We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager guy is outrageously rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Baraka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baraka
Ranked #8 of 54 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The manager guy is outrageously rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have just checked out this hotel. I still could not believe what I have experienced with this tall skinny British manager guy!
We had trouble with lock from outside so we rang the bell and he looked at us through the glass window but disappeared again and ignored us. (5,6 min. later the maintanance guy helped with the key. But this was just bigenning. My friend had a upset stomack from water,food who knows, and use bathroom in the publc area. After that that guy was furious saying that she left the toilet dirty and she should clean the toilet as clean as before . He use S-words twice to us and this was taken place in the lobby area so anybody could hear that. Fortunately she did not understand English so she did not hurt her feeling that much but I could not believe that guys attitude. He uses F-word in the normal comversaions!
We stays 2 night and duaring the stay, he continuasly harassed us saying we ware noisy or when we asked for breakfast he was annoyed and reply he was doing it.
I could not relax at all being afraid of him complaining us. I tried to be polite until check out so he would not harass us anymore.
Hotel is nice and clean. Problem is just him! We are 2 nice Japanse women who wanted see the beautiful town but it ruined our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank hipnip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    54
    11
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
94
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the best riad in chefcouen, if you are looking for great value, good vibe and cleanness come here. Joe is an excelent host and makes fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceyzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

As other reviewers have stated this Riad is beautiful, priced very well, clean as a whistle and renovated with amazing care and attention to detail. My husband and I spent two nights there in May and felt it was the best value in Morocco. Joe was an excellent host without being too "in your face" and he served a great breakfast, with not too much food but it was nutritious, tasty and nicely presented. We felt very comfortable at this Riad and would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I spent 2 nights here in June '12, and wish I could have stayed longer. Joe is great and you can tell he's put a lot of work into the place- it's beautiful! Located just within the medina, Baraka is a great home base for exploring Chaouen, and Joe was super helpful telling us what the "must-see"s were. the rooms are cozy, the beds comfortable, and the view from the rooftop terrace is amazing! (be careful taking pictures up there, though. Conservative women hang laundry on their roofs and take offense.)
This is the best deal in Chefchaouen, and definitely one of the top places to stay, in terms of quality. If I ever get the chance to go back to Chefchaouen, you can be sure I will be staying at riab baraka!!

Room Tip: rooms with a shower are a bit pricier but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg_Sull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I'd recommend everyone who wants to go traveling around Morocco to end up his trip in Chefchaouen, specially in Riad Baraka. Morocco is a lovely place to visit but sometimes you get a bit tired because of the huge cultural differences. A lot of people come to you every time in the streets trying to sell you something but in Chef things are a bit different. Just avoid the 2 guys (always these 2 annoying guys) who are gonna come to you, and try to guide you to the hostel and also sell you something else. They are always the same both guys and they are really really annoying. Before you do anything in Chef, talk a bit to Joe, he is an English guy who lives in Morocco for more than ten years and he has all the good tips about places to go and how to behave with these annoying people.

His Riad is just amazing and one of the best in the whole Morocco. The place is incredibly clean, organized, and his terrace is simply the best to chill out and see the sunset. You can order food in the restaurant in the corner and the guys is gonna bring it up to the terrace, and you pay for the whole menu, including the delicious orange juice, 5 euros. Ask Joe about the hiking in the Rif Mountains, it's just amazing, and completely worth. Try to spend at least 6 hours there, otherwise is kinda rush and in the end you are gonna say the same as I did, it was not enough. We've spent 4 hours and it was away from being enough.
If you don't wanna go hiking, and just wanna have a relaxing time in Morocco, go to Riad Baraka and you'll understand why Chef and this Riad are the best combination in Morocco!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms close to the staircase. They may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This riad is such a  pleasant surprise after you walk into it that you immediately will let out a sigh of relief that you actually get to stay here. It is quiet, beautiful and very clean. Joe has renovated this Riad into what may be the most incredible hotel in the city, and definitely one of the best in Morocco. His rooftop terrace can't be beat, and there is enough comfortable seating for everyone in the hotel to be seated there at once. The entire riad is decorated with Moroccan accents. The bathrooms are new, clean, and stocked with towels. Breakfast is included, and is healthy & tasty-croissant and fruit with yogurt and real coffee. The wifi works great throughout. This is a fantastic deal for the price. When we were there mid-June, his website reservation form wasn't working yet so call for a reservation. You'll be glad you did!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castril De La Pena, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I spent two nights at Dar Baraka in May 2012. When you renovate a dar (old house) in the medina you have two basic choices. In places such as Fes the traditionalist Europeans hunt out the artists with the old skills of zelige (tile) cutting and complex woodworking, and turn the house into an upmarket museum version of what it might originally have looked like several hundred years ago.

The other choice, which Joe and his small team followed with Dar Baraka, is to instead implement a contemporary interior with Moroccan/African tones. I like very much what they have done; the house has an airy feel and with vibrant yet also subtle colours. There's quite a lot of tadelakt (polished plasterwork) which again would annoy the traditionalists, yet which I love. The house is filled with great bold paintings many of which were done by Mohammed, one of the staff members.

From what I could see of the other rooms, most if not all of the doubles are ensuite, my single room wasn't but there were shared facilities on the next floor. Joe and his team work very hard to keep the place spinning and this is reflected in the prices which are extremely good value.

The roof terrace is absolutely superb with great views of the medina and the surrounding hills. One problem for Joe is that many visitors are insensitive to the privacy of the neighbours, and use telephoto lenses for intrusive shots. Whilst I was there one neighbour visited to complain. The following day, a new (German) visitor was shooting from the terrace when another neighbour hanging out her washing shouted across to stop. What's clearly needed is some signs on the terrace asking people not to take these types of photos.

The German got in trouble again shortly afterwards when he walked through some dog poo from one of Joe's two dogs and left a trail up the stairs. Hey ho.

I chatted to some of the other guests and they clearly loved the place. I'd gladly stay there again. To put prices into perspective the previous night in Chefchaouen I spent 180dh for a single ensuite room in a filthy hotel, so 200dh including a great breakfast plus free wifi in such a great location is excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimCullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Souika
Hostel Souika
#11 of 30 in Chefchaouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
#5 of 54 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baraka

Property: Riad Baraka
Address: 12 Derb | Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar el Baraka sits just 70 meters from the Medina's main gate, centrally located to explore Chaouen’s ancient Medina. Dar el Baraka is an original six hundred year old riad converted into a comfortable guest house with six rooms, four bathrooms, various common areas and a stunning blue terrace. There are many corners in the riad to curl up in to watch satellite TV, read, talk, or simply daydream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing