We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
97
24
8
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
24
8
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewserg chebbisahara desertmoroccodunesterrace
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to Kasbah Erg Chebbi in a planned trip promised nice rooms with AC, swimming pool, terrace. So all in all it sounded pretty nice.
The location is real fantastic and the staff is quite friendly and welcoming but the rest is not what we paid for. The room we were accompanied in was dirty, dark with no Ac, swimming pool view or terrace (the “balconies" advertised were non-existent”) so we asked to change it. Now I can say it wasn’t a good request.
We had a room near the pool, and it was ok, but the rest was terrible.
The room was sleazy, cold and dirty and it only had power and hot water -only in the shower- at night (which could be fine but it would have been nicer to know before hand).
The door was not lockable, so we had to leave it open and our valuables weren’t safe.
The blankets were filthy and the mattresses disgusting.
Meals are alright but drinks are not included in any meal, so you have to pay an extra for every bottle of water. We should stay there 2 nights but, although we remained there just 1, they want we to pay for 2 nights and 2 dinners.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ValentinaV1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

We actually only left our luggage here. This was a start/stop point for our camel tour into the Sahara Desert and an over night stay.

They provided us with the Moroccan long pour tea, were very nice assisting us to prepare for our tour and when we returned had a wonderful breakfast and provided showers for us after our night in the desert.

Old and was being renovated so they should be done with that now.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank boxerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Traveled to Morocco in November and stayed two nights at Kasbah, one in the hotel and one in the desert camp. It was a highlight of our trip and would definitely recommend it. We arrived early morning from the overnight bus and was met at the bus stop by Ali who then arranged for a room for us to stay in for a couple of hours before our mid day Camel ride into the desert. We had lunch at the desert camp and it was the best meal we had in all of Morocco!! So many different dishes that were all beautifully made. Our guide into the desert was lovely and we had lots of fun naming the camels and learning some Berber words. We were able to head up to the dunes to watch the sunset and it was a very memorable experience. We then stayed the second night at the hotel where they prepared a beautiful dinner for us and even got up early to make us breakfast. The Berber cake is not to be missed! The hotel is lovely and our room was decorated in Berber furnishing and water pressure in the shower was excellent! It was such a lovely experience all round and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kat_rose93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is the second oldest in the region and is in the process of being restored. What we loved: 1. The site... It is literally 3 meters from the sand dunes of the Sahara. The view is incredible. 2. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, they even gave us am impromptu Berber drum concert after dinner. 3. The food was delicious. Dinner was served under the stars looking at the dunes. A more beautiful outlook couldn't be beat, and the tajine was great 4. Dinner and breakfast were included in the price so good value. 5. The staff organized a sunset camel ride for €20 each which seemed reasonable and it was an incredible experience. What needs work.. Our plumbing in our room was not great, the shower was a dribble. However the staff said they would move us to another room if needed. The pool was also in the renovation process so not available for swimming. The positives far outweighed the negatives for us. I think when the renovation is complete this place will be amazing.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

..if you are up for it...you'll be back...Yes, the power supply is spotty (usually works in the evening though) and the pool is no longer in use since the place has halved its capacity, but you are in the Sahara, the dunes of Erg Chebbi on your doorstep. The nearest village is far away and the only nuisance (or distraction if you like) are the occasional groups of 4x4´s and Moto's passing by. Staff is very friendly and welcoming, making you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Rooms are as clean as they can be in the desert, big enough and some have fabulous bathrooms with usually piping hot water. Dinner is delicious and plentiful, breakfast somewhat sparse however. Very nice lounge and terrace where the Wifi works rather well (sometimes in the rooms too). Value for money is good and prices are debatable on longer stays, maybe just book for night and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrFerdinandMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews