrace for breakfast with its stunning views over the dunes and palmerie – big wow factor. Breakfast was always terrific; great coffee, fresh fruit and fresh orange juice (as always in Morocco), olives, eggs, fresh dates, wonderful jams and that gorgeous Moroccan honey served with different types of Moroccan bread and those ever present addictive pancakes. We were on a 2 week tour and had to move on, but would have been very happy to stay there for a few more days just relaxing; it was that sort of place.

We loved the riad so much we want to return to Morocco just to stay there. We would happily recommend it; this riad and Merzouga on the edge of the desert somehow summed up the gentle and hospitable Moroccan people.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor 'Tower Rooms' overlooking the pool were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a great experience in September of 2011 staying at Riad Nezha in Merzouga, Morocco - on the edge of the Sahara Desert. We arrived in a sand storm and were warmly greeted with mint tea and superb hospitality.
The staff at this riad . . . especially the "two Mohammeds" made our stay there truly memorable. My partner had her birthday while we were there and she was treated to a private "party" . . . cake, candles, singing, jokes, etc.
I found the view from the roof deck / dining area to be wonderful . . . with the desert dunes enroaching on the monochromatic settlement of Merzouga. The sunsets and expansive sky over the desert are truly amazing!
The atmosphere in this riad was friendly and informal . . . one felt very much at home. The food was excellent . . . I still have good memories of wonderful breakfasts up on the roof terrace . . . non-stop orange juice! and tasty Moroccan baked goods and good coffee.
The swimming pool was excellent . . . especially after our return from a night out in the desert sleeping in a Berber tent (an adventure that should not be missed! . . . it's worthwhile enduring the camel ride for an hour and a half!).
One has to consider that you are on the edge of the desert . . . so don't expect that you'll be ensconced in formality and comforts like a Four Seasons or a ShangriLa hotel . . . This is a very comfortable, clean, and friendly place. The rooms are very nice and well decorated . . . Moroccan lamps are everywhere! it's also very quiet . . . made for good sleeps!
However, for me, it's the people who made this place also so special . . . I'll always remember them . . . and, if I'm ever lucky enough to visit Morocco again I would definitely return to Merzouga and this wonderful small riad.
Thanks! Merci beaucoup! (ten mirt!!) for an excellent stay!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place . . . we were on the second floor facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My family and I, including 4 young kids, stayed at Riad Nezha along with another family that had young children too for the New Years weekend holiday. It was a great stay. The proprietor is extremely hospitable and helpful. He made sure our every need was taken care of, including loaning us his computer so we could watch an important football game over the internet while we were staying there. The view of the erg from the balcony is beautiful with the palmerie in the foreground. The rooms are spacious and clean with modern and new furnishings. The food was good, too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#11 of 22 in Merzouga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#17 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
3.8 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#3 of 22 in Merzouga
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nezha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nezha

Address: Erg chebbi dune, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merzouga
#3 Family Hotel in Merzouga
Price Range: $57 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merzouga!!Book your stay at the amazing ***Riad Nezha*** is an absorbed heaven in the green of the palms of the Village of Merzouga. A fantastic location, panorama and an environment where relaxation and rest are guaranteed!!!at Riad Nezha we do offer all different excursion around Merzouga!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Nezha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nezha Merzouga
Riad Nezha Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing