We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A moorish delight in a truly magical medina!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lina Ryad & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lina Ryad & Spa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A moorish delight in a truly magical medina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Chefchaouen is a magical place and really is a must see location when in Morocco. This Ryad is delightful. It has been fully renovated and formed by combining four old houses. The decor is moorish and extremely tasteful. Beautiful tiles, timber fretwork and bathrooms evoke old style Arab baths. Indeed the indoor pool and spa area was sublime ( but at 26C the water was a tad too cool for a swim in the middle of winter). The rooms are stunning, sumptuous yet not over top. The decor brings in the colour themes dominant in the surrounding medina - blues and whites. It is a really quiet place so a good nights sleep in the very comfortable bed is assured. The lounge area downstairs is lovely and the tasty breakfast is served there, as was the arrival refreshments - mint tea of course. Wifi works well- we even had a router in our room. Liaison with the hotel re- arrival was perfect. An outstanding aspect of this hotel is the quality of service. Special mention here to Manager Carol and Porter Hussein. Carol greatly assisted us with transportation bookings, especially when a public holiday caused buses to where waiting to go to be cancelled. Hussein dragged our cases up and down streets between the hotel and the plaza in heavy rain, which we could have done ourselves but it was a nice touch. There are no doubt less pricey options in the town, but this place is a stand out and warrants close consideration as a great place to relax in and soak up the magic of Chefchaouen. One small thing - there is no obvious sign for the hotel in the street, so learn to recognise it by sight!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    85
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
84
196
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great hotel in the middle of the medina in Chef, walking distance to anywhere in the souk and the main square. Small boutique hotel, great service and gorgeous views from the rooftop terrace. We got upgraded to a 'suite' (the room that opens up to the rooftop space) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The pool and spa facilities were very good, although you could only go 1 person at a time. The owners were very friendly and are also around (they live in the hotel) for any help or advise. The staff were great, and their service impeccable. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Choose the room at the top most floor that opens up to the rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raishalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

In absolute awe of this place...we stayes just one night, will definitely stay longer next time! The ryad is situated in the medina, which is quite a bit of a mission to walk up to, but definitely worth it. Carol was amazingly sweet and helpful throughout our stay. The staff in general were fantastic. And the breakfast was divine. Thank you lina ryad and spa:)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank farah_sader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lina Ryad was amazing. It was luxurious and the best service you can get. We only stayed one night and really regretted it. I wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are beautiful and we got the one on the terrace which was even more beautiful then the rest. Its private with an amazing view and quieter than the other rooms. I highly recommend staying at Lina Ryad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sultana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I arrive at Lina Ryad & Spa after a long day of travel from Marrakech and could not have been happier to be welcomed into this cozy Ryad. Located in the old Medina, we did need to ask for directions, but the location is central and great to accommodate a visit to Chefchaouen. Our suite was very large with amazing views of the terrace. The double waterfall shower heads were quite a treat. My boyfriend booked a hammam and massage and enjoyed it very much. We also ate dinner there and it was very good. The staff was very helpful. We also liked to learn it was Moroccan owned. Overall I have nothing to complain about, although this was the most expensive place we stayed at in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at riad Lyna at the end of August for our last night in Chefchaoen. We had discovered the riad the night before and immediately booked a room for the next day. The hotel it self is beautiful. The rooms are huge, well appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. However, we did have a really bad experience at the restaurant. Our entrees came out ice cold. We told the waitress that the food was inedible so she returned it back to the kitchen and returned with lukewarm dried
out kefta. The owner was taking with guests near by and eventually came over. We told him we weren't happy with the food or service so be comped our desert which also was cold. Considering we are paying a little less then 200$ a night I would have expected him to at least not charge us for the cold food. He apologized and said the cook quit in the middle of her shift even more reason for him to not charge us for the cold food. For 4 people we spent over 120$ with no alcohol. I could have gotten the same meal but the warm version in the square for 5$ a person. We tried to use the spa but both the massage and the girl that works in the hammam where not working that day. One of the main reasons we decided to stay at the hotel was because we were super excited to use hammam and get a massage. This is a beautiful hotel but overpriced when you take into consideration the mediocre serve. This place wants to be a 5 star establishment but the service is not up to par.
I plan to come back as I travel to chefchaoen frequently and would love to come back for another try. I know the hotel had just opened hopefully they worked out the kinks. I know it is very very difficult to find qualified staff so I do have to give them props for the work they have put into the
establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LambNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were booked to stay for two nights at this ryad as part of a tour and had a delightful stay. From arrival to departure, we experienced first-class service from Carol and Anna (front desk) and their colleagues. The ryad is a couple of years old, stylish and very comfortable. It's located in the heart of the medina and well placed for exploring the alleys of this fascinating city. We swam one night in the pool (private session for 30 mins) and my wife had a spa treatment. We ate in the ryad one night and found the food tasty although the portions were a little on the small side. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was the usual continental but with eggs cooked to order. Definitely a highly recommended ryad.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alkhalifa
Hotel Alkhalifa
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lina Ryad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lina Ryad & Spa

Property: Lina Ryad & Spa
Address: Avenue Moulay Hassan I | Ancienne médina, Chefchaouen 10540, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lina Ryad & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnificent cerulean mountains and nestled in the heart of the medina, this luxurious riad enjoys a privileged position in one of Morocco’s most unique destinations. Many of the bright and spacious suites enjoy views of the surrounding peaks and the bustling medina. 300 square meter terraces offer spectacular views, making Lina Riad and Spa a haven of tranquility within one of the most peaceful places in the world. Special attention has been paid to the harmonious shapes and colors of the mountains, with dim lights and aquatic scents captivating your every glance. Guests looking for a zen getaway should look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Lina Ryad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing