We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop during your offroad adventures...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great stop during your offroad adventures...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not exactly sure why you'd be in the area of Ramlia (which is a little town of maybe 200 in the desert) unless you're either on a guided tour of the countryside (as we were) or doing some serious offroading in a truck or motorcycle. However, if you are, I'd highly recommend this place. Ramlia is in the middle of nowhere and the Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge is 2.5 miles further away. The place is clean and comfortable... the proprietors very nice (we went out walking with their young nephew (maybe 8) in the dark to hunt down beetles... had a blast)... and the food excellent (great salad, fried cauliflower, one of the top two tajines we had the whole trip).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuwiller-les-Saverne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been twice in this nice Little Ressort. As People were so friendly, we searched it again on the Second Trip. The Place is very calm, beautifull And tidy. Ideal for a stop in between the offroad-Trip from merzouga

You Need a shour, something warm to eat or a Place to sleep we would advice you warmly to search aghbalou ramlia Auberge

Dieter And Claudia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabodala
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent one night in Aghbalou Ramlia guesthouse recently and was very pleased with the tidiness of the room and also enjoyed the home-made dinner very much. Considering that the guesthouse is located in the middle of nowhere the quality of the accommodation was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this place to everyone who crosses by Ramlia village. It is an authentic Moroccan experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and the food is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sefka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Travelling off-road between Tamegroute and Merzouga?

After hours of driving through the staggering raw beauty in the wide emptiness of this
desertique region of the Magrib - the Aghbalou Ramlia provides the warmest of welcomes; add to this, a comfortable room with ensuite bathrooom, tasty food, a billion star canopy
and the silence that can only be ‘heard’ in the desert.

Take my advice, take your time, break your journey, and overnight at Aghbalou Ramlia.
Contact Rough Tours Morocco

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had a 4 days tour with Roughtours and we stayed in this little gem in Ramlia for a night. It was the warmest night we spent during our entire trip in Morocco. The dinner we had was great, the best food we had in Morocco made by the owner/cook. And we will never forget the the dinner we had under the beautiful blanket of stars.

If you are in Ramlia, do spend a night here and you wouldn't regret!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Ok – so picture this – you are driving through the desert on the second day of your trip – you can’t see anything for miles – ok that is not true – you can see lots of sand and stones and you think - so where on earth are we staying tonight – there is nothing here – then you arrive at Aghbalou and from the moment you step out of the car, you feel as if you are home – everyone is happy to see everyone. Our wine is put in the refrigerator for later – we are shown our room which is perfect, clean with an en suite bathroom.

And somehow – in the middle of nowhere in morocco you feel completely and utterly at home – everyone is making sure you are ok and have everything you need, including entertainment. The food is superb, the company even better the atmosphere exactly what you need. As the sun goes down it reveals the milky way of stars at it best and there you are in the desert, with nothing but silence around you and the amazing universe above you. After dinner they make a big fire and out comes the berber drums and instruments and you sit in the sand and take it all in. Moments in life don’t really get much better than this.

If you have the opportunity – stay and eat here – it is great value for money and the family is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

HI! I just want to write a review about my best place while doing a business trip with vwtouareg Italy 2008.We had four days trip for three groups.Our clients landed in Ourzazate where they spent the first night,next day in Merzouga,third in Camp and the last one back to Ourzazate.In all our trips,we found Moroccan people very fiendly and hospitable.What was amazing was our Lunch time in Aghbalou Ramlia ,auberge and camp.We had delicious lunch and our clients were very satisfied as they did not expect to eat well in a remote place where the desert surrounds you!the people working in the place are freindly .Our people said that they were the first time to enjoy their food and quiteness and calm.It included something that big hotels do not offer honestly.Despite the slight problem of soft sand that faced some of the drivers ,the trip was great.I can highly recommend this place to all travelers taking that piste.It is located in M6 from Chriss Sotts Book 'Sahara Overland'.
An other thing I,can add is that in case other travellers are a big groups, it is prefferable to book your lunch and overnight in advance.We were between 36 and 40 people , so it was obligatory call them before .Hope to come back again to Morocco and spend more time in the area which needs more exploration and discovery.I saw in sme maps that this area is 'forbidden', but in reality , it is not.It is now the famous piste for travellers targeting Zagoura.life for VW TOUAREG.My best 4x4!!!

  • Liked — food and the location in the middle of sahara desert
  • Disliked — not acess to internet and phone services
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vwtouareg2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
0.0 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#10 of 22 in Merzouga
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hassilabied
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camels House
Camels House
#1 of 82 in Merzouga
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Tamariste
Kasbah Tamariste
#53 of 97 in Merzouga
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge

Property: Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge
Address: | Village Ramlia, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aghbalou Ramlia Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing