We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasbah Le
Nearby Hotels
Riad Ouzine(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$42
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Mamouche(Merzouga)
$47
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Africa(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$19
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vallee des Dunes(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$32
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$36
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$48
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Madu(Hassilabied)
$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
104
29
20
8
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
29
20
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooldesert camperg chebbithe ownermoroccan desertdesert tripnext morningkasbahdinnerdunesberbertentsteaguide
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 176 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Kasbah Le Touareg is run by a wonderful kind hearted group of people, who are more like a big family than anything - so very welcoming and beautiful people from the inside out. We – 2 Canadians - were able to choose our room, which was exactly what we needed with comfortable beds and clean. The rooms surround a big courtyard, which holds a deliciously cooling pool during the heat of the day. The Owner Hassan is gracious and so warm and Mubarek is an outstanding guide at the Kasbah. He took us out to tour the area from the dunes, listening to a musical group playing Gnaoua music, a Berber family living in the desert, a little shopping and more. We had arrived the night before by car in pitch black and only saw the stunning scenery of the dunes just near our Kasbah the following morning. That day, we toured the area with Mubarek for a few hours then relaxed by the pool in the afternoon. The following day after breakfast we drove through the tiny town of Merzouga and mailed a few postcards. We came back to enjoy the pool again. When the sun wasn’t so intense, around 3pm, we set out on our camel journey into the Sahara. We were on camelback for approximately 1.5hrs and came to our Berber tent camp. We watched the sunset below the dunes – stunning scenery! It became dark quickly and we enjoyed a Berber homemade meal and home entertainment of music and dancing. We had a comfortable double bed in the tent, which would hold 6 people. There was also a flushing toilet and shower not too far away. We arose very early to watch the sunrise over the dunes. Then we made our trek back to the Kasbah were we showered, had breakfast, packed up and went on our way. Thank you to all at Kasbah Le Touareg for such a wonderful time and such caring kindness. We definitely recommend this lovely spot in Merzouga.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FandFFandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chanced upon this Kasbah when Omar (guide from there) stopped us at the crossing in Merzouga and offered us their desert experience which included all we were looking for i.e. Camel Ride to desert and back; sunrise and sunset viewing at the Dunes of Erg Chebbi, dinner and overnight at Bivouac (berber tent), breakfast back at the hotel and a room to freshen up and shower on return from tour. The tour was perfect - our Camel guide (Hassan) was very nice and showed us all there was to see when we were headed in to erg chebbi. Once there, the tent was actually pleasantly nice, the beds were comfortable and they offered us more blankets for the cold. The food too at dinner was quite good given where we were and they threw in some fun berber music for good measure. I highly recommend them as they gave us a good price (better than the others on the list here), kept their word and were very hospitable. The room where we freshened up post the desert tour was quite nice, had hot water and an AC that worked.

The camel ride is painful - so be prepared.

Room Tip: Get to Merzouga by 3 pm, take the 1 night in the desert and then stay a night if you want.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronepe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Kasbah Le Touareg offers a desert experience. Staying in the hotel, or adventuring in the bivouac berbere in the middle of the desert, a true desert experience in a "traditional" camp.
The food is fresh, and very typical, the staff are very friendly and the night entertaining in the desert has amazing. The desert facilities are what you would expect from a typical camp, with improved showers and toilets.
The trip to the bivouac is made by camel for a more real felling. After a perfect sunset in the dunes, and a magical sunrise its possible to return to the main hotel for a refreshing swim in the pool or a well deserved bath. Here, the facilities are good and clean.

If you want to enjoy the desert and feel it in full. There's no better place to be!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Aziz who works at Le Touareg is the most helpful person in Morocco! Not only did he ensure we had a wonderful stay/desert trip at the Kasbah but he also found us great accommodation in Ouzerate. Absolutely wonderful place to stay, we loved it. Thanks Aziz & co xx

Also, the hotel arranged taxis, food and beers, what more can you need?

Room Tip: They'll let you have a look at your room, some over look the grand dune. We had 3 rooms, all of which were pleasant, clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaMoo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Kashbah Le touareg, perfectly combines the authentic Berbere environment, foster care and the perfect accommodation for those who want to be at the gate of the Moroccan desert.
Hassan and all his staff make it, for me, as the perfect place to be for anyone who wants to know and feel the Erg Chebbi.
The rooms are authentic, with a fair price, cozy and clean, there is also the alternative of staying in Berber tent, for a more restrained budget, keeping all the conditions of access to services in the kashbah.
No doubt that the magnificent pool continues to make the delights after a day exploring the dunes that are within walking distance. The food is rich and varied but always with the real Moroccan flavor. The option to leave in the evening and to enjoy a Berber bivouac in the center of the dunes is another option to consider.
I know various options to stay in this region and I will continue to select Le Touareg as the best option to stay.
I organize and integrate expeditions with bikers, who after a stage of desert here can find the ideal place to relax and recover.
I organized this year a photographic expedition in Morocco and by the hand of Hassan the 18 participants were able to live the unique experience of a night in the desert, in the bivouac berbere.
In family or in a group, always find here a piece of Portugal and myself!
I will return soon and for sure!
Thank you for your welcome, friendship and spirit of adventure!
Paulo Maria / Portugal

Room Tip: Around the pool you'll find the the best rooms, these are closer and easy to reach from outside. Upstairs in the terrace, you'll find the quiet rooms and you can come outside to contemplate the magnificent desert sky!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulointerslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews