We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”
Review of Auberge Dunes D'or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Dunes D'or
Ranked #28 of 85 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The auberge is the oldest one in the area, fantastic hospitality. I have stayed there twice before and each time the staff have been very friendly and helpfull. This year I stayed in one of the new rooms that had just been completed. Great Moroccan decor, plenty of hot water and a great view over the dunes. Even though the auberge was full the staff coped very well and I experienced no problems with the auberge, so much that I am returning there in March/April 20132 for another stay.
Great place to relax

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 166 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

hello,I stayed several times in this hotel since 9 years and i'm each time more desappointed.First by the staff who isn't as warm as he'd been and then by the poorness of all there is.I mean for instance when they play music with traditional clothes is just in order to make you stay here, as a staging.Everything is done for you to stay but not for human relationship,just money and it's really sad 'cause,nevertheless,it could be a magic land.U really can find better elsewhere, there are now many hostels near Erg Chebbi.Bye!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Filthy, creepy rooms, no hot water, very dirty pool area, rotten food (all of us got sick), unprofessional staff.... the location is fantastic, right on the dunes, but that's all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattClaire097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Arriving at this hotel couldn't be more exhilarating: on the road between Rissani and Merzouga, you turn off the paved road onto flat, rocky desert. Soon you see the golden dunes of Erg Chebbi - and soon after you spot the hotel, one of a few along this part of the dune line. Built of traditional mud and straw, the hotel surrounds a very nice swimming pool and lounging area - and out back, you're right in the dunes. Dromedary rides, 4x4s etc. are all bookable through the hotel - and just walking into the dunes is a lot a fun.

Our room was comfortable, with mud walls and lots of built-in nooks. There was only electricity from 8pm to 11pm - a fact the staff were a little mellow about informing us about. (Like: "oh yeah, the electricity is about to go out, want a candle?") But the candles did the trick. I probably should have showered while the generator was on, because my morning shower was cold.

Dinner and breakfast were quite good, especially for a place so isolated. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, sitting down for a mint tea with us after dinner. We took a brief dromedary ride - the hotel's steeds were very docile and comfortable.

I'd recommend spending two nights in the dunes, as opposed to the one night we spent. It would have been nice to lounge around the pool, and catch another spectacular sunset and sunrise - or try an overnight trip into the dunes to sleep in tents.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Auberg les Dunes D'or is situated on the edge of Erg Chebbi close to Merzouga.This is a wonderful retreat to relax. My first visit here was in 2006 while riding a motorbike through the desert. I was so impressed by the landscape I returned this year in April to see some more.

This time I arrived by bus from Ouarzazate. I had booked the room and arranged to get picked up by their 4x4.

Dunes D'or was the first Auberge to be built in this desert.It was built by the Ait Bahaddou family who runs the Auberge. It has been extended through the years. When you arrive you will walk through the archway door and walk into the court yard with the swimming pool and plants. If you came to Morocco to relax sit down and enjoy! For those who would like an adventure you can go on trips on dromedary or travel by 4x4.

The food is prepared in authentic berber tradition and is very tasty. My room was clean, and comfortable with toilet, shower and the electricity on in the evenings.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

Karin from Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KIMALBIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The Dunes D'or offers a wonderful place to relax and recharge oneself. The view of the dunes is breathtaking. Their center courtyard with the pool is a great place to unwind. It is also a great place to chat with friends or to enjoy a good book.

The staff is friendly and helpful. If you are looking to explore the desert or the local sites the staff is there to accommodate your desires.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank gonetothebeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at auberge dunes d'or in May this year and we have enjoyed being in this place. The auberge offers an authentic experinece by the edge of the desert and it has all the necessary amenities for where it is. I liked being on the piscine, it was very relaxing hearing the sound of the fountains.

At the CTM bus station, the owner of the auberge was waiting for us in Erfoud in his 4X4 car and took us to the auberge, we got there by 9.30am and had a nice day swimming into the pool and relaxing on the views of the sand dunes. Our room was very nice clean and quiet and has private hot showers and air conditioner, later the lunch was very delicious and affordable price.

At 5pm we set off with 3 other couples on an 90 min camel ride into the dunes. Then we arrived to the oasis after a beautiful and stunning ride. the dinner was delicious, then the locals played some music for us, it was a good show. At dawn we saw the beautiful famous sunrise then it was sunny after that and had a lovely breakfast, at 8am we felt good to get back to the auberge where we spent the rest of the day before leaving to rissani. The staff welcoming and helpful and provide us with good service and useful tips.

This very nice hotel in the middle of the desert is the first hotel in all merzouga desert, started in 1980 with one tent, now it has more the 30 well equipped and clean rooms, we didn't walked to the dunes as they were in the door of the auberge, we liked to sit on the table on the top of the first little dunes in front of the auberge and have a cup of Moroccan tea.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marianne800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merzouga
4.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 23 in Merzouga
562 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ksar Bicha
Ksar Bicha
#4 of 23 in Merzouga
384 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 23 in Merzouga
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
6.4 mi away
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
Kasbah Azalay Merzouga
#7 of 85 in Merzouga
261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Camel's House
Camel's House
#11 of 111 in Merzouga
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Dunes D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Dunes D'or

Address: Merzouga centre, Merzouga 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range: $60 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes d'or is close to dunes in Merzouga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Dunes D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Dunes d`Or Hotel Merzouga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing