We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully restored riad with great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Baraka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baraka
Ranked #6 of 55 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored riad with great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We came for a couple of days and ended up for week, feasting on caramel coated peanuts and doughnuts from around the corner with Anne. The place is a pleasure to stay, with beautiful decoration and a fantastic roof top terrace with good views of the town and the mountains. Almost certainly the cleanest place we stayed anywhere in Morocco as well. Anywhere else in the country you'll pay a lot more for all of this.

Anne was also a font of great advice regarding the various eating places around town; whatever she recommends, go for it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have more natural light than others, so check out a few rooms if she has any free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElYobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    53
    11
    6
    16
See reviews for
15
92
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great location, amazing building, very clean and colorful, beautiful roof terrace, and a wonderful staff/owner! You can't go wrong with this place! The daily breakfast was great too :) Make sure you get an email or some notification directly from the hotel after booking. I made the horrible mistake of booking this great place on hostelbookers and when i got to Morocco, there was no record of my reservation. Even though Ann didn't have to, she was so kind to let my friend and i use the wifi, hang out on the roof top terrace, and she fed us breakfast every morning. Even though we didn't sleep there, we saw the rooms and facilities and next time i go to Morocco, i'm definitely staying there!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I can only agree regarding the previous positive reviews. Everything is absolutely correct. Nothing negative to add, except maybe - bathroom is really, really small. My boyfriend could not seat properly on the toilet seat without his knees bumping into the door, lol. But that does not matter because all of the positive things about this great riad. Maybe just one thing - there's no sink in the bathroom, just shower with ceramic floor under your feet. So if you want to brush your teeth, be prepared to get your feet wet :) But I would stay there again, no matter the lack of sink. In case it gets really cold, it's possible to rent small radiator for 50 dirhams per night. It was cold (8 celsius in April) and raining while we were there, but there were enough blankets to keep us warm. If you are comming by car, be prepared to negotiate with locals for parking space.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopallena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good location, very clean, cozy and warm, delightful Moroccan decor, amazing balcony with great view, and exceptional customer service.

My friend and I were not even guests at this hotel because Hostel Bookers double booked our room. Unfortunatly by the time we got there Anne (the owner) did not know we were coming and had no room for us. Instead of turning us away at the door she showed us to another hotel down the street, told us that we could come use her free wifi, hang out on the balcony and eat breakfast any time we want and for free! So we did just that and never once felt like a burden on her or her guests. She also recommended great places to eat and an amazing tour guide. Anne really made us feel welcome when we were not even paying her to do so. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. I will definatly be staying here the next time I come to Morocco.

Thank you Anne, Holly and Angela

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasureHunter401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferreiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I loved to stay there! Beautiful and great value place! I recommend it!
It was easy to find. ls at the main entrance of medina, close to everything.
The owner was very nice and helpfull.
The room was very clean, and the breakfast very good with a fresh fruit salad and moroccan pastries.
I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anitaacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stunning hotel, perfect location and helpful, friendly service - what more could you ask for? I had an absolutely wonderful few days at Riad Baraka. Joe and Anne were great hosts and I could have spent hours relaxing on the gorgeous rooftop terrace (too bad I didn't have a few more days here). If you're headed to Chefchaouen, you can't go wrong with this place!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MelR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a wonderfull place, perfectly clean, good location, nice owner, the most clean riad we've seen in our 3 weeks in Morroco. Nice view of the medina, if you don't know what to choose between ensuite or shared bathroom don't hesitate the shared bathroom are really nice, hot water and really clean. And there is heater during winter time (rare in Morroco!).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurence878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
31.7 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
Riad Rifandalus Hotel
#4 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dar Zambra
Dar Zambra
#1 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Annasr
Casa Annasr
#12 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baraka

Property: Riad Baraka
Address: 12 Derb | Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar el Baraka sits just 70 meters from the Medina's main gate, centrally located to explore Chaouen’s ancient Medina. Dar el Baraka is an original six hundred year old riad converted into a comfortable guest house with six rooms, four bathrooms, various common areas and a stunning blue terrace. There are many corners in the riad to curl up in to watch satellite TV, read, talk, or simply daydream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing