We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, nice atmosphere”
Review of Hostel Souika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Souika
Reviewed March 8, 2013

As far as hostels in Morocco go this place is pretty good! Located perfectly just of the main square in the medina. Nice roof terrace and a couple of lounges with couches to relax.
I was here in the end of November which means it get's pretty cold at night. The place doesn't have any indoor heating (none of the places I stayed at in morocco have this) but blankets are provided.
Overall a nice place to meet other travellers and explore the beautifull town of Chefchaouen and the surrounding Rif mountains!

Room Tip: If you want a hot shower, try the second floor bathroom and use the old faucet instead of the new on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Firstly if your wanting luxury then please book somewhere else where you pay for it! Having said that, it's very good value. Free Wi-fi, always someone around, well located. Bathrooms are smelly and it takes a while to get hot water downstairs. It is a bit noisy- it's a riad with beautiful tiles- so it echoes right? Some people hang about outside from time to time- just ignore then, Chefchouan is far safer then anywhere else in Morocco.
Breakfast is disappointing and you'd be better off walking to the square itself as it's only 2 minutes. We also bid them down on price from their advertised and if you are very strapped ask to sleep on the roof in the tents. Service was excellent and they even organised our ongoing taxi to Tangier for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room without a window as it will be damp- especially in Winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apjozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Coming towards the end of our Moroccan travels, we were frugal in Chefchaoen and happy with our return. This hostel is modestly priced and frankly fulfilled our expectations pretty much bang on. With the central location you sacrifice tranquility and consequently found the nighttime noise a bit of an annoyance - to be expected though. The hostel is well-kitted out with a cafe, sofas, a number of showers (although one was ghastly - avoid it (first floor!)). Good provision of PCs, a couple for guests usage - a great help. The hosts allowed us to leave our bags in reception while we were out trekking and to use the showers after we had checked out, which was good of them. However they did write us up a questionable bill and harried us out on our return...

...Aside from all the normalities, there's one guy who is sending this review to the 'very' end of the good scale - Mustapha! The resident Chef / Sherpa / Charmer was the highlight of our trip to Chefchaoen. We were that it was best to leave in the early morning for a mountain trek, and that we would be accompanied by a guide to show us around. Mustapha is a gem of a bloke, having resided in the mountains for his whole life and consequently able to give a frank, interesting and innocent account of his life and the history of Chefchaoen and the mountain villagers. Fearless on our climb, he was a welcome accomplice and calming influence in the midday heat.

I would recommend this hostel, and more specifically a guided mountain trek with Mustapha the hostel's chef, a great character!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_cooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is situated very close to the main square at Chefchouen and at 150 dirahm per night for a cave like double room gives good value for money for the location. shoestring travellers are also able to sleep on the terrace in a Burber tent for less than that. it's a friendly place with lots of young travellers of the kif puffing variety loitering in the communal areas so good for meeting new people. The only real drawback are the shared showers which are like luke warm drool and the toilets which are disgusting and can make the place pong a bit. However the rooms and bed sheets were clean and the staff will help out with arranging basic essentials, like getting your clothes washed in a local river or arranging a grand taxi to Tangiers when you're finally ready to leave "Chouen"

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camberwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I foolishly reserved a room for three nights on the basis of good reviews, but left after the first night. The place was freezing, and extremely noisy. The shared bathroom was swimming in cold water I hope was from the shower, but smelt like it was from the toilet.

I checked out the next morning, but was treated very rudely by the guy at check in who demanded I pay for three nights.

The hostel is also a magnet for hash touts, who can be annoying at best, and threatening at worst. If you want to meet other people who are here for a smoking holiday then I guess this place is okay. You'd need to be stoned to ignore the lack of basic cleanliness.

I'm sorry to all this who are raving about it here, but I thought it was abysmal. Spend a night, by all means, but please DO NOT book in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calumpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is a wonderful place for back-packers. Quite clean, with nice staff and a good breakfast. Excelent to know people from other countries.

The shared bathrooms are not that clean, as everyone use them at the same time and don't expect any privacy there. But besides that, it is really nice and I would definitly go back.

BTW, the city is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreiaAguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Wonderful place where you can meet amazing people from around the world. It is cheap, perfect for backpackers and you also have a choice - to sleep in a clean and comfortable room with fan or to pay even less and sleep on the terrace under the stars. The pension has a good location, easy to find in the medina, just a few steps away from the main square. It has shared but clean facilities and the only low point is that sometimes there is no hot water. The staff is exeptionaly friendly and helpful and the atmosphere as a whole is amazing! There is no wi fi, but there are several computers with internet connection for the guests. We stayed there three times already and we will definately go back soon.

Room Tip: take a room with a window facing the outside courtyard or street as some of the others have no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pangaea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Al Khalifa
Hotel Al Khalifa
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Yakout
Dar Yakout
#16 of 24 in Chefchaouen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Amina
Casa Amina
#3 of 38 in Chefchaouen
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Elrios
Dar Elrios
#1 of 38 in Chefchaouen
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Antonio
Dar Antonio
#10 of 69 in Chefchaouen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Souika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Souika

Address: Rue Souika, Deb Hadi Alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Chefchaouen
Price Range: $12 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Souika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing